The Joomla! Forum ™





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:21 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: Malaysia
My site has 2 language which is english and farsi and each language a template.

How do I only show content / menu / news in respective language and hide if translation is missing. (not just hiding the content buy also title, basically the persian user won't know the news or content that did not translate into persian.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:06 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: Malaysia
anyone can help me? let me simplify the story again.

How to publish content with respective language only?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:14 pm
Posts: 2902
Location: Stockholm
I´m looking for a solution to this as well...

Right now I have Swedish, finnish, english, chinees and a few more on the site and I would like the content relevant to english users to be shown only when english language is choosen!

Any one?

_________________
- Det bästa sättet att lära sig på är att göra det själv!
- Markus Thiel
http://www.homeofsweden.se
http://www.mittyrke.se


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:54 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 33
Anyone, please?

I also running multilingual news and information site with English, Spanish and French. Default language is English. When there is no translation, I want to display only available translations in Spanish and French.

Looking forward to this solved.

Cheers,

UB Mongolia


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:56 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Posts: 1636
Location: Munich, Germany
Hi folks,

what about reading the Joom!Fish manual / wiki?

http://forge.joomla.org/sf/wiki/do/view ... i/HomePage

There you find a point on how to use language dependend menus (which relates to content), images and so on.

;-)

Alex

_________________
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:31 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: Malaysia
The problem is not with the menu, but with the content. It's true the menu will lead to content, but to further separate the content according to language is what I want.

Say, a site is multilingual with English, Swedish, and Chinese. Each Language has its own menu, which is not a problem. Some content is shared between languages but not translated to all 3 languages. Say, a news regarding to google setup an office in China. The news only available in Chinese, no problem to publish in Chinese Language. But English and Swedish will show (1)original news with Chinese text; or (2)default text; depends on option. But I want a third option, which the Chinese text news do not show up at all in English and Swedish language. And the English and Swedish user shouldn't know there's such news, but Joomfish doesn't has the translation, it is not nice to show the user default text. How to completely remove this news from English and Swedish users?

After 1 week of searching the answer, I believe the only way to achieve the result is to do a little hacking.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:23 pm
Posts: 558
Location: Gogledd Cymru
Justin

The problem with what you want to achieve is that Joomfish is given material to translate and know nothing of what the component will do with the material afterwards.  Joomfish cannot just 'delete' or not deliever the material since this may mess up the logic in the component. 

For example a component could "deliver" Joomfish 11 items to translate - if Joomfish only returns 8 translations the component may try to display or process the missing 3 and the website could crash.

The only way to achieve what you want, that can think of, is for Joomfish to add a flag to a missing translation to say "ignore if possible" and for the component to have the logic to deal with such a flag.  This is unlikely, in my opinion, prior to Joomfish becoming part of the Joomla core codebase.

Geraint


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:11 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:14 pm
Posts: 2902
Location: Stockholm
Why dont you just make one template for each language and copy the modules used... one for each language.. and place them in diffrent positions... ok I know.. a bit more work but that should solve it.. right?  ???

_________________
- Det bästa sättet att lära sig på är att göra det själv!
- Markus Thiel
http://www.homeofsweden.se
http://www.mittyrke.se


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:04 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: Malaysia
:( Okay. Seems like Joomfish at this moment couldn't help. Dual template and two set of modules method defeat the purpose of using joomfish having central control of content, now even the content have to duplicate, like semi-dual-site.

Anyway, thanks to Geraint and Mackelito and the rest who tried to help me with this problem. THANKS  ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Posts: 1636
Location: Munich, Germany
Hi,

I don't get this. If you look at http://www.unric.org - they are running a site with 13 different languages. Sometimes the same content, sometimes different content.

May be you try again to explain your problem/intention and we try to find the solution.

Alex -- Can't think about any circumstances when the Fish does not provide a solution for multilingual issues

_________________
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:14 pm
Posts: 2902
Location: Stockholm
akede wrote:
I don't get this. If you look at http://www.unric.org - they are running a site with 13 different languages. Sometimes the same content, sometimes different content.


Well how do they do that?  :laugh:

_________________
- Det bästa sättet att lära sig på är att göra det själv!
- Markus Thiel
http://www.homeofsweden.se
http://www.mittyrke.se


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:07 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Posts: 1636
Location: Munich, Germany
Do what? The management - with the Fish!

Alex

PS: It helps if you be a bit more preciese with your questions, then we can also be more precise in our answeres >:-)

_________________
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:50 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: Malaysia
OK. Very simple. browse to www.unric.org, click on latest news, then click on any news from the list, change the language from the language drop down box. You'll see there's no translation for news, they only translates the static content, and some modules change in left and right column as the language changed.

Now back to my problem. Say in www.unric.org again, now since the news only available in English version, it's good if the English is selected, user can read the news in English. But I don't want to show the news if the user switch to other language beside English. The desire result should be a blank list if user click on the 'latest news' while no news where translated.

This might seems ridiculous if you say what's wrong to show people the original English language news or just show the default text. But I want to be sensitive to my user, say an Arabian who can't read English at all. The Arabian should view the site only in full Arabic, not a single English word, the English news definitely is a no no to appear in his screen. Further more, English is RTL but Arabic is LTR, It's a mess to mix these two language in the presentation.

As Geraint said, one solution that might work is for Joomfish to add a flag to a missing translation, or return a null value, then the Joomla component will ignore the missing translation and not showing it on screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Posts: 1636
Location: Munich, Germany
Ok,

what they did is a bit like what you say.

UN translated plenty of sites where the content is excatly the same and just translated. This applies e.g. for all main links in the top such as http://www.unric.org/__Peace_and_Security.html.

With the news they have used a diferent strategy. The 13 editors write their news only in their language. So you have news in English and other news in German or Spanish or what ever. There they do not use translations as they the news in a certain language mean a kind of regional interest as well.

This is solved thru the connection that they use different categories for each language. Meaning they have News-English, News-German ... as categories below a section News.

This is excatly what you describe what your wish is. They do not show the German news if you browse the English site. Organized and controled is this thru the mod_mainmenu_ml and a special template they use.

There is only one issue which affects you as a admin - if you have news that you want to be common later and translate it to all your languages you might need to move them to a different category and show them thru a more general link.

I hope this helped a bit. We are always looking into those issues - mostly it means we need to optimize our documentions in order to make those things more easy to understand.

Cheers

Alex

_________________
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:46 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:53 am
Posts: 3
Any solution to this old problem that i`m interested in too???


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group