The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 164 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 2230
Location: The Netherlands
ah.. don't think there is a version for the latest 1.5 release yet :)

_________________
Adam van Dongen - Developer

- Blocklist, ODT Indexer, EasyFAQ, Easy Guestbook, Easy Gallery, YaNC & Redirect -
http://www.joomla-addons.org - http://www.bandhosting.nl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 28
Websmurf wrote:
ah.. don't think there is a version for the latest 1.5 release yet :)


Hi there -- and thanks so much for the response!

Actually the current diagnostic.php file worked fine, once I typed the correct address in my browser.  Since it was a pointed domain, I had to type in http://nameofmaindomain.com/nafmmaf/dia ... php.&nbsp; THEN it worked!  Initially I was typing in http://nafmmaf.org/diagnostic.php -- which didn't work.

So the resolution to this issue, which I'm sure is posted somewhere but I never found it (grin!), is that for a pointed domain, you need to type in the hosting and pointed domains as described above. 

Sadly -- the report I got said I had NUMEROUS corrupted, etc. files.  Don't know how that happened.  I've deleted all of them, re-downloaded the newest 1.5 version, and will try extracting and uploaded AGAIN. 

Thanks again -- I'll go post the resolution in my original post!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:23 pm
Posts: 2230
Location: The Netherlands
no, the attached .txt file with all file hashes in it is unique for each version.
that's exactly the reason why you are getting so many altered and missing files..

_________________
Adam van Dongen - Developer

- Blocklist, ODT Indexer, EasyFAQ, Easy Guestbook, Easy Gallery, YaNC & Redirect -
http://www.joomla-addons.org - http://www.bandhosting.nl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:40 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 28
Websmurf wrote:
no, the attached .txt file with all file hashes in it is unique for each version.
that's exactly the reason why you are getting so many altered and missing files..


I don't understand what you're saying?  Forgive my ignorance?! Oh wait...you're saying I'm getting all those error mssg's because the .txt file I'm using won't work with the new Joomla version I've installed, is that what you mean?  Got it...and you'd know, since you developed it -- gotcha'!

Okay - so let me ask you this -- and we're actually off topic here, but I figured you might know:  someone else in this post mentioned that it would perhaps be better to upload files in ascii instead of binary.  I'm using "auto", but should I upload in ascii instead - do you think that would be better?  Thanks for your help and for letting me go off topic! ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:18 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:09 pm
Posts: 4
Thank you, you're a life-saver! I was going mad truing to upload joomla to a server with a patchy ftp-connection, no matter what I did something seemed to be missing, and using this tool identifying what was as easy as kiss my hand 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:19 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:10 am
Posts: 1
I'm wondering if he "1.5" version of the diagnostic tool only works for 1.5 and not version 1.5.x+.

When I run the script, I have a large list of warnings about corrupt or hacked files. The number of files is too many to count. Also, it says there are files missing, but when looking at the directory, they are there. And the few missing files that aren't there, aren't in the zip file either.

So my question is does the 1.5 tool work for 1.5.7? If so, and the zip is missing files, what should I do? I've tried downloading the packages again in case the files became corrupt. Also, I've tried putting the file son the site via ftp and also the cpanels file manager; with no luck as far as corruption.

Hopefully someone can help me, I'd really appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:03 pm
Posts: 8
noodles87 wrote:
I'm wondering if he "1.5" version of the diagnostic tool only works for 1.5 and not version 1.5.x+.

When I run the script, I have a large list of warnings about corrupt or hacked files. The number of files is too many to count. Also, it says there are files missing, but when looking at the directory, they are there. And the few missing files that aren't there, aren't in the zip file either.

So my question is does the 1.5 tool work for 1.5.7? If so, and the zip is missing files, what should I do? I've tried downloading the packages again in case the files became corrupt. Also, I've tried putting the file son the site via ftp and also the cpanels file manager; with no luck as far as corruption.

Hopefully someone can help me, I'd really appreciate it.


I would like to know that too, scaning my joomla 1.5.7 with joomla diagnostics give me hundreds of corupted or altered files, I think my joomla should not work at all with all those error?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 19266
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Arba wrote:
I would like to know that too, scaning my joomla 1.5.7 with joomla diagnostics give me hundreds of corupted or altered files, I think my joomla should not work at all with all those error?

Joomla Diagnostics has a checksum included, with all details about the Joomla core files in the distribution. Scanning a 1.5.7 site with a 1.0.15 checksum file will result in a huge amount of errors because the files of Joomla 1.5.7 are very differenf from 1.0.15.

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:03 pm
Posts: 8
Thank you for reply pe7er, but I scan my site with 1.5 joomla diagnostic version, downloaded today. Did I do something wrong ??
My site are mostly functional but there are some weird error ( content availble only for registered become sudenly available to public...) so I scan today my site with joomla diagnostic, results are very schocking :eek:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:03 pm
Posts: 8
Oops, I just realize this is forum for 1.0 joomla, my apologize for mistake, find this thread via search for joomla diagnostic.
Anyway if anyone can help it will be great.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 19266
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Arba wrote:
but I scan my site with 1.5 joomla diagnostic version, downloaded today. Did I do something wrong ??

Yes, scanning a 1.5.7 website with some 1.0 tool is wrong but it does not break or change anything...
Joomla Diagnostics just compares the installed files with a list (files with their "checksum").

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:20 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:07 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Isle of Man
I have just started having problems accessing the backend of my site - I get 'Access restricted' message and came upon this diagnostic tool.

I wondered if anyone can tell me if the errors I get are likely to be the reason for this please:

Code:
Error Filename Type
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/CHANGELOG.php File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/htaccess.txt File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/offline.php File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/robots.txt File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/administrator/components/com_admin/admin.admin.html.php File is corrupted or has been altered
WARNING /home/sites/onemix.co.uk/public_html/administrator/components/com_content/toolbar.content.html.php


This is a Joomla 1 site.

Many thanks..

_________________
http://www.1mix.co.uk 1Mix Radio - its all about the music..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:44 am
Posts: 19
SO then, this tool is currently useless for current releases until the new checksum txt files are created?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:27 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:22 pm
Posts: 3
Surely the way this should work in future is to be included as an administrator component. Generate its own hashes immediately on first installation. Then be available to check for changes thereafter. If I know I have made a change to something myself, I run it and accept the new hash as correct and it updates its hashes. Sort of like Windows File Checker. (Did I just ask for a Joomla component to work like part of Windows?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 164 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group