Joomla and Survey Monkey

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
kysean
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:50 pm
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby kysean » Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:51 pm

Hi all, I was trying to embed a survey on an article page. The survey is made with Survey Monkey and it just won't work. The code disappears as soon as I click out of the html window. Any ideas on how to get it to work?

daviat
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby daviat » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:48 am

Me too . . . did you get any fix for that?

kysean
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:50 pm
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby kysean » Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:37 pm

daviat wrote:Me too . . . did you get any fix for that?

No, no one seems to know the fix for that, Sean

daviat
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby daviat » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:01 pm

Maybe there is a pop up I can get from Survey Monkey. Thanks.

fazworld
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:22 am

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby fazworld » Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:36 pm

I'm also trying to get this to work and integrate a Survey Monkey survey into a new article that will show up on my homepage. Does anyone know how to get this to work? I have the snippet of code from SM and just need to know what to do with it.

rhaf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby rhaf » Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:11 pm

I too am looking for such a solution... :(

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby Webdongle » Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:19 pm

'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

rhaf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby rhaf » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:26 pm

Hi Webdongle, thanks for your input on this subject.

Unfortunately, unlike you I am not a "master" but more of a novice when it comes to Joomla.

So I see you pointing us at "filters", but perhaps you can give some small hint as to what we need to change there?

I tried setting the text filters to "no filters" for the superuser and the administrator, but no change...

Thanks in advance for your help, you are helping many people if we go by the number of viewers of this question. ;)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby Webdongle » Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:24 pm

rhaf wrote:....
I tried setting the text filters to "no filters" for the superuser and the administrator, but no change...
...

That was the idea but obviously not the answer.

Have a look at http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... -a-include maybe something there ?
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

rhaf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby rhaf » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:08 pm

Ok I will check that out too.

I found another reference to this issue which pointed at the fact that you also need to change the content of the "prohibited items" under JCE settings in the Plugin administration section.
I took out the word "script" there and now indeed the html script code does not get whiped out when I save the article content.
But....unfortunately...the script still does not run when the page is opened....

But I feel like we are close to solving this issue... :geek: ;)

pmcgarryuk
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:25 pm

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby pmcgarryuk » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:14 pm

I will be honest and say that I have found the HTML stripping a constant nuisance.

However saying that, We use survey Monkey on several sites and so have a solution.

We set it as a Menu Item by using IFrame Wrapper.
Just use that instead of article and you can enter the web address at the side. As long as you don't use a chunky header it works really well.

If you have text or similar that you would like to use in addition to survey then just use a module.
It still feels like a compromise vs an easy button to stop stripping tags if you are an admin ( I know you can but it is never as simple as it should be.)

I hope this is handy to you!

Paul

bobbykjack
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: Joomla and Survey Monkey

Postby bobbykjack » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:51 pm

If what you're asking is "how do I embed HTML in a page", have you tried using a custom module? That will let you add whatever HTML you like and, as far as I know, not interfere with it at all.


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests