How to move a Module's Position?

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Locked
Waltman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:22 pm

How to move a Module's Position?

Post by Waltman » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:18 am

Hello and thanks for taking the time to read.

How can I change the "top-right" module position in a template. I bought a template called Affinity at RocketTheme sometime ago, but now that I need support with this my membership expired.

Anyway, I am trying to move a line of text that says "Inicio | Contacto | Trabaja con Nosotros | Licitaciones" to the very top of the page, so I tried publishing a custom module in the LOGIN position, but if I do that, then the LOGIN text comes out, and not my text.

So I tried putting that text in the TOP-RIGHT module but that module's position is to low (I need it at the very top). You can see what it looks like here: http://zona-g.com/uttprueba/
I figured that maybe I can override the TOP-RIGHT position and move it up but I just can't find the file to change it.

And if you look at the module positions here http://zona-g.com/uttprueba/index.php?tp=1
you can see that the position I want to put my text would be in the LOGIN position where the "INICIAR SESION" text is.

Seems like a simple task to move a module position, but I've tried following like 5 or 6 tutorials for creating a custom module position and I just can't make it work.
I've tried the index.php, the template.css, the style2.css (that is the one for my template's variation), and the templateDetails.xml, with no success.

I'd appreciate any help thanks!! :-[

User avatar
alan_p
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:56 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by alan_p » Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:39 am

Hello,
you can look into index.php from your template.
What defines a module position is that kind of line :
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="user3" />

the parameter "name" is the name of the position in your template. You can write anything here because you can write in the select list from the module too or simply use a name which is defined (user3 is ok, but be careful, you can use it only once).

So, write this line in your template where you want it to be displayed, then it should work.

If it doesn't, check that the container (div,etc.) is visible and displayed.

Hope it helps !

Have a nice day
Alan for http://www.inetis.ch
Need to control your websites easily ? http://forge.joomla.org/gf/project/jmonitoring/frs/
JMonitoring allows you to know your websites state, extensions installed on it and many more other things !

Waltman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:22 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by Waltman » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:09 pm

Thanks alan_p.

Well previously I actually tried to put for example the line:
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="mymodule" /> to the "index.php" file, and prior to that I modified the "templateDetails.xml" file adding the line:
<position>myposition</position>
In order to assign my newly created module "mymodule" to the "myposition" position within the Module manager in Joomla Administrator.

Apparently that did not work because I can't see it once I publish it, and I'm not sure why, but anyways if that would work... then How can I specify the exact position and size of my module? I don't see any width, height or xy coordinates to position the new module or the "myposition" location for that matter.

User avatar
alan_p
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:56 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by alan_p » Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:13 am

You don't need to modify the XML informations. Just write "mymodule" in the select list when you want to choose a module position for your module.

There are two ways : the first is that you define your width in a <div> which is surrounding <jdoc:include type="modules" name="mymodule" />this.
The second way is to define your width only for your module in its css.

The first one will apply to all modules in the position "mymodule" and the second will only affect the module.
Alan for http://www.inetis.ch
Need to control your websites easily ? http://forge.joomla.org/gf/project/jmonitoring/frs/
JMonitoring allows you to know your websites state, extensions installed on it and many more other things !

Waltman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:22 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by Waltman » Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:42 am

Hello alan_p

Hey I never got to thank you for your help. Because of many reasons, I had to put my project on a pending status weeks ago, but now I'm approaching it again.

I was able to create my own module and position, but still :-[ my problem persist. Check my module's position (I put the bg color gray so you know where is it, and you can see I can't make it fit to the very top like the date module, even though that I put the following line in the index.php:

Code: Select all

<?php ?>
	<div class="walterclass">
		<jdoc:include type="modules" name="waltermod" style="xhtml" />
	</div>
<?php ?>
and my class is defined as this:

Code: Select all

.walterclass {width: 500px; height: 20px; float: right; background-color:#CCCCCC}
Here is the link to see all modue positions:
http://zona-g.com/uttprueba/index.php?tp=1
And here is the running page:
http://zona-g.com/uttprueba/

I'm sorry to bother you again, but if you'd help me out I'd really appreciate it ;)
(I'm attaching the CSS and PHP files just in case you wanna take a look at them)
Here are the files
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
alan_p
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:56 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by alan_p » Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:25 am

Hello,

You're welcome :)

I visited your website and checked your topmenu with Firebug (you really should use it, it's very useful !).
Indeed, your topmenu element is surrounded by <p>, which have a joomla native css class :

Code: Select all

p {
  margin-bottom:15px;
  margin-top:10px;
}
There you can see why there's a space.
There are two things that you could do :

1) Try to change the style of the module by "raw", which would make :

Code: Select all

<jdoc:include type="modules" name="waltermod" style="raw" />
2) If it doesn't work, try to supress the css <p> problem :

Code: Select all

.walterclass p
{
  margin:0;
}
Good luck !
Alan for http://www.inetis.ch
Need to control your websites easily ? http://forge.joomla.org/gf/project/jmonitoring/frs/
JMonitoring allows you to know your websites state, extensions installed on it and many more other things !

Waltman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:22 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by Waltman » Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:35 pm

Wow Alan_p, :eek: that Firebug plugin is gold!! thanks a lot for sharing!!

I am noticing that the guy who created this Joomla template either created too much unnecessary nested div styles, or my lack of CSS knowledge is too obvious haha :laugh:

I managed to adjust it a little, your first suggestion didn't work and the second (defining the p margin style to 0 )did improve the results a little, but still I'm not being able to put my module at the very top.

User avatar
alan_p
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:56 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by alan_p » Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:06 am

Yes, it's a really nice plugin :D

I just noticed that your date could be the problem :

Code: Select all

.topbar-strip {
  overflow:hidden;
  padding-bottom:2px;
  width:200px;
}
Try to add float:left;

Hope this time will be the end of your problem :)
Alan for http://www.inetis.ch
Need to control your websites easily ? http://forge.joomla.org/gf/project/jmonitoring/frs/
JMonitoring allows you to know your websites state, extensions installed on it and many more other things !

Waltman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:22 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by Waltman » Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:32 pm

Alan_p .... 8)

YOU DA' MAAAN!! thanks a lot man :p , my stupid little problem is now solved thanks to you and firebug hehe.
thanks a million!! I really appreciate it.

You have yourself a great weekend!!

User avatar
alan_p
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:56 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by alan_p » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:14 am

You're welcome :)

Indeed I really had a nice weekend at the joomladay in bordeaux :)

Have a nice day !
Alan for http://www.inetis.ch
Need to control your websites easily ? http://forge.joomla.org/gf/project/jmonitoring/frs/
JMonitoring allows you to know your websites state, extensions installed on it and many more other things !

addesign2010
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:27 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by addesign2010 » Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:40 pm

Hi there, Just found your thread & think its close to mine!
I have a "user 5" that takes up the entire width of the screen & would like to shrink it
width wise so I can put a menu left & right of it. (The user 5 is going to have a slide show running)
Can you help / advise?

Thanks fopr reading!

Adam

Janderson78
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:08 pm

Re: How to move a Module's Position?

Post by Janderson78 » Sat Jul 24, 2010 4:36 am

Hi I am having the same problem. I have a slide show in a module position and I would like to shrink and bring another box right up to the right of it.. How would I go about doing this?


Locked

Return to “Templates for Joomla! 1.5”