The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:39 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
I have installed Joomla15 as per quick start guide and had a bit of difficulty, though I have been able to configure the Database Configuration page, I am unable to login into the administrator page to continue to build my site.
When I click on http://localhost/joomla15/administrator link, the page reads as "object not found" error 404.
How can I resolve this and start using Joomla.
I need to separate joomla # 15 when I login (http://localhost/joomla 15)
Please help
Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:16 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: India
please rename joomla 15 directory with any single name because joomla not contain space in root directory.

thanks
vikas

_________________
vikas verma


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:20 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
Hi Vikas
I changed the name to joomla15 and deleted the space in my root directory, unfortunately I still get the message "object not found" error 404 any further assistance to log into administrator
pleeease........help
Regards
Vinay


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:10 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: India
ok
first check all services are running properly(wamp,Lamp etc)

then u type just
http://localhost/joomla15

what happen??

vikas

_________________
vikas verma


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
got the index of joomla15


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:29 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: India
now try
http://localhost/joomla15/administrator

its again show object not found error or working properly

vikas

_________________
vikas verma


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:58 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
Hi Vikas

No improvement mate, it still shows the same error message

Vinay


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:57 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
Hello Vikas

I was able to connect to administrator at last. I had to type in http://localhost/joomla15/Joomla_1.5.15 ... inistrator.
Any recommends to improve this url.
Regards
Vinay


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:45 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: India
hey vinay u have joomla in second directory its Joomla_1.5.15-Stable-Full_Package under joomla15
just rename this with a suitable name like(vinay) and cut this folder and paste outside the joomla15 directory so now all your joomla content in the vinay directory and joomla15 is blank so delete it(joomla15).

then type for front end
http://localhost/vinay
for administrator
http://localhost/vinay/administrator

note[insted of rename vinay you put ur website name(without space)]

_________________
vikas verma


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:00 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
Hi Vikas

I sure will try this and give you a feedback.

Thanks for all the help mate.

Regards

Vinay


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:02 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: India
your welcome

vikas ;)

_________________
vikas verma


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:13 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 14
Hi Vikas

It is just working superb. thanx a ton -:) I just renamed it vinay and both localhost and admin seem to be going good.
I am a beginner and for a bit of advice from you, can i use joomla to develop webpages? without coding knowledge, though i know little of HTML.

Vinay


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group