EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:01 am

@FluidDruid23:
That's strange.

Looking at the overall number of your forum posts I assume you aren't a Joomla newbie. So I guess you have
  • downloaded the latest EasyImageCaption (EIC) version
  • installed it correctly
  • and haven't forgotten to enable the plugin!?
;)

There are options to exclude images from "captionizing" in the plugin's parameters. Maybe you have set these wrong (if that's the case, it is probably due to my bad English descriptions).

Are the images embedded in regular article content or is this text some kind of module or a special component? EIC only works on article content (some modules apply plugins as well).

Does this happen to all of your images, or does EIC work on other pages?

User avatar
FluidDruid23
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:36 pm
Contact:

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby FluidDruid23 » Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:08 pm

Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me.

Firstly, I've been using Joomla now for several years, so I've done the items in your list. :)

I've got nothing set to exclude/include, so everything should show. I've added the Javascript code in the template's index.php file, to stop that from working.

The images are in normal articles, however I have tweaked the HTML/PHP a little. I've got a template override, which changes the component/com_content/views/article/tmpl/default.php as follows...

Line 124 or so originally is:

Code: Select all

<?php if (isset ($this->article->toc)) : ?>
   <?php echo $this->article->toc; ?>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php echo $this->article->text; ?>


In the template override it's now:

Code: Select all

<div class="article-content">
<?php if (isset ($this->article->toc)) : ?>
   <?php echo $this->article->toc; ?>
<?php endif; ?>
</div>

<div class="introtext">
   <?php echo JFilterOutput::ampReplace($this->article->introtext); ?>
</div>

<?php if (!empty ($this->article->fulltext)) : ?>
<div class="fulltext">

   <?php echo JFilterOutput::ampReplace($this->article->fulltext); ?>

</div>
<?php endif; ?>


Might that be what's causing the issues?

Thanks,
Matt
purpleplanet - Software Solutions :: Custom Joomla Development at http://www.purpleplanet.com :: Free Quotes, Excellent Fresh Designs :: 10% Discount When You Quote "JoomForum09"

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:57 pm

Yes, that is the problem.

In my plugin I am only working with the complete html of the article, "$this->article->text". You are using the two parts "$this->article->introtext" and "$this->article->fulltext" instead, which my plugin unfortunately doesn't alter.

I have to admit that I haven't thought that out when writing the code initially. So this problem is on my list for the next update, but I can't tell when this update will happen. And I have no idea of a temporary workaround for you, if you need the two parts of the article seperated in two DIVs. Sorry. :( Maybe you have to get back to Joomla's "caption.js" for the moment.

I could send you a PM when an updated version of EasyImageCaption is available if you like.

User avatar
FluidDruid23
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:36 pm
Contact:

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby FluidDruid23 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:29 am

OK, at least we've pinned it down!

I need them to be separate, so I can properly style the introtext on each article.

Über eine Nachricht würde ich mich sehr freuen! :)

Vielen Dank,
Matt
purpleplanet - Software Solutions :: Custom Joomla Development at http://www.purpleplanet.com :: Free Quotes, Excellent Fresh Designs :: 10% Discount When You Quote "JoomForum09"

Hawkfan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby Hawkfan » Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:40 pm

I just install easyimagecaption and receiving the following notices on virtually every page that has an image:
Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$sectionid in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 251

Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$sectionid in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 251

Notice: Undefined property: stdClass::$sectionid in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 251

Notice: Undefined variable: margin_is_set in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\main\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 668

Am I missing something in the plugin setup? (Using IE7)

Thanks

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:59 pm

Strange. I haven't seen that kind of error before. What version of Joomla are you using? Is this 1.6 already? If that is the case, it looks like EasyImageCaption is not working there. I haven't tested Joomla 1.6 at all yet.

Jono_Cow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby Jono_Cow » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:05 am

Hello Learningbydoing,

Thanks for the neat plugin!

Unfortunately I'm having a bit of a problem with it. Here are the errors I'm receiving when using the plugin:

Code: Select all

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 89

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 92

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 95

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 101

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 104

Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in C:\[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 121

Notice: Undefined variable: margin_is_set in C:[PATH]\plugins\content\easyimagecaption.php on line 668


The plugin itself seems to be working great, in terms of it's output... it's just these error messages. Any thoughts?

Using latest version downloaded from your site, developing in WAMP with PHP 5.3.0.

Thanks mate!

- Jono Cowdery

Jono_Cow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby Jono_Cow » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:01 pm

Hey again Learningbydoing,

I removed the deprecated error by replacing split() with explode(). Is that a valid fix?

I also commented out the line giving the undefined variable error. This made the error disappear, and it all seems to be working quite ok... any thoughts?

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:38 am

@Jono_Cow:
The reason you are getting these errors is your PHP warning level. As you already mentioned, the code itself works properly.

The "split()" function is deprecated in PHP 5.3. Please replace it by "preg_split()" - that should do it. The "explode()" function is not able to work with regular expressions, so this won't work (although it might look like it does in your case).

To get rid of the "Undefined variable" error, please don't comment out lines, but insert the following line at line 616 (before "$image = $pimage;"):

Code: Select all

$margin_is_set = false;

Of course, I will add these things myself in the next version of my plugin. I just haven't had the time for working on an update yet.

Jono_Cow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby Jono_Cow » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:45 am

Thanks so much for the help, LearningByDoing! Very helpful indeed. I'll implement those changes.

Done... and working beautifully. Thanks.

fifthhouse
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:03 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Have not been able to get URL function to work in captions

Postby fifthhouse » Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:07 pm

Hello there. I love your EasyImageCaption plugin ( http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 05/details), for getting captions under my images, but so far have not been able to get the url to work. When I paste in (see screenshot for the code) using either the title or alt option, the front end display of the caption is exactly the same as the code I input.

There is no link, just the exact same text.

I've tried every option I can think of in the plugin settings but nothing has worked, so far...

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Jono_Cow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby Jono_Cow » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:15 pm

Hi Craig, I don't know if this will help, but the following example works for me.

Code: Select all

<img alt="Image from [url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/pbogs/446901278/]IMG_0839[/url] by Bo Gordy-Stith. [url=http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/]License.[/url]" src="images/stories/teaser/IMG_0839_CC-BY-SA_PBoGS_450x260.jpg" width="450" height="260" />

Hope it helps,

- Jono

fifthhouse
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:03 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby fifthhouse » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:45 pm

Jono_Cow wrote:Hi Craig, I don't know if this will help, but the following example works for me.

Code: Select all

<img alt="Image from [url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/pbogs/446901278/]IMG_0839[/url] by Bo Gordy-Stith. [url=http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/]License.[/url]" src="images/stories/teaser/IMG_0839_CC-BY-SA_PBoGS_450x260.jpg" width="450" height="260" />

Hope it helps,

- Jono


Thank you Jono. Actually I found my solution: In the plugin configurations I had to choose "always" in the "parse tags" selection box. This was in the usage instructions on the plugin home page, but it took me a while to figure it out. Anyway it's working now.
;D

Jono_Cow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:02 am

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby Jono_Cow » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:09 pm

He, he. That rings a bell for me too. No worries, glad it's working!

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:55 am

Good to see you have found the solution by yourself. :)

The parameter Parse tags can be set to
  • Always
  • Never
  • Only for following images, if you want to limit the use of tags to certain images (= images with certain classes).

User avatar
psalamon
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:18 pm
Location: Peru
Contact:

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby psalamon » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:35 pm

Hello, I have been using EIC for months without any problems... suddenly it started giving me double output for each image (one caption above the other)...
any solutions?
thanks,
Peter in Peru

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:32 pm

Are you using the latest EasyImageCaption version 0.49beta3? If not, please update (note that your parameter settings will get lost upon uninstalling; if you are using v0.3 or older you may have to change some CSS declarations).

If that does not help, please post a link, so I can see the problem.

User avatar
psalamon
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:18 pm
Location: Peru
Contact:

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby psalamon » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:52 pm

Hi,
I tinkered a bit more and solved the problem.
The images were inside an article, and the article was inside a slider (faqsliders); As soon as I removed a certain option within faqsliders (not allowing to process plug-ins), the problem disappeared.
Thank you and best regards,
Peter

floriansilberhochzeit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby floriansilberhochzeit » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:29 am

Hello LearningByDoing!

EIC works great! Thanks for allowing BBcode-like formatting, that truely rocks. 8)

Now I have three more suggestions. They do not address technical problems. I rather request these functions to publish pictures in a legally safe way. Don't want to get a lawsuit which happens all the the time with photos in germany. Stichwort: Abmahnindustrie ;)

RSS/Newsfeed compatibilty
The captions won't show up in my site's RSS-feed. But for legal reasons they better should.

Target in Hyperlinks
Would be great to select "blank", so that links in captions open a new browser window/tab when clicked.

Link-Titles
This is useful to display legally relevant nfo like "External Link: Photographer's homepage", where "external link" creates a distancing between my website and the photopragphers homepage.

Would you also find these features useful? Can you add them?

Thanks and best wishes!

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Sat Jan 15, 2011 2:00 pm

The target and link titles features should not be too difficult to implement.

I'm not sure about the RSS. I understand the legal problems, but I don't know if/how plugins are applied to RSS output. I would have to check that first.

So, yes, I CAN add these features. And I probably will. But don't ask me when... ;)


PS. Du kannst mir auch ruhig auf deutsch schreiben. Macht es mir auch leichter zu antworten.

floriansilberhochzeit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby floriansilberhochzeit » Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:46 pm

LearningByDoing wrote:So, yes, I CAN add these features. And I probably will. But don't ask me when... ;)


Brillant! 8) So, when... :geek: ???

Du kannst mir auch ruhig auf deutsch schreiben.


Prima! Hatte nur befürchtet, dass die die anderen hier verschrecken könnte. Ist ja alles sehr international ;)

diamond187
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:44 pm

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby diamond187 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:32 pm

Using .49beta3, I've run into a problem in using your extension with Akeeba backup. Here's the 'story'. Since this was a planned migration instead of a 'uh oh' restoration, I've had plenty of time to try to sort things out before making the actual switch for the outside world:

1. Backup site using Akeeba Backup.
2. Restore site on new host.
3. Most links will lead to instead of the article simply the text "Object ID #xxx" where XXX is the actual object ID of the article. Backend shows all articles are there, they just dont display.
4. Disable the EasyImageCaption plugin, refresh and all is well with the world. Reenable (make sure if cache is on to flush, otherwise YMMV due to the cache of course), and you're back to your Object ID problem.

Now obviously, this could be an issue with either your plugin OR Akeeba Backup, and I'm posting this in both respective forums and certainly not name calling in the meantime - both are high quality extensions. :)

My question is, have you seen this happen before under this or other circumstances? If so, is there a 'fix' for it that retains use of EIC on the new server? We kinda like our captions. :)

Thanks!

Diamond187

sosh2005
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 3:31 am

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby sosh2005 » Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:42 pm

Hi everyone, i have a question, is it posible to remplace determined text in the caption, i use jce and the alternate text is created with the image name, but the image name, mandatory must have ''_'' or ''-'' in the name, of course because it maus have spaces in the file name, like ''anibal-fernandez.jpg'' i would like that to convert to ''Anibal Fernandez'' the capitals i do by css, but i dont know how to remplace those characters....

wait for your answer!
saludos!!!
carlos

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:24 pm

@diamond187:
I have used Akeeba a lot, but I've never come across this issue. Have you tried to uninstall EasyImageCaption (EIC) and install it again?

This error is surprising, because EIC only affects the HTML output, but does not change any links or do anything "critical".

I have just read your post regarding this issue in the Akeeba forum. But their response doesn't help, because EIC neither stores absolute paths nor does it have problems with PHP 5.2/5.3. In contrast, it requires PHP 5.2 at least (so be sure to have this on your new server).

@sosh2005:
Right now there isn't such functionality. It could be added of course, but the problem is that you wouldn't be able to have captions containing these characters ( _ - ) anymore, because they would always be replaced with [SPACE].

If you need this feature now, please open the file "plugins/content/easyimagecaption.php" and insert the following code in line 305:

Code: Select all

$this->caption_text = str_replace(array('-', '_'), ' ', $this->caption_text);

This replaces hyphen ( - ) and underscore ( _ ) with a blank space.

b4pjoe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby b4pjoe » Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:40 pm

I have installed version v0.49beta3. Also I use the JCE Editor. In regular articles, I am having a problem where borders are assigned via JCE. Those images will not display the caption. If I turn the borders off the captions work fine. Is there any way possible to have both borders and captions?

PS: I have left all of the EIC plug-in options set at their default values.

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:47 am

I'll have a look into it.

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:33 pm

@b4pjoe: Your problem had actually been two problems:
1. there was a bug in the width calculation
2. the plugin never handled image borders at all

The new version 0.5 that has been relesed minutes ago, should solve these problems.

b4pjoe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby b4pjoe » Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:17 pm

Works great now. Thanks.

angiescool
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:31 pm

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby angiescool » Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:08 pm

This Plugin breaks my site, no articles display only the word "object". Any idea why? I had it working on my localhost, so I am thinking it's a compatibility issue with my live server.

Joomla 1.5.23
PHP 5.1.6 (PHP built on Linux plesk3)
MySql version 5.0.77

screen.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

LearningByDoing
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: EasyImageCaption plugin: Bugs and features

Postby LearningByDoing » Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:44 am

EasyImageCaption requires PHP 5.2+. Sorry.


Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests