The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:39 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 43
Hi
Is it possible to create an iframe or something like that in the joomla site from the admin part? or is there any extension for this purpose?
I want to display four types of content in a section in single page without reloading the page.
The page will display the four links and when one of those links is clicked, the content associated with that link is displayed on that particular section.

Waiting for ur reply
Thank You


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:19 pm
Posts: 1270
well there are two options really you can sue the wrapper system in Joomla where you create a menu item that literally wraps any other url within your joomla site, or if you are using the JCE content WYSIWYG editor then it has an insert iframe button built right into it

http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/

cheers

_________________
Aaron St. George


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:20 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 43
I have downloaded the JCE editor. But it doesn't contains the iframe plugin . So, I have to download that plugin separately.

But there is another problem with JCE editor. I cannot embed media(movie) on the page. There is no such tool for embedding media. I'm using JCE 1.1.x. Do I have to download a separate plugin for embedding media? But I could not find that kind of plugins. Waiting for your reply.
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 10:32 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 52
All,

JCE is way too confusing!

It has 3 different sections, each with multiple downloads and no real explanation of any of them, so you have no idea of what to download.

Is there another way to do this?

OMR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 11:12 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 52
All,

I looked at the example I found at:

http://zen-ar218.[URL banned].com/2009/05/h ... oomla.html

which is good if you want a module, but my IFRAME must insert into an article, so the article page itself is nothing but IFRAME, no title no nothing just the iframe and it's source.

Please show me how to do that!

OMR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 139
Location: Texas
There are a couple of ways to do this. You can use the wrapper module and publish it to a "content1" position (or another position that is not a part of the template). Instead of using the dropdown for the position, just type in a position name. Inside of your article, insert this code {loadposiiton content1} where content1 is the name of the position you defined. You can turn off the title for the article in the article parameters if you do not want it to show.

The other way to do it is to insert the iframe code in the article source. It is best if you're using the JoomlaCK or JCE editor as the TnyMCE editor will strip out the code. Just flip over to the source view and insert the iframe code. Alternative, some people create a user which uses no editor and log in as that user when they want to do code inserts.

_________________
Wilma Howell
Joomla! User Group - Dallas / Fort Worth / joomladallas.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:42 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 52
geekette wrote:
There are a couple of ways to do this. You can use the wrapper module and publish it to a "content1" position (or another position that is not a part of the template). Instead of using the dropdown for the position, just type in a position name. Inside of your article, insert this code {loadposiiton content1} where content1 is the name of the position you defined. You can turn off the title for the article in the article parameters if you do not want it to show.

The other way to do it is to insert the iframe code in the article source. It is best if you're using the JoomlaCK or JCE editor as the TnyMCE editor will strip out the code. Just flip over to the source view and insert the iframe code. Alternative, some people create a user which uses no editor and log in as that user when they want to do code inserts.


Tried downloading and installing JCE and always got errors. Do you have experience debugging this? Would like a link to JoomlaCK please, just in case.

Oh forgot to mention that wrappers do not work if you are adding the iframe to content. They only work for modules or sections from what I could determine.

OMR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 139
Location: Texas
The CK editor can be found here: http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... editors/90

I could also help you debug your JCE installation.

This temporary URL shows an example of loading the wrapper module inside an article: http://www.geekettenetwork.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=82


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Wilma Howell
Joomla! User Group - Dallas / Fort Worth / joomladallas.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:47 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
For module placement that you want to use iframe, you might want to try this...

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... dules/1758

_________________
Please read forum rules regarding signatures: viewtopic.php?t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:02 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:57 pm
Posts: 1
:D Easy!

Joomla puts iframe inside a blacktag list.

Edit yoursite/libraries/joomla/filter/filterinput.php file and look for $tagBlacklist var (line 59) so, delete tags that u want Joomla doesnt erase.

Just it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:28 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:25 am
Posts: 3
Dude, year my voice...

Go to configuration -> Disable Editor (none) -> Insert Iframe -> Reactivate editor -> do not open that iframe article again.

Fast and easy for what you want.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:39 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:45 am
Posts: 408
Why not just create a menu item of type wrapper, then just input your external url.
Hope this helps

_________________
http://www.netmagnetics.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:50 pm 
I've been banned!

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:19 pm
Posts: 37
i thing iframe is not good for seo
you can search this and show the article about seo and iframe

_________________
http://www.[spam].ir
http://jsa.ir/productlist.asp?Content_ID=36


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:32 pm
Posts: 208
Location: UK
nicmehr wrote:
i thing iframe is not good for seo
you can search this and show the article about seo and iframe


Actually due to cloud storage this may longer not be the case, see:
http://winfoes.co.uk/how-to-iframe-pdf- ... nto-joomla

Also although this is an old post see:
http://winfoes.co.uk/different-methods- ... stallation

and:
http://winfoes.co.uk/joomla-iframes-and ... hould-know


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 8:38 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:05 am
Posts: 7
Hopefully we can put this one to bed...
Here are steps on how you can modify the settings for your “Super Users” account to have access to add iFrame code into articles:

1. Log in to your Joomla Administrator panel

2. Click on ‘Content’,'Article Manager’, and click on the button ‘Options‘

3. Click on the ‘Text Filters‘ tab.

4. Go to the ‘Super Users’ and select from the dropdown – ‘No Filtering’.

5. Save the options and refresh your site.

6. If you are using TinyMCE editor, go to your editor options and disable “clean up on save”.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 5:29 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 7:26 am
Posts: 7
hawgmeyer wrote:
Hopefully we can put this one to bed...
Here are steps on how you can modify the settings for your “Super Users” account to have access to add iFrame code into articles:

1. Log in to your Joomla Administrator panel

2. Click on ‘Content’,'Article Manager’, and click on the button ‘Options‘

3. Click on the ‘Text Filters‘ tab.

4. Go to the ‘Super Users’ and select from the dropdown – ‘No Filtering’.

5. Save the options and refresh your site.

6. If you are using TinyMCE editor, go to your editor options and disable “clean up on save”.



There is no "options" button in 1.5. Where is it? I'm trying to do iframe placement. I need to place a map on my website from another website, but I only want to show a certain part of the map.

Where is the options button in 1.5?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 5:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:05 am
Posts: 7
Sorry... That was a fix for 1.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:35 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:40 pm
Posts: 79
Hi everyone I've tried all the solutions suggested in this forum but none of them worked :'( actually the one geekette suggested is the one I'm more curious about, I'm doing all in the proper way following the steps you mentioned my loadmodule plug in is enabled but all I see is a blank spot under my article where the iframe is supposed to appear. This is so annoying! please help!!! :pop http://www.vrangsinn.net/vrangsinn/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=68&Itemid=50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:22 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:15 am
Posts: 19
Thanks guys.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:07 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:47 pm
Posts: 6
thanks hawgmeyer


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group