using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Need help installing Joomla! 1.5? For all Joomla! 1.5 installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:07 pm

Hi
I am new to joomla and very keen to learn.
I am stuck at localhost phpmyadmin. I've downloaded the joomla program and xampp. I am going through the joomla know-how written by S. Bhide and I am stuck where he is saying Creating MySQL Database & Account.

I am trying to open the browser with http://localhostphpmyadmin , but i am getting an error - "broken link".

Someone in this forum said - put the Joomla installation package in the directory at C://xampp/htdocs/joomlabeta -- What does that mean?

I have downloaded the programs to an external hard drive and not on my C drive. Would that make a difference?

I would really appreciate if anyone can put me on the right track.

Thank you
Harry

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24555
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby imanickam » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:30 am

Review of the following documents would be of help in addressing your needs.

http://help.joomla.org/ghop/feb2008/task048/joomla_15_quickstart.pdf
http://www.lagoona.in/Learn_Joomla_Fast.pdf
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

aislash
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:47 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby aislash » Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:24 am

R u trying to connect to database or you try to get installation to come up on the localhost

girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:50 am

Hi guys
I have been going through the "learn joomla fast pdf". and that's how I came to asking this question. Because I am at the stage of creating my MySQL Database & Account. In order to do that I need to connect to the http://localhost/phpmyadmin .
That's where I am stuck. When I try to open this in my browser it comes up with - "This link appears to be broken". What am I NOT doing?

Thanks guys

aislash
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:47 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby aislash » Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:40 am

Did you start you wampserver(pc) or mampserver on mac

girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:55 am

Hi aislash

As I am completely new to joomla. please clarify what you mean by start the wampserver?
Once I downloaded the xampp I did go into xampp control panel and started the Apache and Mysql.

Thks

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24555
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby imanickam » Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:02 pm

As you may have known by this time, for Joomla! to run it requires Apache, MySQL and PHP. Most of the times we do not have them on our PCs or Laptops. So, we use programs such as XAMPP Server and WAMP Server that help you install these components and make them to work together seamlessly.

You are using XAMPP Server. So, that is enough. There is not need for WAMP Server.

(a) What happens when you type http://localhost in your browser address space and press enter?

(b) If you are seeing XAMPP console page then you could as well invoke phpMyAdmin from that by clicking the link for that.

As for as the local environment is concerned, there is no need to create a new database. All you could do is to provide the following parameters for the Database Configuration.

Host Name: localhost
User Name: root
Password: Do not enter anything as there is no password for the user root
Database Name: Give a name of your choice

With this information, the database will be create for you on the fly during the Joomla! installation.
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:26 pm

Hi Guys
So now I have gone through the video on joomla 1.5 quickstart. I have followed the video down to T, every step of the way. This brings me to 3 different guides that I have gone through so far. And I am still stuck at the same place.
When I type in "localhost/joomla15" into chrome and firefox browser I am getting the following - "This link appears to be broken"

What do you think I am NOT doing.

Thks

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24555
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby imanickam » Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:30 pm

imanickam wrote:(a) What happens when you type http://localhost in your browser address space and press enter?
A picture may be beneficial.
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:06 pm

Hi
Hope this make sense -

Oops! This link appears to be broken.
Suggestions:
Search on Google:

Google Chrome Help - Why am I seeing this page?
©2010 Google - Google Home


Thks for sticking by me imanickam, I hope you can help.

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24555
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby imanickam » Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:06 pm

(a) Have you installed XAMPP Server?

(b) If the answer is Yes, is XAMPP Server up and running?
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:30 pm

yes the xampp server is running.

when I go into the xampp control panel. Apache and MySql have started and MySql is showing as running. Apache doesnt show in green as running, but in the bottom window it shows - "Apache server started".

one question -
localhost means installing the software (xampp and Joomla) on my comp. but I have not connected it to my hosting account which is with godaddy. Will that make a difference?

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24555
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby imanickam » Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:37 pm

girny wrote:when I go into the xampp control panel. Apache and MySql have started and MySql is showing as running. Apache doesnt show in green as running, but in the bottom window it shows - "Apache server started".
This could be an issue. Check the log of Apache. There could be conflicting in port numbers. Are you using Skype? If so, exit from Skype and try to restart Apache.

girny wrote:localhost means installing the software (xampp and Joomla) on my comp. but I have not connected it to my hosting account which is with godaddy. Will that make a difference?
No it will not make any difference. There is no correlation between the local environment and the hosted environment.
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

emutlu12
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:22 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby emutlu12 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:38 pm

Hi ,As I am completely new to joomla. please clarify what you mean by start the wampserver?
Once I downloaded the xampp I did go into xampp control panel and started the Apache and Mysql.

girny
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: using http://localhost/phpmyadmin

Postby girny » Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:05 pm

imanickam wrote:
girny wrote:when I go into the xampp control panel. Apache and MySql have started and MySql is showing as running. Apache doesnt show in green as running, but in the bottom window it shows - "Apache server started".
This could be an issue. Check the log of Apache. There could be conflicting in port numbers. Are you using Skype? If so, exit from Skype and try to restart Apache.

Hi
you were on the ball imanickam. I had to restart the Apache and it worked.
Just one point on this, coming from a guy who is new to this. At no stage any of the quick guides I had looked at, mentioned that - just incase one of the Apache or MySql don't start, then there may be problem. As I had which cost me about 2 hrs. So may mention that for any new comers (just a thought!)

Thanks Again


Return to “Installation 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests