Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Need help installing Joomla!? For all Joomla! installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
Websmurf
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2230
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby Websmurf » Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:52 pm

ah.. don't think there is a version for the latest 1.5 release yet :)
Adam van Dongen - Developer

- Blocklist, ODT Indexer, EasyFAQ, Easy Guestbook, Easy Gallery, YaNC & Redirect -
http://www.joomla-addons.org - http://www.bandhosting.nl

orlisgal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:00 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby orlisgal » Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:26 pm

Websmurf wrote:ah.. don't think there is a version for the latest 1.5 release yet :)


Hi there -- and thanks so much for the response!

Actually the current diagnostic.php file worked fine, once I typed the correct address in my browser.  Since it was a pointed domain, I had to type in http://nameofmaindomain.com/nafmmaf/dia ... php.&nbsp; THEN it worked!  Initially I was typing in http://nafmmaf.org/diagnostic.php -- which didn't work.

So the resolution to this issue, which I'm sure is posted somewhere but I never found it (grin!), is that for a pointed domain, you need to type in the hosting and pointed domains as described above. 

Sadly -- the report I got said I had NUMEROUS corrupted, etc. files.  Don't know how that happened.  I've deleted all of them, re-downloaded the newest 1.5 version, and will try extracting and uploaded AGAIN. 

Thanks again -- I'll go post the resolution in my original post!

User avatar
Websmurf
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2230
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby Websmurf » Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:27 pm

no, the attached .txt file with all file hashes in it is unique for each version.
that's exactly the reason why you are getting so many altered and missing files..
Adam van Dongen - Developer

- Blocklist, ODT Indexer, EasyFAQ, Easy Guestbook, Easy Gallery, YaNC & Redirect -
http://www.joomla-addons.org - http://www.bandhosting.nl

orlisgal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:00 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby orlisgal » Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:40 pm

Websmurf wrote:no, the attached .txt file with all file hashes in it is unique for each version.
that's exactly the reason why you are getting so many altered and missing files..


I don't understand what you're saying?  Forgive my ignorance?! Oh wait...you're saying I'm getting all those error mssg's because the .txt file I'm using won't work with the new Joomla version I've installed, is that what you mean?  Got it...and you'd know, since you developed it -- gotcha'!

Okay - so let me ask you this -- and we're actually off topic here, but I figured you might know:  someone else in this post mentioned that it would perhaps be better to upload files in ascii instead of binary.  I'm using "auto", but should I upload in ascii instead - do you think that would be better?  Thanks for your help and for letting me go off topic! ;-)

ragnhild
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:09 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby ragnhild » Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:18 pm

Thank you, you're a life-saver! I was going mad truing to upload joomla to a server with a patchy ftp-connection, no matter what I did something seemed to be missing, and using this tool identifying what was as easy as kiss my hand 8)

noodles87
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:10 am

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby noodles87 » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:19 am

I'm wondering if he "1.5" version of the diagnostic tool only works for 1.5 and not version 1.5.x+.

When I run the script, I have a large list of warnings about corrupt or hacked files. The number of files is too many to count. Also, it says there are files missing, but when looking at the directory, they are there. And the few missing files that aren't there, aren't in the zip file either.

So my question is does the 1.5 tool work for 1.5.7? If so, and the zip is missing files, what should I do? I've tried downloading the packages again in case the files became corrupt. Also, I've tried putting the file son the site via ftp and also the cpanels file manager; with no luck as far as corruption.

Hopefully someone can help me, I'd really appreciate it.

Arba
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:03 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby Arba » Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:03 pm

noodles87 wrote:I'm wondering if he "1.5" version of the diagnostic tool only works for 1.5 and not version 1.5.x+.

When I run the script, I have a large list of warnings about corrupt or hacked files. The number of files is too many to count. Also, it says there are files missing, but when looking at the directory, they are there. And the few missing files that aren't there, aren't in the zip file either.

So my question is does the 1.5 tool work for 1.5.7? If so, and the zip is missing files, what should I do? I've tried downloading the packages again in case the files became corrupt. Also, I've tried putting the file son the site via ftp and also the cpanels file manager; with no luck as far as corruption.

Hopefully someone can help me, I'd really appreciate it.


I would like to know that too, scaning my joomla 1.5.7 with joomla diagnostics give me hundreds of corupted or altered files, I think my joomla should not work at all with all those error?

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby pe7er » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:28 pm

Arba wrote:I would like to know that too, scaning my joomla 1.5.7 with joomla diagnostics give me hundreds of corupted or altered files, I think my joomla should not work at all with all those error?

Joomla Diagnostics has a checksum included, with all details about the Joomla core files in the distribution. Scanning a 1.5.7 site with a 1.0.15 checksum file will result in a huge amount of errors because the files of Joomla 1.5.7 are very differenf from 1.0.15.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

Arba
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:03 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby Arba » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:46 pm

Thank you for reply pe7er, but I scan my site with 1.5 joomla diagnostic version, downloaded today. Did I do something wrong ??
My site are mostly functional but there are some weird error ( content availble only for registered become sudenly available to public...) so I scan today my site with joomla diagnostic, results are very schocking :eek:

Arba
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:03 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby Arba » Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:03 pm

Oops, I just realize this is forum for 1.0 joomla, my apologize for mistake, find this thread via search for joomla diagnostic.
Anyway if anyone can help it will be great.

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby pe7er » Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:21 pm

Arba wrote:but I scan my site with 1.5 joomla diagnostic version, downloaded today. Did I do something wrong ??

Yes, scanning a 1.5.7 website with some 1.0 tool is wrong but it does not break or change anything...
Joomla Diagnostics just compares the installed files with a list (files with their "checksum").
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

User avatar
Busby
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Isle of Man
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby Busby » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:20 am

I have just started having problems accessing the backend of my site - I get 'Access restricted' message and came upon this diagnostic tool.

I wondered if anyone can tell me if the errors I get are likely to be the reason for this please:

Code: Select all

Error Filename Type
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/CHANGELOG.php File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/htaccess.txt File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/offline.php File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/robots.txt File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/administrator/components/com_admin/admin.admin.html.php File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/administrator/components/com_content/toolbar.content.html.php


This is a Joomla 1 site.

Many thanks..
http://www.1mix.co.uk 1Mix Radio - its all about the music..

chromie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:44 am

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby chromie » Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:00 pm

SO then, this tool is currently useless for current releases until the new checksum txt files are created?

emutlu12
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:22 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Postby emutlu12 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:27 pm

Surely the way this should work in future is to be included as an administrator component. Generate its own hashes immediately on first installation. Then be available to check for changes thereafter. If I know I have made a change to something myself, I run it and accept the new hash as correct and it updates its hashes. Sort of like Windows File Checker. (Did I just ask for a Joomla component to work like part of Windows?


Return to “Installation - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest