The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:13 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:07 pm
Posts: 8
My server
Opensuse 10.3
Apache 2.2.4
PHP 5.2.4
MySql 5.0.45
safe mode is off

I have search all over trying to figure out is this is a 1.5.1 bug or not. When I try upload File/ Install I recieve the following error

Error! Could not find a Joomla! XML setup file in the package.

Warning: file_get_contents(/srv/www/htdocs/mysite/tmp/install_47caec7b20725/ddj006/templateDetails.xml): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /srv/www/htdocs/mysite/libraries/domit/xml_domit_lite_parser.php on line 1082 .


This is my server and I have root access. All files and folder chmod 777 ( for troubleshooting purpose). The webserver is running under my credintials.I have been researching this for about a week and a half with no solutions. I also know that others are having this issue with no clear cut answer.


Last edited by crushim on Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:40 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:07 pm
Posts: 8
I solved the issue by following these steps.

Follow these steps to configure your system for PHP:

Open the httpd.conf file so you can make changes.
Configure Apache to load the PHP module.
Find the list of LoadModule statements. Look for the following line:

LoadModule php5_module libexec/libphp5.soIf this line isn’t there, add it. If a pound sign (#) is at the beginning of the line, remove the pound sign.

For PHP 6, the line will be:

LoadModule php6_module libexec/libphp6.so
Configure Apache to recognize PHP extensions.
You need to tell Apache which files might contain PHP code. Look for a section describing AddType. You might see one or more AddType lines for other software. Look for the AddType line for PHP, as follows:

AddType application/x-httpd-php .phpIf you find it with a pound sign (#) at the beginning of the line, remove the pound sign (#). If you don’t find this line, add it to the AddType statements. This line tells Apache to look for PHP code in all files with a .php extension. You can specify any extension or series of extensions.

Start the Apache httpd server (if it is not running) or restart the Apache httpd server (if it is running).
You can start or restart the server with a script that was installed on your system during installation. This script might be apachectl or httpd.apache, and might be located in /bin or /usr/local/apache/bin. For example, you might be able to start the server by typing apachectl start, restart it by using apachectl restart, or stop it by using apachectl stop. Sometimes restarting is not sufficient; you must stop the server first and then start it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:19 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:15 pm
Posts: 1
I figured it out!!!! Open the templateDesigns.xml file and rename the beginning and ending 'install' tag to 'mosinstall'. Save the file and try again. Boom! It works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:00 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:57 am
Posts: 1
Thank you so much for posting the solution hootocol :D . I've been searching for this for a good while. It seems like a common problem and yet the solution is not widely known.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:40 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for the solution!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:11 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 7:05 pm
Posts: 3
dear Users,

I have solved my problem with XML with the simply solution! The template was installed, but now when I select it as a default tempalte in joomla and go to my web site, this is blank with only the text "Restricted Access".

please help me...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:44 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 1:41 am
Posts: 1
how are ppl supposed to evaluate your system?? If simple funct. is broken?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:26 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:37 am
Posts: 9
try changing the xml version on the head of your xml file
to

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:26 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:45 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Metro Manila
thanks amaurib!!! that made my day :-)

_________________
Please read forum rules regarding signatures: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 1:53 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:34 pm
Posts: 6
you i have the same problem and i try to fix it with "hootocol" solution but know i got a different error now File "/homepages/0/d282643007/htdocs/joomla/media/install_4a1e962f6f731/siteground-j15-27/index.php does not exist!" what now !!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:28 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:04 pm
Posts: 2
I changed install to mosinstall as suggested above - but it didn't help. Isn't this "bug" so big that an official fix has to be released?

BR / Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:04 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 314
Location: LA
This thread has been solved. Better you open a new thread.

_________________
Joomla Templates & VirtueMart Themes

http://www.vjtemplates.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:17 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 2
Check your templateDesigns.xml file to make sure it incldes the xml file itself.
Should look like this at or around line 20:

<files>

<filename>index.php</filename>

<filename>template_thumbnail.png</filename>

<filename>templateDetails.xml</filename>

</files>

Also insure line 2 install version reads <mosinstall type="template"> and not <install type="template"> and make sure the last line reads </mosinstall>, not </install>

It solved this error problem for me, hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:35 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:32 am
Posts: 1
I ran into a similar error message, turned out to be an FTP configuration issue.

Solved it by uncommenting "local_umask=022" in /etc/vsftpd.conf


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:52 am
Posts: 6
where do i find templateDesigns.xml is that part of joomla's install?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 1
Also make sure you don't have any foreign characters in the text in the xml file.

I had an ö in the description, and this caused the "Error!Could not find a Joomla! XML setup" error when trying to install the template.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:29 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:02 am
Posts: 8771
Location: Mars
weelliam wrote:
where do i find templateDesigns.xml is that part of joomla's install?

You can find it on template folder you are using

p.s : In future, if you have a new question, please create a New post

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:25 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:27 pm
Posts: 15
Check to make sure you aren't installing a double compressed file (zip within a zip).

Solves error:
* JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected
* JFTP::store: Bad response
* Warning! - Failed to move file


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:21 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:40 pm
Posts: 111
i have tried all these solutions and it still doesn't work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:49 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:04 pm
Posts: 28
Thanks to amaurib, your solution worked, and allowed to install.
But now, the forum page won't come up. The component page won't come up either for configuration.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:07 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:07 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks fot all but for me the best solution was delete all the description text in xml file and result like this <description>
<![CDATA[<h1>Notepad Chaos for Joomla 1.5</h1]]>
</description>
every thing is rigth now


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:37 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:36 am
Posts: 2
I have downloaded the file again and tried to reinstall. Still receive the same error. Can someone please help?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:29 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:19 am
Posts: 14
Location: Ελλάδα
i have tried everything and still doesn't work. Do you have any news?

_________________
http://levites.gr/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:55 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:46 am
Posts: 64
Location: By a group of trees on a hill
Quote:
andy12
Post subject: Re: [Solved] Error!Could not find a Joomla! XML setup
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:23 pm
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:00 am
Posts: 2
Location: USA
Spirmy25 wrote:
I have downloaded the file again and tried to reinstall. Still receive the same error. Can someone please help?

Even I am having the same problem :'(

***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
Love All Serve All..
vintage engagement rings
yellow diamond engagement rings

Top
Profile

Fonias
Post subject: Re: [Solved] Error!Could not find a Joomla! XML setup
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:29 pm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:19 am
Posts: 9
Location: Ελλάδα
i have tried everything and still doesn't work. Do you have any news?

***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
http://kissamostv.gr/




I also have this very same problem when I try to install extensions. Any ideas or answers please? ;D

_________________
DR
"The world is a wickedly wonderfully peaceful place!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:31 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:53 am
Posts: 11
Fonias wrote:
i have tried everything and still doesn't work. Do you have any news?



Hi,

Unexpected errors may also occur if Joomla is installed into a folder where other files already exist. For instance, if you at anytime published from the builder and then installed Joomla to the same folder the Joomla installation will not work correctly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:05 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:08 pm
Posts: 11
Should change the xml encoding when install other language version
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:31 am
Posts: 20
Location: Bradenton, FL
amaurib wrote:
try changing the xml version on the head of your xml file
to

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>


I'd similar problems and this solution worked for me, so I suggest that everyone that has this problem try this method first. 8)

_________________
Proudly using Joomla at
http://www.webhosting-top10.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:29 pm
Posts: 4
I know now what my error was. I didn't notice that I was trying to use a template that wasn't supported by the joomla version installed. I mean, I was trying to install a joomla 2.5 template in my joomla 1.5 :-[

Could be one of your troubles too ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:47 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:19 am
Posts: 13
Location: India
hootocol wrote:
I figured it out!!!! Open the templateDesigns.xml file and rename the beginning and ending 'install' tag to 'mosinstall'. Save the file and try again. Boom! It works.


How did it worked by changing name to mosinstall!!! ???

_________________
~Aakash
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing
http://akashtablet.in/
Moving http://aadhaaruid.org/ from WP to Joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:36 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:46 pm
Posts: 8
shareea wrote:
Check to make sure you aren't installing a double compressed file (zip within a zip).


This worked for me! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group