v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
tray2100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 pm

v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby tray2100 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:20 pm

Hey I'm new to Joomla and i'm running Apache 2.2 with MySQL 5.4 and PHP 5.3.0 (all installed seperately but are working together). I've downloaded and "installed" Joomla 1.5.14 and I've spent the last few days trying to understand and use the back-end interface. It seems pretty straightforward except that I can't get any "new" menu items to appear in the menu item manager. I see them in the Module Manager but I don't see them in the Menu Manager?

Any advice? Suggestions?

User avatar
mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13820
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby mandville » Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:44 pm

ok - this is a bit complicated and you may be going askew somewhere.

think like this -menu manager will create the container to hold your menu items.
try reading these 2 bits
http://docs.joomla.org/Menu_Manager_Screenshots
and http://docs.joomla.org/Screen.menumanag ... escription
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

tray2100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby tray2100 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:12 pm

I understand all of that. The issue is after creating the "container" and creating menu items for the "container", I cannot see the menu items in the menu item manager for the "container".

In the module manager, I can see the "container" as well as its associated menu item (the published ones anyways) so I know the menu items are being created.

The issue is that I cannot edit them because they don't appear in the menu item manager.

Thoughts?

User avatar
mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13820
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby mandville » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:08 pm

screen shot time i believe.. so we can see what you have done..
screenshots of
menu manager,
menu drop down, and module positions filtered by new menuname

also a URL to test would be great
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

tray2100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby tray2100 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:43 pm

I attached a few screen shots. In the Module shot you can see the menu item under my test menu's alias but you don't see it in the menu item manager. I created two items of which I published one. The published one is the one that appears in the module.

Thoughts?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13820
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby mandville » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:23 am

check the access level as shown in this screen shot, that seems to be missing from your module. agreed mine is unpublished but you see the point

would it not have been easier to just adapt one of the existing menus structures?
access.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

tray2100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby tray2100 » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:06 am

The access level is missing... There is only a blank spot in its place. I really want to be able to customize my site as much as possible so thats why i'm trying to create my own menus...

Any other thoughts?

User avatar
mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13820
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby mandville » Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:33 am

every time i attempted it - the access level box came up...
anyone else?
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

tray2100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby tray2100 » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:45 pm

Just as a quick note, you can see that there is no access level box in the module screenshot I uploaded.

Could it possibly be something with the way I installed MySQL or PHP or the Apache Server itself? I installed each component seperately instead of using XAMPP or WAMP....

Thoughts?

User avatar
mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13820
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby mandville » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:47 pm

i used xamp and have had no issues with it...
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24772
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby imanickam » Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:05 pm

I have read in some of the posts that PHP 5.3.0 is not recommended. Try to use PHP 5.2.8 or 5.2.9 and test it out.
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

tray2100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby tray2100 » Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:15 am

That was the solution!!! I installed PHP 5.2.10 and everything worked perfectly!!

Thanks everybody!!

User avatar
RCheesley
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:53 am
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby RCheesley » Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:22 pm

I had this problem as well - as soon as I installed the lower version of PHP it worked perfectly - it was bizzare, I could see the menu items in the database, when I looked on menu manager they were there, but none of the menus were appearing!

Here is the URL to download the other PHP version: http://www.wampserver.com/en/addons_php.php

Thanks for the solution, much appreciated :)

Ruth
Ruth Cheesley
CEO & Co-Founder, Virya Group - http://www.viryagroup.com
Joomla! Community Leadership Team Member - User Groups Team Liaison - Marketing Working Group member

User avatar
mattsson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing - fixed as suggested

Postby mattsson » Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:16 am

Thanks so much for writing about this problem!!

I had the same problem with my Joomla 1.5.14, where I added menu items but could not see them the Menu Item Manager. As suggested, after I uninstalled PHP 5.3.0 and installed PHP 5.2.9, I could see the menu items I'd created in my new main menu!

In my case, the website is hosted at WestHost, where I went to site applications -> install & manage, and uninstalled PHP 5.3.0, then installed PHP 5.2.9.

Thanks again,
Carol

thendricksen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:17 pm

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby thendricksen » Fri May 28, 2010 6:12 pm

THANK YOU!!!! I upgraded MAMP on OS X and suddenly my menu items wouldn't appear. Checked the MySQL db and all the items were still there, but couldn't figure out why they wouldn't show up. Switched things to PHP 5.2 inside MAMP and it worked perfectly! I've been pulling my hair out over this issue, thank you!

hansmirth
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:41 am

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby hansmirth » Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:44 am

Could someone post step-by-step instructions on downgrading from php 5.3 through MAMP?

chromaworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:50 am

Re: v1.5.14 menu items not appearing

Postby chromaworks » Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:49 am

hansmirth wrote:Could someone post step-by-step instructions on downgrading from php 5.3 through MAMP?


It's in MAMP Preferences.

My menu items are not working on the localhost but they are working on the remote host. This has not been the case using PHP 5.3 on previous sites. The variable seemed to be virtuemart but apparently not.

I'm testing virtuemart on localhost using MAMP with PHP 5.3 and my menu items are missing.


I've been trying to figure this out all day. One click to PHP 5.2 and I'm moving on..

thanks for the thread.


Return to “Templates for Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests