The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:01 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
@FluidDruid23:
That's strange.

Looking at the overall number of your forum posts I assume you aren't a Joomla newbie. So I guess you have
  • downloaded the latest EasyImageCaption (EIC) version
  • installed it correctly
  • and haven't forgotten to enable the plugin!?
;)

There are options to exclude images from "captionizing" in the plugin's parameters. Maybe you have set these wrong (if that's the case, it is probably due to my bad English descriptions).

Are the images embedded in regular article content or is this text some kind of module or a special component? EIC only works on article content (some modules apply plugins as well).

Does this happen to all of your images, or does EIC work on other pages?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:08 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:36 pm
Posts: 130
Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me.

Firstly, I've been using Joomla now for several years, so I've done the items in your list. :)

I've got nothing set to exclude/include, so everything should show. I've added the Javascript code in the template's index.php file, to stop that from working.

The images are in normal articles, however I have tweaked the HTML/PHP a little. I've got a template override, which changes the component/com_content/views/article/tmpl/default.php as follows...

Line 124 or so originally is:

Code:
<?php if (isset ($this->article->toc)) : ?>
   <?php echo $this->article->toc; ?>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php echo $this->article->text; ?>


In the template override it's now:

Code:
<div class="article-content">
<?php if (isset ($this->article->toc)) : ?>
   <?php echo $this->article->toc; ?>
<?php endif; ?>
</div>

<div class="introtext">
   <?php echo JFilterOutput::ampReplace($this->article->introtext); ?>
</div>

<?php if (!empty ($this->article->fulltext)) : ?>
<div class="fulltext">

   <?php echo JFilterOutput::ampReplace($this->article->fulltext); ?>

</div>
<?php endif; ?>


Might that be what's causing the issues?

Thanks,
Matt

_________________
purpleplanet - Software Solutions :: Custom Joomla Development at http://www.purpleplanet.com :: Free Quotes, Excellent Fresh Designs :: 10% Discount When You Quote "JoomForum09"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
Yes, that is the problem.

In my plugin I am only working with the complete html of the article, "$this->article->text". You are using the two parts "$this->article->introtext" and "$this->article->fulltext" instead, which my plugin unfortunately doesn't alter.

I have to admit that I haven't thought that out when writing the code initially. So this problem is on my list for the next update, but I can't tell when this update will happen. And I have no idea of a temporary workaround for you, if you need the two parts of the article seperated in two DIVs. Sorry. :( Maybe you have to get back to Joomla's "caption.js" for the moment.

I could send you a PM when an updated version of EasyImageCaption is available if you like.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:29 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:36 pm
Posts: 130
OK, at least we've pinned it down!

I need them to be separate, so I can properly style the introtext on each article.

Über eine Nachricht würde ich mich sehr freuen! :)

Vielen Dank,
Matt

_________________
purpleplanet - Software Solutions :: Custom Joomla Development at http://www.purpleplanet.com :: Free Quotes, Excellent Fresh Designs :: 10% Discount When You Quote "JoomForum09"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:40 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 1
I just install easyimagecaption and receiving the following notices on virtually every page that has an image:
Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$sectionid in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 251

Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$sectionid in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 251

Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$sectionid in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 251

Notice: Undefined variable: margin_is_set in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 668

Am I missing something in the plugin setup? (Using IE7)

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:59 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
Strange. I haven't seen that kind of error before. What version of Joomla are you using? Is this 1.6 already? If that is the case, it looks like EasyImageCaption is not working there. I haven't tested Joomla 1.6 at all yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:05 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am
Posts: 14
Hello Learningbydoing,

Thanks for the neat plugin!

Unfortunately I'm having a bit of a problem with it. Here are the errors I'm receiving when using the plugin:

Code:
Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 89

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 92

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 95

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 101

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 104

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 121

Notice: Undefined variable: margin_is_set in C:[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 668


The plugin itself seems to be working great, in terms of it's output... it's just these error messages. Any thoughts?

Using latest version downloaded from your site, developing in WAMP with PHP 5.3.0.

Thanks mate!

- Jono Cowdery


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:01 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am
Posts: 14
Hey again Learningbydoing,

I removed the deprecated error by replacing split() with explode(). Is that a valid fix?

I also commented out the line giving the undefined variable error. This made the error disappear, and it all seems to be working quite ok... any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:38 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
@Jono_Cow:
The reason you are getting these errors is your PHP warning level. As you already mentioned, the code itself works properly.

The "split()" function is deprecated in PHP 5.3. Please replace it by "preg_split()" - that should do it. The "explode()" function is not able to work with regular expressions, so this won't work (although it might look like it does in your case).

To get rid of the "Undefined variable" error, please don't comment out lines, but insert the following line at line 616 (before "$image = $pimage;"):
Code:
$margin_is_set = false;

Of course, I will add these things myself in the next version of my plugin. I just haven't had the time for working on an update yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:45 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am
Posts: 14
Thanks so much for the help, LearningByDoing! Very helpful indeed. I'll implement those changes.

Done... and working beautifully. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:07 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:03 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Toronto, Canada
Hello there. I love your EasyImageCaption plugin ( http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 05/details), for getting captions under my images, but so far have not been able to get the url to work. When I paste in (see screenshot for the code) using either the title or alt option, the front end display of the caption is exactly the same as the code I input.

There is no link, just the exact same text.

I've tried every option I can think of in the plugin settings but nothing has worked, so far...

Any guidance would be appreciated.

_________________
Craig
http://mindfulnessangermanagement.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:15 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am
Posts: 14
Hi Craig, I don't know if this will help, but the following example works for me.

Code:
<img alt="Image from [url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/pbogs/446901278/]IMG_0839[/url] by Bo Gordy-Stith. [url=http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/]License.[/url]" src="images/stories/teaser/IMG_0839_CC-BY-SA_PBoGS_450x260.jpg" width="450" height="260" />

Hope it helps,

- Jono


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:45 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:03 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Toronto, Canada
Jono_Cow wrote:
Hi Craig, I don't know if this will help, but the following example works for me.

Code:
<img alt="Image from [url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/pbogs/446901278/]IMG_0839[/url] by Bo Gordy-Stith. [url=http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/]License.[/url]" src="images/stories/teaser/IMG_0839_CC-BY-SA_PBoGS_450x260.jpg" width="450" height="260" />

Hope it helps,

- Jono


Thank you Jono. Actually I found my solution: In the plugin configurations I had to choose "always" in the "parse tags" selection box. This was in the usage instructions on the plugin home page, but it took me a while to figure it out. Anyway it's working now.
;D

_________________
Craig
http://mindfulnessangermanagement.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am
Posts: 14
He, he. That rings a bell for me too. No worries, glad it's working!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:55 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
Good to see you have found the solution by yourself. :)

The parameter Parse tags can be set to
  • Always
  • Never
  • Only for following images, if you want to limit the use of tags to certain images (= images with certain classes).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:18 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Peru
Hello, I have been using EIC for months without any problems... suddenly it started giving me double output for each image (one caption above the other)...
any solutions?
thanks,
Peter in Peru


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
Are you using the latest EasyImageCaption version 0.49beta3? If not, please update (note that your parameter settings will get lost upon uninstalling; if you are using v0.3 or older you may have to change some CSS declarations).

If that does not help, please post a link, so I can see the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:18 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Peru
Hi,
I tinkered a bit more and solved the problem.
The images were inside an article, and the article was inside a slider (faqsliders); As soon as I removed a certain option within faqsliders (not allowing to process plug-ins), the problem disappeared.
Thank you and best regards,
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:29 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Hannover, Germany
Hello LearningByDoing!

EIC works great! Thanks for allowing BBcode-like formatting, that truely rocks. 8)

Now I have three more suggestions. They do not address technical problems. I rather request these functions to publish pictures in a legally safe way. Don't want to get a lawsuit which happens all the the time with photos in germany. Stichwort: Abmahnindustrie ;)

RSS/Newsfeed compatibilty
The captions won't show up in my site's RSS-feed. But for legal reasons they better should.

Target in Hyperlinks
Would be great to select "blank", so that links in captions open a new browser window/tab when clicked.

Link-Titles
This is useful to display legally relevant nfo like "External Link: Photographer's homepage", where "external link" creates a distancing between my website and the photopragphers homepage.

Would you also find these features useful? Can you add them?

Thanks and best wishes!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 2:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
The target and link titles features should not be too difficult to implement.

I'm not sure about the RSS. I understand the legal problems, but I don't know if/how plugins are applied to RSS output. I would have to check that first.

So, yes, I CAN add these features. And I probably will. But don't ask me when... ;)


PS. Du kannst mir auch ruhig auf deutsch schreiben. Macht es mir auch leichter zu antworten.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Hannover, Germany
LearningByDoing wrote:
So, yes, I CAN add these features. And I probably will. But don't ask me when... ;)


Brillant! 8) So, when... :geek: ???

Quote:
Du kannst mir auch ruhig auf deutsch schreiben.


Prima! Hatte nur befürchtet, dass die die anderen hier verschrecken könnte. Ist ja alles sehr international ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:32 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:44 pm
Posts: 2
Using .49beta3, I've run into a problem in using your extension with Akeeba backup. Here's the 'story'. Since this was a planned migration instead of a 'uh oh' restoration, I've had plenty of time to try to sort things out before making the actual switch for the outside world:

1. Backup site using Akeeba Backup.
2. Restore site on new host.
3. Most links will lead to instead of the article simply the text "Object ID #xxx" where XXX is the actual object ID of the article. Backend shows all articles are there, they just dont display.
4. Disable the EasyImageCaption plugin, refresh and all is well with the world. Reenable (make sure if cache is on to flush, otherwise YMMV due to the cache of course), and you're back to your Object ID problem.

Now obviously, this could be an issue with either your plugin OR Akeeba Backup, and I'm posting this in both respective forums and certainly not name calling in the meantime - both are high quality extensions. :)

My question is, have you seen this happen before under this or other circumstances? If so, is there a 'fix' for it that retains use of EIC on the new server? We kinda like our captions. :)

Thanks!

Diamond187


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:42 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 3:31 am
Posts: 5
Hi everyone, i have a question, is it posible to remplace determined text in the caption, i use jce and the alternate text is created with the image name, but the image name, mandatory must have ''_'' or ''-'' in the name, of course because it maus have spaces in the file name, like ''anibal-fernandez.jpg'' i would like that to convert to ''Anibal Fernandez'' the capitals i do by css, but i dont know how to remplace those characters....

wait for your answer!
saludos!!!
carlos


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
@diamond187:
I have used Akeeba a lot, but I've never come across this issue. Have you tried to uninstall EasyImageCaption (EIC) and install it again?

This error is surprising, because EIC only affects the HTML output, but does not change any links or do anything "critical".

I have just read your post regarding this issue in the Akeeba forum. But their response doesn't help, because EIC neither stores absolute paths nor does it have problems with PHP 5.2/5.3. In contrast, it requires PHP 5.2 at least (so be sure to have this on your new server).

@sosh2005:
Right now there isn't such functionality. It could be added of course, but the problem is that you wouldn't be able to have captions containing these characters ( _ - ) anymore, because they would always be replaced with [SPACE].

If you need this feature now, please open the file "plugins/content/easyimagecaption.php" and insert the following code in line 305:
Code:
$this->caption_text = str_replace(array('-', '_'), ' ', $this->caption_text);

This replaces hyphen ( - ) and underscore ( _ ) with a blank space.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:40 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 13
I have installed version v0.49beta3. Also I use the JCE Editor. In regular articles, I am having a problem where borders are assigned via JCE. Those images will not display the caption. If I turn the borders off the captions work fine. Is there any way possible to have both borders and captions?

PS: I have left all of the EIC plug-in options set at their default values.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:47 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
I'll have a look into it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
@b4pjoe: Your problem had actually been two problems:
1. there was a bug in the width calculation
2. the plugin never handled image borders at all

The new version 0.5 that has been relesed minutes ago, should solve these problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:17 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 13
Works great now. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 10
This Plugin breaks my site, no articles display only the word "object". Any idea why? I had it working on my localhost, so I am thinking it's a compatibility issue with my live server.

Joomla 1.5.23
PHP 5.1.6 (PHP built on Linux plesk3)
MySql version 5.0.77

Attachment:
screen.jpg


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Germany
EasyImageCaption requires PHP 5.2+. Sorry.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group