how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
minasaeedi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:21 am

how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby minasaeedi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:36 pm

Hello,
I have a Joomla site and that is my first experience to setup a Joomla site on a hosting service. I have already uploaded all the site contents into public_html in FileManager.But I don't know how to upload all the database files into the hosting.A support told me to use PhpMyAdmin to import the datafiles but I need more technical information on how to import my existing database ? Can somebody tell me what to do?

I have attached a pic which shows the database files and also the PhpMyAdmin import window please tell me what to do as next step!

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
iikozen
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Londrina - PR - Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby iikozen » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:49 pm

♦ Homines libenter quod volunt credunt. ♦
http://www.iikozen.com.br
OpenTranslators Volunteer -> http://www.opentranslators.org

minasaeedi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:21 am

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby minasaeedi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:06 pm

Last edited by minasaeedi on Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

minasaeedi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:21 am

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby minasaeedi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:07 pm

Thank iikozen you for your help very kind of you.It was very useful.can I contact you if I have more question about the installation please ?

Mina

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3366
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby abernyte » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:12 pm

Mina,

That phpMyAdmin picture suggests you have an empty database. Have you actually installed Joomla yet or did you make a site on your local PC and are trying to move it to a live Host?
It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so. Twain

minasaeedi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:21 am

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby minasaeedi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:16 pm

Hi abernyte.I have created my database on local PC and I am trying to move it to a live Host.

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3366
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby abernyte » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:28 pm

Okay,
On your local PC you need to open phpMyAdmin and then click on your database name in the left hand column.

In the screen that opens you will see tab on the top. Click on Export.
On the screen that opens check the box at the bottom left "Save as file"
Click "Go" in the bottom right corner

This will backup that database and ask for a location to save it. Save it to your desktop.

Now open the database you have made in phpMyadmin on your remote host.
This time click the tab Import
Click the browse button and browse to the file we have just saved to your desktop
Click Go
After a short pause you should get a Success message.
Your database has now been moved.

Your site will still not work as you will have to manually alter some paths in your configuration.php file...but post back once you have got the database moved.
It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so. Twain

User avatar
iikozen
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Londrina - PR - Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby iikozen » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:31 pm

As has been pointed out, if you're nor developing the website locally, the only point on setting up joomla locally and then transfer it to a live server would be to practice the transfer.

To install Joomla! on a live site there's no need to install it locally first.

You can simply create your database in your live server, upload your Joomla! 1.5.15 package and start installing it via browser.

Any questions you have about either, just post and we will be posting our help.

:)
♦ Homines libenter quod volunt credunt. ♦
http://www.iikozen.com.br
OpenTranslators Volunteer -> http://www.opentranslators.org

minasaeedi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:21 am

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby minasaeedi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:34 pm

Ok Abernyte,I think the steps you said are very helpful( also the guide iikozen told) . I will go true the steps and import the database and ask you again about the configuration in php file.Please see my post again because this is very important and also urgent for me .

Thank you.

User avatar
iikozen
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Londrina - PR - Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby iikozen » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:46 pm

minasaeedi wrote:Ok Abernyte,I think the steps you said are very helpful( also the guide iikozen told) . I will go true the steps and import the database and ask you again about the configuration in php file.Please see my post again because this is very important and also urgent for me .

Thank you.


I read your posts on this thread again and couldn't see where you aked about the configuration.php file.

Finish the process of install/transfer and only worry about the configuration.php file if it is needed.

:)
♦ Homines libenter quod volunt credunt. ♦
http://www.iikozen.com.br
OpenTranslators Volunteer -> http://www.opentranslators.org

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3366
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby abernyte » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:58 pm

@ iikozen

mina has PM'd me. She has made a site locally and is trying to transfer it to live host.
I have told her to follow our instructions here.
It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so. Twain

User avatar
iikozen
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Londrina - PR - Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby iikozen » Sat Feb 13, 2010 5:04 pm

Got it!
Thanks for clarifying that.

Good luck Mina, the community is here to help you!

;)
♦ Homines libenter quod volunt credunt. ♦
http://www.iikozen.com.br
OpenTranslators Volunteer -> http://www.opentranslators.org

minasaeedi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:21 am

Re: how to import an exising joomla(MySql) database into a hosti

Postby minasaeedi » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:18 am

Hello iikozen and abernyte,
Good Morning

I got this error and can not connect to my local PhpAdmin.
I had to make a new post because of the attach file.Please look at this post :
viewtopic.php?f=428&t=488694

Thank you
Mina


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests