The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 9:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Sweden
Hi!

My environment is:
Joomla! version 1.5.2 Production/Stable on a shared host running:
* FreeBSD
* Apache 1.3.39
* PHP 5.2.5
* MySQL 5.0.45

I have problems setting up the $log_path and $tmp_path in the configuration.php. One part is to have the right write-permisssions in suitable directories, but that's just setting right owner, group and mode, and that I can do. The other part is to choose correct values and confirm that they are OK, and that is mor tricky for me...

Are the paths absolute/relative to the filesystem or relative to the Joomla!-driectory?

How can i confirm I have the correct paths and permissions?
(I.e. Are there any error messages I can pick up? Are there any actions I cantake that will produce log files? Are there any function that will success or fail dependeing on a functioning tmp directory?)

I have searched the installation documentation and the forum, but I wasn't able to find a answer that way...

Kind regards
/hmflb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 12:09 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 70
Hi,

absolute/relative to the filesystem. This is from my configuration.php

var $log_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/Joomla/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/Joomla/tmp';


Hope this helps. A phpinfo file may assist if you looking for the paths.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 7:13 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Sweden
Thanks for your answer... Now I have a clue how to use the parameters.

Are there any way of confirming I have done right (including permissions)?

/hmflb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 7:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
Check the System Information=>PHP Information tab of the Help menu and compare the entries with the entry in the configuration listing.

hth

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 8:58 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Sweden
I don't know what to look for in the PHP-info page. But nothing seems to handle Joomla settings...

How can i confirm the function of the directories the "hard" way, i.e. what events will write to the log directory
and what action require the tmp directory to be configured correct?

/hmflb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 12:15 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 70
hmflb wrote:
I don't know what to look for in the PHP-info page. But nothing seems to handle Joomla settings...

How can i confirm the function of the directories the "hard" way, i.e. what events will write to the log directory
and what action require the tmp directory to be configured correct?

/hmflb



I'm guessing, (because I don't know :-[ ), that it won't be easy to identify all items that use the tmp & log directorys. Certainly when you install packages the tmp directory is used..... The best route is to fix the problem rather than working around it.


Go into your Admin Panel, and then go to HELP ---> System Info.

This is bring up a few pages of Jargon. :)

Scroll down or do a FIND on a title called Apache Environment

Underneath this should be an entry something like DOCUMENT_ROOT /home/server/public_html

The actual /home/server/public_html will be different on your server but this is your absolute path.

If your Joomla directory is in the root than the following is required in your configuration.php file

var $log_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/logs';

If it's in a subdirectory then it would be

var $log_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/subdirectory/logs';

The same for /tmp


Just as an addition.... I had to also put var $ftp_root = '/'; i.e my ftp root as /

Good luck 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 4:39 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Sweden
felixkat wrote:
Just as an addition.... I had to also put var $ftp_root = '/'; i.e my ftp root as /


I created an FTP account for Joomla with the Joomla directory as root, and after about 1½ hr trying, I figured out that I needed to put '/' as my $ftp_root and not the servers full path. So maybe i should have asked about that too to save me some time...

felixkat wrote:
I'm guessing, (because I don't know :-[ ), that it won't be easy to identify all items that use the tmp & log directorys. Certainly when you install packages the tmp directory is used..... The best route is to fix the problem rather than working around it.


I know it's the servers full path to put in log and tmp. How can I confirm that the ownership and permissions are OK?

I'm not asking for all actions/events that use tmp and log, just one each... Will a package install fail, if I haven't got the right ownership/permission for tmp?

/hmflb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 5:19 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 70
Hi,

Yes it's likely that an install package will fail if you have an incorrect path for tmp. I had an error message of "Cannot find install package" or something similar. The error message disappeared after I corrected my paths.

I'm not sure about the log file though as I've never seen anything in the directory, even after switching logging on. Somebody else may be able to advise on that one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:43 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:13 am
Posts: 3
Thanks felixkat.

I had the same problem and I got it fixed, thanks to your post.

Shawn


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:37 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 314
Location: LA
felixkat wrote:
Hi,

Yes it's likely that an install package will fail if you have an incorrect path for tmp. I had an error message of "Cannot find install package" or something similar. The error message disappeared after I corrected my paths.

I'm not sure about the log file though as I've never seen anything in the directory, even after switching logging on. Somebody else may be able to advise on that one.


$tmp_path is the absolute path of your Joomla installation. It's something like this:

'/home/xxxxxx/public_html/tmp';

_________________
Joomla Templates & VirtueMart Themes

http://www.vjtemplates.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:35 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:30 am
Posts: 51
xxxx is that my url?

_________________
Current project : http://www.determination-clan.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
no it is the sequence of folders on your web server to the joomla_directory/ and the tmp/ directory


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:57 pm
Posts: 1
In windows servers the set up format looks a bit different:

Code:
   var $log_path = 'C:\\HostingSpaces\\xxxx\\xxxx\\wwwroot\\logs';
   var $tmp_path = 'C:\\HostingSpaces\\xxxx\\xxxx\\wwwroot\\tmp';


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:22 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 2:59 pm
Posts: 2
I wish I would have found these posts three hours ago. Please excuse the length of this post and my stating what has already been stated. I still don't no why we might have to modify permissions in the case of Windows Server. So far I'm getting by OK with the Joomla FTP layer enabled. Security seems to be OK this route; any thoughts?

To test, I used this hello world component: http://www.vojtechovsky.net/joomla/com_helloworld.zip

Install Problem Solved: Joomla 1.5.15 Joomlashack Templates Pro

Client Side: Windows Vista 32-bit Multiple Browsers IE8 FF v3.5.5 (not a browser problem)
Server Side: Remote Windows Hosting at GoDaddy.com, Windows IIS 7 PHP 5.2.5

Problem Description: Joomla 1.5.15 - Purchased JS Community, downloaded and unzipped to desktop as per instructions. Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browsed to C:\Users\username\Desktop\js_community.zip and clicked the "Upload File and Install" button.

Error Messages (File js_community.zip did upload to /tmp directory before install failed):

JFTP::mkdir: Bad response

Cause: Path problem. In Joomla, Help > System Info > Directory Permissions showed Log Directory ($log_path) and Temp Directory ($tmp_path) Unwritable.

Solution: In Joomla go to Media Manager to determine absolute path of site. Path is listed under "Files" over top the search box. If absolute path is not there, go to hosting control panel or call hosting support. Note: $log_path is not cause of problem, but might as well fix it anyway. Must fix $tmp_path

Modify Joomla configuration.php your computer and upload to server.

Example with Joomla in site root:

WAS: var $log_path = '/var/logs';
CHANGED TO: var $log_path = 'D:\Hosting\there-is-a-number-here\html\logs'; (no idea where "var" came from)

WAS: var $tmp_path = '/tmp';
CHANGED TO: var $tmp_path = 'D:\Hosting\there-is-a-number-here\html\tmp';

Example with Joomla in site sub-domain/sub-folder:

WAS: var $log_path = '/var/logs';
CHANGED TO: var $log_path = 'D:\Hosting\there-is-a-number-here\html\joomla\logs';

WAS: var $tmp_path = '/tmp';
CHANGED TO: var $tmp_path = 'D:\Hosting\there-is-a-number-here\html\joomla\tmp';

Example other systems:

var $log_path = '/var/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/tmp';

var $log_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/Joomla/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/Joomla/tmp';

Related Issue Joomla 1.5.15: 1) This path problem is also one cause of failed Joomla 1.5.15 Browser installs. Installation routines cannot find the needed files.

Non-related Issues Joomla 1.5.15:

1) Without FTP layer configured and set to "Yes", could not save changes to configuration.php

2) Global Configuration > SEO Settings > Search Engine Friendly URLs set to "Yes" results loss of CSS paths and CSS all pages except front page.

Item 2 not resolved, stopped using Search Engine Friendly URLs.

Item 1 enabled FTP layer (This way I did not have to modify server-side permissions, thus, putting server at risk):

var $ftp_enable = '1';
var $ftp_host = 'mydomainname.com';
var $ftp_port = '21';
var $ftp_user = 'myusername';
var $ftp_pass = 'mypassword';
var $ftp_root = '/';

Or for sub-directory: var $ftp_root = '/joomla/';

Ron aka LANWANMAN, Ocala, Florida USA

"No matter how much you know today, you'll have to know more tomorrow" (source unknown).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:38 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 4
<?php
exec('pwd', $out);
foreach ($out as $line)
echo"<br/>$line\n";
?>

create file pwd.php and run on your serwer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:32 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:25 am
Posts: 1
felixkat wrote:
hmflb wrote:
I don't know what to look for in the PHP-info page. But nothing seems to handle Joomla settings...

How can i confirm the function of the directories the "hard" way, i.e. what events will write to the log directory
and what action require the tmp directory to be configured correct?

/hmflb



I'm guessing, (because I don't know :-[ ), that it won't be easy to identify all items that use the tmp & log directorys. Certainly when you install packages the tmp directory is used..... The best route is to fix the problem rather than working around it.


Go into your Admin Panel, and then go to HELP ---> System Info.

This is bring up a few pages of Jargon. :)

Scroll down or do a FIND on a title called Apache Environment

Underneath this should be an entry something like DOCUMENT_ROOT /home/server/public_html

The actual /home/server/public_html will be different on your server but this is your absolute path.

If your Joomla directory is in the root than the following is required in your configuration.php file

var $log_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/logs';

If it's in a subdirectory then it would be

var $log_path = '/home/xxxx/public_html/subdirectory/logs';

The same for /tmp


Just as an addition.... I had to also put var $ftp_root = '/'; i.e my ftp root as /

Good luck 8)


i have to working with this thing for 2 days.. and spent my 5 minute to register an account just to post a compliment and a very big thank you to you felixkat..thankz..i mean it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:10 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 4
I'm stuck here too and feeling a little frazzled. I am trying to enable front end uploads for youtheme zoo everything works but image uploads.

Os: Windows Vista 32 bit
joomla:1.5.23
Database Type: mysql




When I try to upload images I get this error message:

JFolder::create: Path not in open_basedir paths
Warning: Failed to move file!

I have gone through this thread and a thread about the open_basedir paths and I just don't seem to be grasping the appropriate method of solving my problem.

In my joomla administrator help/system info/directory permissions, I get the following:

Log Directory ($log_path) /var/logs/

Warning: is_writable() [function.is-writable]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/logs) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/xxxxxx/:/tmp:/usr/local/lib/php/) in /home/xxxxx/domains/xxxxxxxx/public_html/administrator/components/com_admin/admin.admin.html.php on line 289
Unwritable

How can I make this file writable, or where and how do I change the admin.admin.html.php file to enable the use of /var/logs in the open_basedir paths to enable me to upload image files from the front end of youtheme zoo?

I'm a total newb when it comes to javascript so any help is much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:54 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13949
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
To find out what your absolute path is, copy the following code into a text editor (i.e. JEdit, Notepad, etc), save the file as a .php naming it whatever you prefer (i.e anyfilename.php.).
Code:
<?php
 $path = getcwd();
 echo "Your Absoluthe Path is: ";
 echo $path;
 ?>
Using your FTP software, ftp the file you have just created to your root folder. (folder where Joomla is located (eg public_html or www)

Open your web browser and type in http://www.yourdomain.com/anyfilename.php. The result will show the absolute path!

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:19 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 4
@leo thanks for your reply. I posted my default $log_path and not what I had changed it to. Sorry for that. Most of this is new to me and I'm learning as I go. My absolute path is /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/

There is a tmp and a logs folder in this location so in the $log_path I have this : /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/logs/

is this incorrect? It works fine for my $tmp_path

Thanks again for taking the time to help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:11 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13949
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
avantisis wrote:
@leo thanks for your reply.
There is a tmp and a logs folder in this location so in the $log_path I have this : /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/logs/
is this incorrect? .
No it is not. Both /tmp and /logs should be without "slash" at the end so
Code:
 /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/tmp
and
Code:
 /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/logs
is the correct setting.

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:28 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:55 pm
Posts: 20
i have a problem with this the logs is full and its volum is high
and it take a lot of my hosting space how can i empaty it automaticly

_________________
http://www.dr-shadabi.ir
http://www.zarvansaffron.ir


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:27 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13949
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Zarvan open your own thread and do not hijack someones else thread please

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:40 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 4
leolam wrote:
avantisis wrote:
@leo thanks for your reply.
There is a tmp and a logs folder in this location so in the $log_path I have this : /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/logs/
is this incorrect? .
No it is not. Both /tmp and /logs should be without "slash" at the end so
Code:
 /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/tmp
and
Code:
 /home/xxxx/domains/xxxx.com/public_html/logs
is the correct setting.

Leo 8)



I went from only not being able to upload images from the frontend to having all of my components not working properly. I tried unistalling the component after backing it up so that I could reinstall it and now I can't even do that. I haven't changed any of the php files and yet now all of a sudden nothing is working and my basedir is unable to move the files. I'm stuck and feeling in way over my head.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13949
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
avantisis wrote:

I went from only not being able to upload images from the frontend to having all of my components not working properly. I tried unistalling the component after backing it up so that I could reinstall it and now I can't even do that. I haven't changed any of the php files and yet now all of a sudden nothing is working and my basedir is unable to move the files. I'm stuck and feeling in way over my head.
Post this (extended) viewtopic.php?f=428&t=272481 (no worry we get you going)

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:47 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:02 pm
Posts: 4
leolam wrote:
avantisis wrote:

I went from only not being able to upload images from the frontend to having all of my components not working properly. I tried unistalling the component after backing it up so that I could reinstall it and now I can't even do that. I haven't changed any of the php files and yet now all of a sudden nothing is working and my basedir is unable to move the files. I'm stuck and feeling in way over my head.
Post this (extended) viewtopic.php?f=428&t=272481 (no worry we get you going)

Leo 8)



My problems just got much worse.....somehow my configuration.php file got stripped and my site is completely offline :'( So I've got a support ticket in with my hosting provider to help me fix the problem. Worse case scenario I start over from scratch in which case I still need to figure out why frontend image uploads were not working in any event thanks so much for your efforts I'll have a look at the link in the morning but for now I'll have to call it a night.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group