How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

yosefPHP
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:02 am
Location: Israel

How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby yosefPHP » Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:17 am

Hello!
How can I translate poll options with Joom!fish?
Thanks,
Yosef

hpEnergy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby hpEnergy » Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:09 pm

have the same problem, too

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby infograf768 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:23 pm

Poll options are available in Translation tab of joomfish! in the dropdown which lets choose which type of content elements to translate. Each option is one translation.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

hpEnergy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby hpEnergy » Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:40 pm

I did it already, but the options are not translated.
I see in Joom!Fish forum, that this is a known issue :(

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby infograf768 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:35 pm

A picture is worth a thousand words.
Picture 8.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

J_JD
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:56 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby J_JD » Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:45 pm

I have the same problem.
Module and Poll option translated properly but on page poll options stay unchnaged.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby infograf768 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:25 am

Sorry, I confirm the issue.
The results display OK but not in the module.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

J_JD
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:56 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby J_JD » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:33 am

Could someone help us?
Is it problem of joomfish? I spent some hours yesterday on this and tried everything I could - without success.

Regards,
J_JD

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby infograf768 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:13 am

It is a joomfish issue.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

hpEnergy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby hpEnergy » Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:57 pm

any news about this issue?
ps. I updated joomla to 1.5.15 and it's still not working

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby infograf768 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 4:59 pm

Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

magicat
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby magicat » Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:49 pm

I have the same problem with the translation of the poll options... :eek:

Please solve this problem for us soon!

I don't think that a dutch person would understand the options in danish...! :o

Regards

magicat
MVH/Regards/MFG

Helle
magicat

User avatar
SarakinosL
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:11 am
Location: Corfu, Greece
Contact:

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby SarakinosL » Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:18 am

Just change the modules/mod_poll/helper.php file a bit:
in getPollOptions function set

Code: Select all

$query = 'SELECT p.id, p.text' .
            ' FROM #__poll_data as p' .
            ' WHERE p.pollid = ' . (int) $id .
            ' AND p.text <> ""' .
            ' ORDER BY p.id';

Joomfish rules !
You have to use table alias with your queries!
I hope it will be fixed on next version!

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17941
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby infograf768 » Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:57 pm

SarakinosL wrote:Just change the modules/mod_poll/helper.php file a bit:
in getPollOptions function set

Code: Select all

$query = 'SELECT p.id, p.text' .
            ' FROM #__poll_data as p' .
            ' WHERE p.pollid = ' . (int) $id .
            ' AND p.text <> ""' .
            ' ORDER BY p.id';

Joomfish rules !
You have to use table alias with your queries!
I hope it will be fixed on next version!

??
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby akede » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:21 pm

THANK's for the hint!!!

Believe it or not, your little code made me realize what the issue is. It is related to the MySQL [drive]. If you switch to MySQLi "with i" it works right out of the box. As this is the preferred [drive] for JoomFish I didn't realized the problem on my local server.

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

devster82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:51 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby devster82 » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:58 pm

Whoa, it works!!!!!

I changed the mod_poll/helper.php code as above, and it works in 2 secs...

SarakinosL, you're a genius - thanks mate!!!

amol1234
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:46 pm
Location: Pune/India
Contact:

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby amol1234 » Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:03 pm

It works properly
thanx

jeanfrancois
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 3:58 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby jeanfrancois » Fri May 28, 2010 4:04 pm

Hello!
! I have the same problem! , But I dont understand where to go to do this modification!
Could you help me ?
jeff

MERINEO
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:11 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby MERINEO » Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:07 am

Hello guys,
i try this solution but no effect at all, i use Joomla 1.5.17 and Joomfish 2.0.4.
Link is: http://www.revivalseminars.org/
Can somebody help with that?

EDIT: IT WORKS ! thanks for help :)

Thanks

User avatar
coalaweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby coalaweb » Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:46 pm

Hey
the below code change worked a treat for me
Thanks

SarakinosL wrote:Code:
$query = 'SELECT p.id, p.text' .
            ' FROM #__poll_data as p' .
            ' WHERE p.pollid = ' . (int) $id .
            ' AND p.text <> ""' .
            ' ORDER BY p.id';

User avatar
migors
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:56 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby migors » Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:11 pm

change in global configuration - Database Type: mysqli. add just (i)at the end, and all will work.

yhussy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:47 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby yhussy » Sun Jul 11, 2010 4:35 pm

i don't get it????
i changed code! but i didn't see Polls Option!
can anyone give me a full code of helper file please.

Lopt
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:40 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby Lopt » Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:57 am

woah, will have to try this, also having the same problem...

yhussy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:47 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby yhussy » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:50 am

Lopt wrote:woah, will have to try this, also having the same problem...


it work well you can check joomfish from modules translation you well find also "poll options" as additional field :)

RoGer12
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:02 am
Location: Munich

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby RoGer12 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:12 am

Thank you to akede and mogors for the fine solution.
I made the following change in the "Global configuration" - "Server" under "Database settings":
Here I changed the "database type" from 'mysql' to 'mysqli' and it immediately used the right translations in the frontend.

Thank you for your help!

nils99
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:18 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby nils99 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:24 pm

GREAT! i just added "i" and it works!!!
thanks a lot! :laugh:

User avatar
pierodela
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:22 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby pierodela » Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:32 pm

Hi, when I set to "mysqli" options' translation works good but then other component (sim gallery) starts to fail... >:(
I tried the piece of code that SarakinosL provided but didn't work for me.

Any help, please? :'(

addy digit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:29 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby addy digit » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:32 am

i have also the same problem and go to your instruction you say that Poll options are available in Translation tab of joomfish! in the dropdown which lets choose which type of content elements to translate. Each option is one translation. i do but its does't works now what can i do ?? /

mashamesho
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby mashamesho » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:45 am

Thanks a lot SarakinosL ;D

SarakinosL wrote:Just change the modules/mod_poll/helper.php file a bit:
in getPollOptions function set

Code: Select all

$query = 'SELECT p.id, p.text' .
            ' FROM #__poll_data as p' .
            ' WHERE p.pollid = ' . (int) $id .
            ' AND p.text <> ""' .
            ' ORDER BY p.id';

Joomfish rules !
You have to use table alias with your queries!
I hope it will be fixed on next version!


i changed the code , and it will be worked

Thanks again

sst
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:36 am

Re: How translate poll options with Joom!fish?

Postby sst » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:38 pm

When I changed the code I got an error as soon as I opened my webpage. Changing the database to mysqli solved it though.


Return to “Language - Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 3 guests