swf banner click count problem

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ankujund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:16 am

swf banner click count problem

Post by ankujund » Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:17 pm

As i said in the tittle, i have a problem with flash banner count click.Click count is working properly with .jpg, .png, .gif.... but with .swf isn't. Flash banner is showing ok,Impressions count is also working,but click cout isn't

example:

Impressions Clicks
33457 of Unlimited 0 - 0.00%

joomla version is 1.5.8 and 1.5.12

vlado jr
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:08 pm

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by vlado jr » Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:11 pm

Same problem here.

Using joomla 1.5.11

btw & should some1 ask

I've enabled click tracking in the banners/parameters and added the click url so...should u suggest it - it's already been done but to no avail

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:06 am

To get Click counts working for flash banners in Joomla 1.5, you will need to update the code in /modules/mod_banners/helper.php as follows:

replace:

Code: Select all

			$html =	"<object classid=\"clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000\" codebase=\"http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0\" border=\"0\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\">
						<param name=\"movie\" value=\"$imageurl\"><embed src=\"$imageurl\" loop=\"false\" pluginspage=\"http://www.macromedia.com/go/get/flashplayer\" type=\"application/x-shockwave-flash\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\"></embed>
					</object>";
WITH:

Code: Select all

			/*  Old Flash Code
			$html =	"<object classid=\"clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000\" codebase=\"http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0\" border=\"0\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\">
						<param name=\"movie\" value=\"$imageurl\"><embed src=\"$imageurl\" loop=\"false\" pluginspage=\"http://www.macromedia.com/go/get/flashplayer\" type=\"application/x-shockwave-flash\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\"></embed>
					</object>";
			*/	

//HW: BOF New Flash Code that works with Clickthroughs, AND does not hide menus etc (WMODE)
			$clickurl = $item->clickurl;
			$html_flash =	"<object classid=\"clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000\" codebase=\"http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0\" border=\"0\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\">
						<param name=\"movie\" value=\"$imageurl\">
						<param name=\"wmode\" value=\"opaque\">
					<embed src=\"$imageurl\" pluginspage=\"http://www.macromedia.com/go/get/flashplayer\" type=\"application/x-shockwave-flash\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\" wmode=\"opaque\"></embed>
					</object>";
			if ($clickurl != '') {  //Add a GIF based clickthrough IF there is a link supplied in teh 'Click url' for this banner in the banner manager.
				$html = '<div style="position:relative;z-index:1;" style="background:#fff;">';  //Add the banner clickthrough
				$html .= $html_flash;
				$html .= '<a href="'.$link.'" target="_blank" style="display:block;position:absolute;width:'.$width.'px;height:'.$height.'px;z-index:9999;top:0px;left:0px;border:none;background:none;"><img src="components/com_banners/x.gif" style="width:'.$width.'px;height:'.$height.'px;" alt="Banner Campaign" /></a>	';
				$html .= '</div>';
			} else {  //Otherwise use the orignal code, so that the flash banner still goes to the right place... (instead of a blank page!)
				$html .= $html_flash;
			}
			//HW: EOF New Flash Code that works with Clickthroughs, AND does not hide menus etc (WMODE)
It works for me.. Milage may vary :-)

Make sure the Destination URL is placed in the ClickURL, otherwise the flash click link will be used. Also make sure the size of the banner is placed in height and width. This will make the overlay gif render over the complete banner.

This fix should probably be added to the default Joomla package!. I modified the code based on changes that were supplied in ArtsBannersXTD for Joomla v1 and don't understand how banners could be left only partially working, when it only took me a couple of hours to figure it all out!

I also added the 'wmode = opaque' to the flash embed/object code so that dropdown menus will actually be shown above the flash code.

Hope that helps y'all!

ankujund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:16 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by ankujund » Wed Aug 05, 2009 1:38 pm

i drop this code

Code: Select all

<img src="components/com_banners/x.gif" style="width:'.$width.'px;height:'.$height.'px;" alt="Banner Campaign" />
and everything is working perfect now.thank you very much,i searched for this code more than 4 months

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:00 pm

Hi, Sorry - I forgot to add the file x.gif - place this in the /components/com_banners/ folder and that line should work.. I am not sure how it works without it!


The banners component is good, but is missing a few simple extras to make it REALLY useful.
x.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by petern on Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:20 am, edited 3 times in total.

ankujund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:16 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by ankujund » Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:12 pm

try without it and test if there is something different

can you explain me what is purpose of that gif

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:04 pm

It sits over the flash and intercepts any flash links that may be embedded in the flash.

We have a site with many flash banners that are pre-linked to jump to the owners website - however these links skip the Joomla banner count process, so the overlay gif forces the link back to the joomla banner count link (using the image), and Joomla then sends the user to the banner site via the click URL parameter.

ankujund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:16 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by ankujund » Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:22 pm

aha,i get it now.i have to check is it link url from joomla or flash,anyway it's counting clicks

could you post attach with zip file and x.gif in it,becouse i can't save it from your last post or i would make it myself

thx again for you code

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:19 am

Hiya - I have placed the x.gif in a zip file in my earlier post, so you can download it!

I'm glad to share back to the Joomla community - its been good to me!

djrojo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:44 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by djrojo » Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:53 am

This saved my a$$, the only problem is that while using internet explorer, when you select a flash banner to add it, it does not show.

So i have to use firefox to add the flash banners or i get nothing.

thou i'm not an expert on this, i'll try to find a fix and let you know.

Regards

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:38 am

djrojo wrote:This saved my a$$, the only problem is that while using internet explorer, when you select a flash banner to add it, it does not show.

So i have to use firefox to add the flash banners or i get nothing.

thou i'm not an expert on this, i'll try to find a fix and let you know.

Regards
Hiya, I assume you mean you cant see the flash banner immediately in the admin when selecting it from the dropdown list ?

I did see a fix for this a while back, but as my customers use firefox, and with Joomla being updated so regularly (and this being core code mods) I didn't bother :-)

Good luck, and let us know though!

djrojo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:44 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by djrojo » Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:52 pm

petern wrote: Hiya, I assume you mean you cant see the flash banner immediately in the admin when selecting it from the dropdown list ?

I did see a fix for this a while back, but as my customers use firefox, and with Joomla being updated so regularly (and this being core code mods) I didn't bother :-)

Good luck, and let us know though!
Thanks,

You are right, but i actually do not care if i can not see the selected banner in the admin, the problem is that if you use internet explorer, the banner is not being showed once posted... you get nothing, nada.

At least that's what i got.

Regards.

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:11 am

Thats very strange - the adding of a banner in admin component is not related to the showing of the banner in the module, does this only happen when you apply my code changes, or was it like this in the default module as well?

Can you paste in here the flash embed code that works, and the code that does not? - or email it to me - I'll have a look..

Cheers
Pete

upperwestside
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:46 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by upperwestside » Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:03 pm

This may sound very naive, but i don't seem to find "Modules", to reach /modules/mod_banners/helper.php

I'm using version 1.5.9

I see "Module Manager" under top-level "Extensions", but I don't see any mod_banners under that..

Thanks for the help in advance!

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:25 pm

Hi,

That path is the FTP path to the actual files on the server from the Joomla root folder :-)

upperwestside
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:46 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by upperwestside » Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:33 pm

Thanks for the response! Is there a way to reach that folder through Joomla only (without FTP)?

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:24 am

upperwestside wrote:Thanks for the response! Is there a way to reach that folder through Joomla only (without FTP)?
There is a Joomla component that allows you to traverse and modify files that I used for a while in Joomla v1. I have not used it fro V1.5 but you can try it from http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/102/details

However if you are developing a Joomla site, I would highly recommend becoming familiar with FTP - t - the Filezilla FTP client is excellent, you will just need the server FTP login details to access the raw files and you can then move/edit them.

Good Luck!
Pete

upperwestside
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:46 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by upperwestside » Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:36 am

Okay, I have got the FTP access. (Hopefully) the last query:
When you say: "Make sure the Destination URL is placed in the ClickURL, otherwise the flash click link will be used", should I paste the URL of the video (whose clicks I wish to track) there? I suppose this is the same URL which I entered in click URL field of x.gif, while placing it at Joomla > Components > Banner > banners. In here, I have set "Track banner click times" to yes.

Am I still missing something? I don't see the clicks-count in Joomla increasing.. :(

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:15 am

upperwestside wrote:Okay, I have got the FTP access. (Hopefully) the last query:
When you say: "Make sure the Destination URL is placed in the ClickURL, otherwise the flash click link will be used", should I paste the URL of the video (whose clicks I wish to track) there? I suppose this is the same URL which I entered in click URL field of x.gif, while placing it at Joomla > Components > Banner > banners. In here, I have set "Track banner click times" to yes.

Am I still missing something? I don't see the clicks-count in Joomla increasing.. :(
Hi, the ClickURL is the destination that the banner ad should send you to when you click on it, i.e. http://www.joomla.org/

Some of my customers flash files had their own internal click link, which prior to my code changes bypassed the Joomla click counter.

The easy way to tell if its working, is hover your mouse over the banner, and if your browser footer shows the link to be something like "http://www.website.com.au/component/bannersclick/36/" (note: SEO URLS turned on!) then you should see count increments in the back end.

darklordofsith
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by darklordofsith » Mon Sep 07, 2009 6:32 am

Thanks for help us in this matter.

I have a question... I post four banners in my joomle site (www.juezyparte.com.mx). But the core you gave us, and the x.gif file... Only works with one banner for me... Do you have any idea for me petern?

Thanks in advance... and sorry about my english!!! :D

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:09 am

darklordofsith wrote:Thanks for help us in this matter.

I have a question... I post four banners in my joomle site (http://www.juezyparte.com.mx). But the core you gave us, and the x.gif file... Only works with one banner for me... Do you have any idea for me petern?

Thanks in advance... and sorry about my english!!! :D
It does work on multiple swf files for me - my first thoughts are Have you added the Click URL's to all of the banners?

If you have then if you PM me a link to your website I can have a quick look maybe?

Cheers
Pete

darklordofsith
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by darklordofsith » Tue Sep 08, 2009 7:56 am

Man... you are the master... It was the links... I forgot to write them in each banner.

THANX!

My site: www.juezyparte.com.mx

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:08 am

darklordofsith wrote:Man... you are the master... It was the links... I forgot to write them in each banner.

THANX!

My site: http://www.juezyparte.com.mx
Hah! - no worries, I only know this stuff cause I have made the same mistakes!

Nice site BTW.. Have you thought about turning on SEF links (in the admin and the .htaccess file) though, or is it a windows server... ??

sendmeon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by sendmeon » Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:27 am

Huh! THANKS! it was a big pain with that swf

BTW i add loop parameter (it`s another pain with flash banners in joomla):

Code: Select all

loop=\"true\"
in string:

Code: Select all

               <embed src=\"$imageurl\" loop=\"true\"  pluginspage=\"http://www.macromedia.com/go/get/flashplayer\" type=\"application/x-shockwave-flash\" width=\"$width\" height=\"$height\" wmode=\"opaque\"></embed>

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:31 am

sendmeon wrote: BTW i add loop parameter (it`s another pain with flash banners in joomla):

Code: Select all

loop=\"true\"
Good idea! - makes sure that those who forget to loop the SWF file in the flash code get looped anyhow !

I hope this gets added to Joomla core! - I sent it to the proper places to get added - nothing back yet..

millan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by millan » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:08 am

Hi! I've got another problem.
The tags that i set to each banner didn't appear in the web source code. Do you know why? or any solution? This is a great problem for Seo.

Thank you!

millan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by millan » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:12 am

Oops, i misunderstood the function of the tags, sorry. Now i know what i they for...

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:19 am

millan wrote:Oops, i misunderstood the function of the tags, sorry. Now i know what i they for...
LOL - yep - Its for the banner system to filter what banners to display by tag isnt it? - I've never used it.. you gotta love terminology..

mchicken
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:51 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by mchicken » Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:57 am

I did tried to edit the modules\mod_banners\helpers.php
However, it don't work for me. I'm using version Joomla 1.5.14.

Thanks,
Ming

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: swf banner click count problem

Post by petern » Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:48 am

mchicken wrote:I did tried to edit the modules\mod_banners\helpers.php
However, it don't work for me. I'm using version Joomla 1.5.14.

Thanks,
Ming
Did you put the x.gif file in the right place ?


Locked

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”