creating iframe in joomla

This forum is for extensions for Joomla! version 1.0
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
suman07
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:10 pm

creating iframe in joomla

Postby suman07 » Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:39 pm

Hi
Is it possible to create an iframe or something like that in the joomla site from the admin part? or is there any extension for this purpose?
I want to display four types of content in a section in single page without reloading the page.
The page will display the four links and when one of those links is clicked, the content associated with that link is displayed on that particular section.

Waiting for ur reply
Thank You

User avatar
astgeorge
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby astgeorge » Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:55 pm

well there are two options really you can sue the wrapper system in Joomla where you create a menu item that literally wraps any other url within your joomla site, or if you are using the JCE content WYSIWYG editor then it has an insert iframe button built right into it

http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/

cheers
Aaron St. George

suman07
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby suman07 » Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:20 pm

I have downloaded the JCE editor. But it doesn't contains the iframe plugin . So, I have to download that plugin separately.

But there is another problem with JCE editor. I cannot embed media(movie) on the page. There is no such tool for embedding media. I'm using JCE 1.1.x. Do I have to download a separate plugin for embedding media? But I could not find that kind of plugins. Waiting for your reply.
Thank you.

OldManRiver
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby OldManRiver » Thu May 27, 2010 10:32 pm

All,

JCE is way too confusing!

It has 3 different sections, each with multiple downloads and no real explanation of any of them, so you have no idea of what to download.

Is there another way to do this?

OMR

OldManRiver
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby OldManRiver » Thu May 27, 2010 11:12 pm

All,

I looked at the example I found at:

http://zen-ar218.[URL banned].com/2009/05/h ... oomla.html

which is good if you want a module, but my IFRAME must insert into an article, so the article page itself is nothing but IFRAME, no title no nothing just the iframe and it's source.

Please show me how to do that!

OMR

User avatar
geekette
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby geekette » Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:40 pm

There are a couple of ways to do this. You can use the wrapper module and publish it to a "content1" position (or another position that is not a part of the template). Instead of using the dropdown for the position, just type in a position name. Inside of your article, insert this code {loadposiiton content1} where content1 is the name of the position you defined. You can turn off the title for the article in the article parameters if you do not want it to show.

The other way to do it is to insert the iframe code in the article source. It is best if you're using the JoomlaCK or JCE editor as the TnyMCE editor will strip out the code. Just flip over to the source view and insert the iframe code. Alternative, some people create a user which uses no editor and log in as that user when they want to do code inserts.
Wilma Howell
Joomla! User Group - Dallas / Fort Worth / joomladallas.org

OldManRiver
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby OldManRiver » Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:42 pm

geekette wrote:There are a couple of ways to do this. You can use the wrapper module and publish it to a "content1" position (or another position that is not a part of the template). Instead of using the dropdown for the position, just type in a position name. Inside of your article, insert this code {loadposiiton content1} where content1 is the name of the position you defined. You can turn off the title for the article in the article parameters if you do not want it to show.

The other way to do it is to insert the iframe code in the article source. It is best if you're using the JoomlaCK or JCE editor as the TnyMCE editor will strip out the code. Just flip over to the source view and insert the iframe code. Alternative, some people create a user which uses no editor and log in as that user when they want to do code inserts.


Tried downloading and installing JCE and always got errors. Do you have experience debugging this? Would like a link to JoomlaCK please, just in case.

Oh forgot to mention that wrappers do not work if you are adding the iframe to content. They only work for modules or sections from what I could determine.

OMR

User avatar
geekette
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby geekette » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:43 am

The CK editor can be found here: http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... editors/90

I could also help you debug your JCE installation.

This temporary URL shows an example of loading the wrapper module inside an article: http://www.geekettenetwork.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=82
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Wilma Howell
Joomla! User Group - Dallas / Fort Worth / joomladallas.org

User avatar
yop
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:47 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby yop » Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:10 pm

For module placement that you want to use iframe, you might want to try this...

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... dules/1758
Please read forum rules regarding signatures: viewtopic.php?t=65

portillodesign
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby portillodesign » Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:02 pm

:D Easy!

Joomla puts iframe inside a blacktag list.

Edit yoursite/libraries/joomla/filter/filterinput.php file and look for $tagBlacklist var (line 59) so, delete tags that u want Joomla doesnt erase.

Just it.

valbap
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:25 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby valbap » Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:28 am

Dude, year my voice...

Go to configuration -> Disable Editor (none) -> Insert Iframe -> Reactivate editor -> do not open that iframe article again.

Fast and easy for what you want.

randelld
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:45 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby randelld » Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:39 am

Why not just create a menu item of type wrapper, then just input your external url.
Hope this helps

nicmehr
I've been banned!
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby nicmehr » Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:50 pm

i thing iframe is not good for seo
you can search this and show the article about seo and iframe

User avatar
stgeorge
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: UK

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby stgeorge » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:49 am

nicmehr wrote:i thing iframe is not good for seo
you can search this and show the article about seo and iframe


Actually due to cloud storage this may longer not be the case, see:
http://winfoes.co.uk/how-to-iframe-pdf- ... nto-joomla

Also although this is an old post see:
http://winfoes.co.uk/different-methods- ... stallation

and:
http://winfoes.co.uk/joomla-iframes-and ... hould-know

hawgmeyer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:05 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby hawgmeyer » Tue May 24, 2011 8:38 am

Hopefully we can put this one to bed...
Here are steps on how you can modify the settings for your “Super Users” account to have access to add iFrame code into articles:

1. Log in to your Joomla Administrator panel

2. Click on ‘Content’,'Article Manager’, and click on the button ‘Options‘

3. Click on the ‘Text Filters‘ tab.

4. Go to the ‘Super Users’ and select from the dropdown – ‘No Filtering’.

5. Save the options and refresh your site.

6. If you are using TinyMCE editor, go to your editor options and disable “clean up on save”.

newbie12345
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 7:26 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby newbie12345 » Sun May 29, 2011 5:29 am

hawgmeyer wrote:Hopefully we can put this one to bed...
Here are steps on how you can modify the settings for your “Super Users” account to have access to add iFrame code into articles:

1. Log in to your Joomla Administrator panel

2. Click on ‘Content’,'Article Manager’, and click on the button ‘Options‘

3. Click on the ‘Text Filters‘ tab.

4. Go to the ‘Super Users’ and select from the dropdown – ‘No Filtering’.

5. Save the options and refresh your site.

6. If you are using TinyMCE editor, go to your editor options and disable “clean up on save”.



There is no "options" button in 1.5. Where is it? I'm trying to do iframe placement. I need to place a map on my website from another website, but I only want to show a certain part of the map.

Where is the options button in 1.5?

hawgmeyer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:05 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby hawgmeyer » Sun May 29, 2011 5:56 am

Sorry... That was a fix for 1.6

diverso
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:40 pm
Contact:

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby diverso » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:35 pm

Hi everyone I've tried all the solutions suggested in this forum but none of them worked :'( actually the one geekette suggested is the one I'm more curious about, I'm doing all in the proper way following the steps you mentioned my loadmodule plug in is enabled but all I see is a blank spot under my article where the iframe is supposed to appear. This is so annoying! please help!!! :pop http://www.vrangsinn.net/vrangsinn/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=68&Itemid=50

careboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:15 am

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby careboy » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:22 am

Thanks guys.
Image

marcgpx
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:47 pm

Re: creating iframe in joomla

Postby marcgpx » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:07 pm

thanks hawgmeyer


Return to “Extensions - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests