The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:25 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 6
I have made a new template with Artisteer. On the template I created a menubar with dropdown menu, but i cant create any "sub menues" that drop down.

Any one that could help a lost novice?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:17 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:51 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Arkansas
I have the same issue If you are able to resolve it, I would really like to know. And I am working on it as we speak so vice versa if I find a solution!

_________________
Justin
http://www.freetemplatenation.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 334
Make sure that in in your main_menu module parameters, "always show submenu items" is set to "yes"

_________________
www.tarawebdesigns.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:48 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:51 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Arkansas
Thanks, that's what It was for me. I thought I checked that already but I must have selected the wrong menu module.

_________________
Justin
http://www.freetemplatenation.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:34 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:15 pm
Posts: 7
Hi guys, I have the same problem. I've created a template with Artisteer 2 for my website, and have set the parameter in the main menu module, and the links that are suppose to drop down any time the mouse is over the TUTORIAL link, and it does not. :'( Anyone know what the problem is?... what are my options?...

here is the url: http://online.mechtadesign.com

please excuse the mess, it's still a work of progress...

thank you in advance.

-Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:07 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 334
MechtaDesign wrote:
Hi guys, I have the same problem. I've created a template with Artisteer 2 for my website, and have set the parameter in the main menu module, and the links that are suppose to drop down any time the mouse is over the TUTORIAL link, and it does not. :'( Anyone know what the problem is?... what are my options?...

here is the url: http://online.mechtadesign.com

please excuse the mess, it's still a work of progress...

thank you in advance.

-Alex

Make sure, when making template in Artisteer, select dropdown submenu option - it's easy to overlook.

_________________
www.tarawebdesigns.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:15 pm
Posts: 7
audraoc wrote:
MechtaDesign wrote:
Hi guys, I have the same problem. I've created a template with Artisteer 2 for my website, and have set the parameter in the main menu module, and the links that are suppose to drop down any time the mouse is over the TUTORIAL link, and it does not. :'( Anyone know what the problem is?... what are my options?...

here is the url: http://online.mechtadesign.com

please excuse the mess, it's still a work of progress...

thank you in advance.

-Alex

Make sure, when making template in Artisteer, select dropdown submenu option - it's easy to overlook.


I don't understand, where do I select the drop down sub menu option... :eek:

This is what I did, Menu > Top Menu > New (Articles) > Category > Category Blog Layout

created file: Joomla Tutorials

Parameters Basic: Selected Category > FAQ/General
Selected the parent item: in my case would be Tutorials link in the top menu.

and saved it.

Now, when it brings me back to Menu Item Manager: [topmenu]

I can see it as a sub link to the tutorials link... but when I on the front page, nothing happens... can you guide me in the right direction please...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 334
I meant WHILE CREATING TEMPLATE IN ARTISTEER you have to choose submenu dropdown option. You have to come back to Artisteer and make sure that you did that.

_________________
www.tarawebdesigns.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:15 pm
Posts: 7
OMG! I just got it.... lol...

Module Manager > Top Menu

Position: User 3
Menu name: topmenu
Menu Style: list
Always show sub-menu items: yes

http://online.mechtadesign.com

thank you so much!....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:33 pm
Posts: 1
I had the same issue with a custom template from using my Artisteer template. Of course, I was checking Joomla forums first, and it said to set the End Level of the module (for whatever menu), to "1". I had everything else set correctly, and it never worked. After reading this thread, I realized that no one set that. So I set it back to "0", and all was good. I hope this helps someone.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:41 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:28 pm
Posts: 28
Re-posted under Administration


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:25 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 2
:-[ Nice topic....

None of these solutions worked for me. Going with Artisteer feels like it was a mistake. :-\ The CSS is quite complicated, and there are no tutorial resources for the code itself within the program or at their site home.

I tried every possible configuration of the top menu module possible. List view, always show.... Toggled expand, parent, .... I basically spent an hour toggling and de-toggling everything and then a bunch of time trying to comb through and adjust the CSS with no luck....

If anyone can dig out/identify/post? the portion of the CSS which works with the top suckerfish drop-down effect, I would greatly appreciate it. Surely, it is somewhere within the below block of code:

Code:
/* begin Menu */
/* menu structure */

.artmenu a, .artmenu a:link, .artmenu a:visited, .artmenu a:hover
{
  text-align:left;
  text-decoration:none;
  outline:none;
  letter-spacing:normal;
  word-spacing:normal;
}

.artmenu, .artmenu ul
{
  margin: 0;
  padding: 0;
  border: 0;
  list-style-type: none;
  display: block;
}

.artmenu li
{
  margin: 0;
  padding: 0;
  border: 0;
  display: block;
  float: left;
  position: relative;
  z-index: 5;
  background:none;
}

.artmenu li:hover
{
  z-index: 10000;
  white-space: normal;
}

.artmenu li li
{
  float: none;
}

.artmenu ul
{
  visibility: hidden;
  position: absolute;
  z-index: 10;
  left: 0;
  top: 0;
  background:none;
}

.artmenu li:hover>ul
{
  visibility: visible;
  top: 100%;
}

.artmenu li li:hover>ul
{
  top: 0;
  left: 100%;
}

.artmenu:after, .artmenu ul:after
{
  content: ".";
  height: 0;
  display: block;
  visibility: hidden;
  overflow: hidden;
  clear: both;
}
.artmenu, .artmenu ul
{
  min-height: 0;
}

.artmenu ul
{
  background-image: url(../images/spacer.gif);
  padding: 10px 30px 30px 30px;
  margin: -10px 0 0 -30px;
}

.artmenu ul ul
{
  padding: 30px 30px 30px 10px;
  margin: -30px 0 0 -10px;
}


/* menu structure */

.nav
{
  position: relative;
  margin: 0  auto;
  width: 874px;
  height: 41px;
  z-index: 100;
}

.artmenu
{
  padding: 12px 6px 0px 6px;
}


.nav .l, .nav .r, .nav .r div
{
  top: 0;
  position: absolute;
  z-index: -1;
  overflow: hidden;
  height: 41px;
}

.nav .l
{
  left: 0;
  right: 0px;
}


.nav .r
{
  right: 0;
  width: 0px;
}


.nav .r div
{
  width: 874px;
  right: 0;
}


.nav .l, .nav .r div
{
  background-position: left top;
  background-repeat: no-repeat;
  background-image: url('../images/nav.png');
}

/* end Menu */

/* begin MenuItem */
.artmenu ul li
{
  clear: both;
}

.artmenu a , .artmenu a span
{
  height: 29px;
  display: block;
}


.artmenu a
{
  cursor: pointer;
  text-decoration: none;
  margin-right: 2px;
  margin-left: 2px;

}
.artmenu a
{
  background-image: url('../images/item-left.png');
  background-position: left top;
  background-repeat: no-repeat;
}

.artmenu a span
{
  background-image: url('../images/item-right.png');
  background-position: right top;
  background-repeat: no-repeat;
}
.artmenu a span span
{
  font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Sans-Serif;
  font-size: 12px;
  font-style: normal;
  font-weight: normal;
  color: #DDDEDF;
  padding: 0 19px;
  margin: 0 7px;
  line-height: 29px;
  text-align: center;
  background-image: url('../images/item-center.png');
  background-position: left top;
  background-repeat: repeat-x;

}


.artmenu a:hover
{
  background-position: left -29px;
}

.artmenu li:hover>a
{
  background-position: left -29px;
}
.artmenu li:hover a span
{
  background-position: right -29px;
}

.artmenu a:hover span
{
  background-position: right -29px;
}


.artmenu a:hover span span
{
  color: #232424;
  background-position: left -29px;
}

.artmenu li:hover a span span
{
  color: #232424;
  background-position: left -29px;
}


.artmenu a.active
{
  background-position: left -58px;
}

.artmenu a.active span
{
  background-position: right -58px;
}

.artmenu a.active span span
{
  color: #111212;
  background-position: left -58px;
}

/* end MenuItem */



Now, I actually tried taking code (below) from a theme whose drop-down menus, according to Artisteer, work. This resulted in the menu's becoming non-graphical and vertical. Still no drop-down. Of course, I tried manipulating the code below because the targets and image names are different. :geek: Of course, it didn't work. Perhaps because I thought that the code might help, though:

Code:
/* begin Menu */
/* menu structure */

.art-menu a, .art-menu a:link, .art-menu a:visited, .art-menu a:hover
{
  text-align: left;
  text-decoration: none;
  outline: none;
  letter-spacing: normal;
  word-spacing: normal;
}

.art-menu, .art-menu ul
{
  margin: 0;
  padding: 0;
  border: 0;
  list-style-type: none;
  display: block;
}

.art-menu li
{
  margin: 0;
  padding: 0;
  border: 0;
  display: block;
  float: left;
  position: relative;
  z-index: 5;
  background: none;
}

.art-menu li:hover
{
  z-index: 10000;
  white-space: normal;
}

.art-menu li li
{
  float: none;
}

.art-menu ul
{
  visibility: hidden;
  position: absolute;
  z-index: 10;
  left: 0;
  top: 0;
  background: none;
}

.art-menu li:hover>ul
{
  visibility: visible;
  top: 100%;
}

.art-menu li li:hover>ul
{
  top: 0;
  left: 100%;
}

.art-menu:after, .art-menu ul:after
{
  content: ".";
  height: 0;
  display: block;
  visibility: hidden;
  overflow: hidden;
  clear: both;
}
.art-menu, .art-menu ul
{
  min-height: 0;
}

.art-menu ul
{
  background-image: url(../images/spacer.gif);
  padding: 10px 30px 30px 30px;
  margin: -10px 0 0 -30px;
}

.art-menu ul ul
{
  padding: 30px 30px 30px 10px;
  margin: -30px 0 0 -10px;
}




/* menu structure */

.art-menu
{
  padding: 12px 6px 0 6px;
}

.art-nav
{
  position: relative;
  height: 41px;
  z-index: 100;
}

.art-nav .l, .art-nav .r
{
  position: absolute;
  z-index: -1;
  top: 0;
  height: 41px;
  background-image: url('../images/nav.png');
}

.art-nav .l
{
  left: 0;
  right: 0;
}

.art-nav .r
{
  right: 0;
  width: 874px;
  clip: rect(auto, auto, auto, 874px);
}


/* end Menu */

/* begin MenuItem */
.art-menu a
{
  position: relative;
  display: block;
  overflow: hidden;
  height: 29px;
  cursor: pointer;
  text-decoration: none;
}

.art-menu li
{
  margin-right: 2px;
  margin-left: 2px;
}

.art-menu ul li
{
    margin:0;
    clear: both;
}


.art-menu a .r, .art-menu a .l
{
  position: absolute;
  display: block;
  top: 0;
  z-index: -1;
  height: 87px;
  background-image: url('../images/menuitem.png');
}

.art-menu a .l
{
  left: 0;
  right: 4px;
}

.art-menu a .r
{
  width: 408px;
  right: 0;
  clip: rect(auto, auto, auto, 404px);
}

.art-menu a .t
{
  margin-right: 10px;
  margin-left: 10px;
  color: #DDDEDF;
  padding: 0 19px;
  margin: 0 4px;
  line-height: 29px;
  text-align: center;
}

.art-menu a:hover .l, .art-menu a:hover .r
{
  top: -29px;
}

.art-menu li:hover>a .l, .art-menu li:hover>a .r
{
  top: -29px;
}

.art-menu li:hover a .l, .art-menu li:hover a .r
{
  top: -29px;
}
.art-menu a:hover .t
{
  color: #232424;
}

.art-menu li:hover a .t
{
  color: #232424;
}

.art-menu li:hover>a .t
{
  color: #232424;
}


.art-menu a.active .l, .art-menu a.active .r
{
  top: -58px;
}

.art-menu a.active .t
{
  color: #111212;
}
/* end MenuItem */

/* begin MenuSubItem */
.art-menu ul a
{
  display: block;
  text-align: center;
  white-space: nowrap;
  height: 20px;
  width: 180px;
  overflow: hidden;
  line-height: 20px;
  background-image: url('../images/subitem.png');
  background-position: left top;
  background-repeat: repeat-x;
  border-width: 0;
  border-style: solid;
}

.art-nav ul.art-menu ul span, .art-nav ul.art-menu ul span span
{
  display: inline;
  float: none;
  margin: inherit;
  padding: inherit;
  background-image: none;
  text-align: inherit;
  text-decoration: inherit;
}

.art-menu ul a, .art-menu ul a:link, .art-menu ul a:visited, .art-menu ul a:hover, .art-menu ul a:active, .art-nav ul.art-menu ul span, .art-nav ul.art-menu ul span span
{
  text-align: left;
  text-indent: 12px;
  text-decoration: none;
  line-height: 20px;
  color: #111212;
  margin-right: 10px;
  margin-left: 10px;
  margin:0;
  padding:0;
}

.art-menu ul li a:hover
{
  color: #232424;
  background-position: 0 -20px;
}

.art-menu ul li:hover>a
{
  color: #232424;
  background-position: 0 -20px;
}

.art-nav .art-menu ul li a:hover span, .art-nav .art-menu ul li a:hover span span
{
  color: #232424;
}

.art-nav .art-menu ul li:hover>a span, .art-nav .art-menu ul li:hover>a span span
{
  color: #232424;
}


/* end MenuSubItem */



Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:09 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 1:37 am
Posts: 5
Have you actually got articles under the top menu in sub-menu format? I was having this same issue this morning and everything seemed right except i only had one article in the top menu and nothing happened when hovered.
As soon as I added a second article the drop down menu started working and has been sweet since.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:09 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 2
Yes, there are multiple articles under there. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:02 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:58 pm
Posts: 1
:'( :'( :'( Spent 1.5 days up-down Artisteer/Joomla forums and no workable answer....my topmenu drop-downs still don't work.

Parameters:
Top Menu : user3
Menu Style : List
Start Level : 0
End Level : 3 (Tried numbers 0-10)
Show Sub-menu : YES

Advanced Parameters
Is there supposed to be something different here???
Menu Class Suffix : -nav (also tried art-menu)
Module Class Suffix:

I already of have multiple categories and articles with content under these sections.

In Artisteer, I did have Sub-menus selected for the Top Menu. This is evident in the CSS code for my template:
***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
/* end MenuSeparator */

/* begin MenuSubItem */
.art-menu ul a
{
display: block;
text-align: center;
white-space: nowrap;
height: 20px;
width: 240px;
overflow: hidden;
line-height: 20px;
background-image: url('../images/subitem.png');
background-position: left top;
background-repeat: repeat-x;
border-width: 1px;
border-style: solid;
border-color: #ABABAB;
}

.art-nav ul.art-menu ul span, .art-nav ul.art-menu ul span span
{
display: inline;
float: none;
margin: inherit;
padding: inherit;
background-image: none;
text-align: inherit;
text-decoration: inherit;
}

.art-menu ul a, .art-menu ul a:link, .art-menu ul a:visited, .art-menu ul a:hover, .art-menu ul a:active, .art-nav ul.art-menu ul span, .art-nav ul.art-menu ul span span
{
text-align: left;
text-indent: 12px;
text-decoration: none;
line-height: 20px;
color: #FFE01A;
margin-right: 10px;
margin-left: 10px;
font-size: 16px;
margin:0;
padding:0;
}

.art-menu ul li a:hover
{
color: #000000;
border-color: #ABABAB;
background-position: 0 -20px;
}

.art-menu ul li:hover>a
{
color: #000000;
border-color: #ABABAB;
background-position: 0 -20px;
}

.art-nav .art-menu ul li a:hover span, .art-nav .art-menu ul li a:hover span span
{
color: #000000;
}

.art-nav .art-menu ul li:hover>a span, .art-nav .art-menu ul li:hover>a span span
{
color: #000000;
}


/* end MenuSubItem */
***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****

I'm at wits end, can anybody PLEASE PLEASE help poor poor me?

Website: munilite.com/caster-wheel-catalog/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:30 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:23 pm
Posts: 2
Hi guys. I have similar problem. I'm very new for joomla and don't know many things yet. But I have been doing all of the above hoping that my main menus wud work properly.

The problem is when I create the main menu on Artisteer I create a beautiful menus but once I install the template to my website the menus become like links :( . Like on the picture below. I have tried using Artisteer 2.3 and 2.5 and on both versions I get the same result so I don't think it is the programs issue but the lack of my knowledge of joomla probably. Please can anyone help?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:47 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:40 am
Posts: 1
Hi i'm also new to joomla, and trying to get the same problem fixed. After spending hours and hours and a lot of coffee, i found the answer. Here is the link: http://www.artisteer.com/?p=help_joomla So basically in your joomla admin you have to go to modules, select your module to edit (eg: main menu) and at advanced parameters (in the left side panel) at Module class suffix you have to write art-vmenu, save it and that's it :D :D

Good luck with this :D


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:29 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:23 pm
Posts: 2
cretzoo wrote:
Hi i'm also new to joomla, and trying to get the same problem fixed. After spending hours and hours and a lot of coffee, i found the answer. Here is the link: http://www.artisteer.com/?p=help_joomla So basically in your joomla admin you have to go to modules, select your module to edit (eg: main menu) and at advanced parameters (in the left side panel) at Module class suffix you have to write art-vmenu, save it and that's it :D :D

Good luck with this :D


Wow!!! That is exactly what I wanted. Yes, I did spend tons of time trying to do it. Thank you very much for kind help ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:37 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:00 am
Posts: 8
Hey I have the similar problem as dinho_chinho; the menu i created in artisteer refuses to show. I did as cretzoo and the artisteer said but yielded no results.
does anyone have any suggestions to try ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:44 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 212
Hey people! I've had this same problem numerous times, even with all Artisteer settings set up properly. I too, keep forgetting one simple thing and have to "rediscover" the cause of it each time:

Make sure you go to the module settings for the menu (MODULE SETTINGS, not the menu settings), in JOOMLA, and that "Always show sub menu items" is set to "Yes."

If that module setting isn't changed (default is "No"), the sub-menu items will not be activated.

_________________
Don't let the number of stars fool ya! I spend most of my time in the "real world" working with and troubleshooting Joomla and the many extensions for it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group