The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:24 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 4
I just installed Joomla through Go Daddy. I go to write my first article and want to add an image. I try to click on the "add image" tab under the article window and nothing happens. A little message in a bar at the bottom left of the page says "Error on page"

This is a clean install and I haven't touched any of the settings. Any ideas?

Thank you!

Wendy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:42 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:38 pm
Posts: 1272
Location: Gadsden, AL
Hi Wendy - Welcome to the Forums!

Is this in all browsers?

_________________
~Matt Lipscomb
http://www.USAFreelancers.org
Professional Joomla! Services and Web Development based in the USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:56 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 4
Hello! I was using IE7. So I tried with Mozilla Firefox and it opens the insert image screen. However it will not insert images. If I try to add one from the stock, when i click insert nothing happens. When I try to upload a new image from my computer I get an error

Illegal variable _files or _env or _get or _post or _cookie or _server or _session or globals passed to script.

I have uploaded the same image in media manager using IE7.

Not sure if it makes a difference when using GoDaddy's Preview DNS feature which allows you to work on a website before making it go live. It just changes the url address.

humm? should I try to reinstall... this is a clean install, but without sample data.
Thank you for your time and assistance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:38 pm
Posts: 1272
Location: Gadsden, AL
Try installing the JoomlaFCK editor and setting it in Global Configuration to be the Default. It can be found here: http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 90/details

I've found that I have better luck with images on it.

_________________
~Matt Lipscomb
http://www.USAFreelancers.org
Professional Joomla! Services and Web Development based in the USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:59 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:01 pm
Posts: 23
I have similar problem with FF, it opens the window but doesn't upload the image!
btw I use JCE

_________________
http://good-e-reviews.com/
http://genuinepath.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:28 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 4
Thank you for your help. I installed JoomlaFCK editor. And it is very nice. I have received a reply from Go Daddy referring to their preview DNS (this allows you to view a site before uploading the changes to the server. However, i cannot edit Joomla in this way... this was my problem.)

Quote:
Also, please note, you will not be able to make modifications to our Joomla in the preview DNS.


Preview DNS lets you test your Web site prior to launch to ensure it displays and behaves properly on our hosting servers before modifying your domain's DNS record. This is beneficial when you are setting up a Web site for a domain that is currently active, either in your account or with another hosting provider.


When you enable Preview DNS, a subdomain is created on our server that temporarily houses your Web site. If Preview DNS is applied to http://www.coolexample.com, the preview URL is http://www.coolexample.com.previewdns.com.


NOTE: If you have multiple domains on your hosting account, preview them using http://www.coolexample.com.previewdns.com/path where path is the folder for your other domain.


Any internal links in the code are translated to point to the Preview DNS site. This process ensures that all paths can be tested appropriately prior to pointing your DNS record to our hosting servers.



So as you can see this is where my error was coming from and why I couldn't get past stage 1 in the Joomla. Thank you everyone for your contributions.

Wendy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:38 pm
Posts: 1272
Location: Gadsden, AL
That makes sense, Wendy. I'm glad you got it sorted out. For a more practical approach at building a "preview" website you may wish to utilize XAMPP (apachefriends.org) so you can create a Joomla website on your local computer and then just move it to your hosting provider when finished. There are instructions for this that can be found here: http://docs.joomla.org/Beginners#Installation

_________________
~Matt Lipscomb
http://www.USAFreelancers.org
Professional Joomla! Services and Web Development based in the USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:46 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 4
Thank you. I have now done a redirect so the domain points to the current site so I can build the new, improved joomla site!!.... and then I will remove the redirect.
Thanks for your help. It's great to know that excellent support exists for Joomla.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group