Internet explorer 8 plugin?

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Thenewbie_
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:27 pm

Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby Thenewbie_ » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:05 am

What happend to the internet explorer 8 plugin that optimize your site for ie8?
I cant find it, is it deleted?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18044
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby infograf768 » Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:32 pm

Just add manually as first line after the <head> tag in your template index.php
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7" />
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

vissuleth
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby vissuleth » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:19 am

Be carefull doing this it switches your browser to comapability view and can cause your site to display incorrectly. I wish somthing would be done about these issues, Its a pain relying on people having to use fire fox to display a joomla site correctly. :(

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18044
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby infograf768 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:28 am

The only good solution is to create specific css for ie8 with a conditional statement.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

vissuleth
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby vissuleth » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:44 am

Yeh that's easier said than done if you know what you are talkng about. I have just spent alot of money building my site with joomla and sobi only to find out when im 98% complete that it does not work correctly in IE8 this really made me mad. Now windows 7 is released it default with IE8 and 80% of users use IE8 ive just thrown my money down the toilet.

User avatar
jeffchannell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:21 am
Location: WV
Contact:

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby jeffchannell » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:48 pm

infograf768: correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought IE8 did away with conditionals and expressions?
http://jeffchannell.com - Joomla Extensions & Support
http://biziant.com - Open Joomla Firewall/IDS
Unsolicited private messages/emails = hire me to fix your problem.
καλλιστι

vissuleth
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby vissuleth » Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:43 am

jeffchannell wrote:infograf768: correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought IE8 did away with conditionals and expressions?


That means about as much to me as php code does :( All I know is that when someone goes to edit an advertisement they have paid for on my site that DONT work correctly it does not show the whole edit page.

Is it s sobi problem they say no
Is it a Joomla problem they say no
Is it an IE problem every 1 here says yes

It really annoys me when microsoft wants to change something the whole world has to follow, yes im pissed and why shouldent I be........ >:(

Abu Ilias
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 2:33 am
Contact:

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby Abu Ilias » Sat Oct 31, 2009 2:38 am

hello to all,

i use this plugin on my two sites without any problem

http://www.joomtorial.com/downloads/plu ... patibility

unzip the package because there are plugins for both joomla versions.

regards
Abu Ilias

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18044
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby infograf768 » Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:57 am

Abu Ilias wrote:hello to all,

i use this plugin on my two sites without any problem

http://www.joomtorial.com/downloads/plu ... patibility

unzip the package because there are plugins for both joomla versions.

regards
Abu Ilias

This plugin just adds the code I pasted above when loading the template.

jeffchannell wrote:infograf768: correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought IE8 did away with conditionals and expressions?


The conditional may be necessary in your template to load the correct CSS.
For example a specific IE7 css if the CSS are IE8 aware, or the reverse.

We have changed such a conditional in ja_purity in the next version of Joomla, 1.5.15, because it was breaking display in IE8

Was

Code: Select all

<!--[if gte IE 7.0]>
<style type="text/css">
.clearfix {display: inline-block;}
</style>
<![endif]-->

changed to

Code: Select all

<!--[if IE 7.0]>
<style type="text/css">
.clearfix {display: inline-block;}
</style>
<![endif]-->
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

bfahnoe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:34 pm

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby bfahnoe » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:31 pm

This wa a really good advice. When I changed this in my site, suddenly IE8 displayed ok.
Thanks a lot.
You should put it on your webpage, as I think a lot of people have troubles wit this

em6a
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: Internet explorer 8 plugin?

Postby em6a » Sun Jan 10, 2010 11:42 pm

It's sad, but this actually doesn't help my website work right. When an IE8 a user clicks "compatibility view" it works just fine, but not if I ad any of these extra scripts or plugins. This is really killing my traffic.


Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests