The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 5:54 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:56 am
Posts: 33
I have successfully installed Joomla! on my Godaddy shared hosting site. This is not recommended as there will be issues that have no resolution(installing third party components). I have had the most success installing an older version of Joomla!. Joomla! usually installs just fine no matter what version you use(GoDaddy's installation, 1.15, 1.0...) but the real trouble comes when you go to install components and modules. I was trying to get Virtuemart installed and could never get past the second step, always met with the "Update Log" screen. After messing with all sorts of configurations I finally settled with installing an ecommerce VirtueMart bundle version found on Virtuemarts website. First I created a php5.ini file using a standard text editor, put that in my root folder (ex. http://www.mywebsite.org/php5.ini)**See Below**. At this point there were often moments where the webserver needed to be reset so I had to go into my GoDaddy account and in the management of the IIS checked the root domain and click 'reset' (you can find a tutorial on godaddy or google). I also created a test.php file that had the <? php echo phpinfo(); ?> line in it so I could see that my changes took effect. I placed this file in the folder where my Joomla installation was to make sure that it was doing what it was supposed to be doing where it was supposed to be doing it(ex; http://www.mywebsite.org/shop/test.php). Simply navigate to that page via browser and the settings are displayed on the screen. Again if the web site goes down or the changes are not there you need to reset the IIS server. I then installed the Joomla VirtueMart bundle and followed all the instruction for that. Next I installed all the components I wanted and finally upgraded(another task in itself) to the latest versions of both VirtueMart and Joomla. In the end there were still some components that I never was able to get installed because they were not supported by the older version of either Joomla or VirtueMart or I found then after upgrading. I usually got the 500 Internal Server Error installing many larger components and modules. There are all kinds of permissions errors and timeout errors that arise when using Godaddy shared hosting because you do not have direct access to the root settings and they need some tweeking. I do this because I'm a developer and need access to multiple technologies like ASP.Net and MSSQL and php and MySql. I would not recommend this setup to anyone. If you're going to use Joomla! then you should simplify your life by using a simple Linux hosting. If you insist on a Windows hosting environment then you should take advantage of the rich and complex technologies, code your site in VS 2010, use Ajax and C# or VB, and forget that Joomla! ever existed. Below is my php5.ini file located in the root of my site.
If anyone had better fixes for this setup PLEASE post and let me know. If this helped please post and let me know that too. If it did not help i guess you should post that also and i can maybe help. Thanks! Happy Joomling!

-----------** php5.ini file located in root of web site.**-------------------------

[PHP]

rAddHandler x-httpd-php5 .php
AddHandler x-httpd-php .php4
register_globals = OFF
session.save_path = "D:\Hosting\XXXyourweb numberXXX\html\somefolder"
display_errors = ON
log_errors = On
error_log="D:\Hosting\XXXyourweb numberXXX\html\"
memory_limit = 48M
max_execution_time = 240
max_input_time = 180
post_max_size = 8M
file_uploads = On
upload_max_filesize = 256M
extension_dir = "C:\php5\ext"
upload_tmp_dir = "D:\Hosting\XXXyourweb numberXXX\html\someotherfolder"
extension=php_curl.dll
extension=php_mysql.dll
extension=php_mysqli.dll
extension=php_pdo_mysql.dll

------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The "XXXyourweb numberXXX" is a number specific to your site you can find it in the admin part of your godaddy account. 'somefolder' and 'someotherfolder' are just folders in your root that you can easily navigate to. I hope this helps anyone searching for answers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:56 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 10:04 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Redmond, WA
GoDaddy is not really the best choice I have found for doing what you are trying to do with running Joomla and ASP.NET on the same web.

You may want to try one of the hosting provider partners we have at Microsoft. We are requiring them to have both PHP and ASP.NET with MySQL and MSSQL together at once to support all of the applications in our Web Application Gallery.

Joomla is one of the applications in there. Best place to start is here. http://www.microsoft.com/web/joomla

there is a really easy installer for Joomla on your local machine using our web platform installer and a link for hosting providers that support all of the applications in our web application gallery.

hope that helps.
Mark

_________________
Mark Brown
Microsoft Web Platform Team
www.microsoft.com/web/joomla
@markjbrown


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:49 pm
Posts: 19
@cchrisgates

I used the code you provide and it seems to have increased my max_execution_time setting and made the other settings changes to php5. That's great and everything -- i.e. it seems to have worked -- but I'm still having a problem installing a component. GoDaddy gives me its 500 server error screen after a couple minutes of grinding away at trying to install sh404sef. I'm guessing GoDaddy has a setting somewhere where they limit how long I can set the max_execution_time I put in there (even though my PHP info tells me I've successfully increased it to 320. I'm guessing they don't want their servers shut down by a bunch of clowns who, like me, want to install a component that takes five minutes to install.

GoDaddy's tech support has been completely unhelpful and say it's a problem with sh404sef. (The lady's words were, "If it takes more than a minute to install, it's not working and it's not going to install." She obviously has little or no experience installing Joomla extensions. Tech support on the sh404sef forums has been of little or no help. They say its a GoDaddy problem.

If you have any ideas I'd sure appreciate hearing them.

Thanks for the php code.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:16 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:56 am
Posts: 33
The components is fine. I use it regularly...but not on Godaddy hosted sites. IIS Shared hosting is just a bad idea on GoDaddy. I have pulled my hair out trying to get templates, plugins, components, and other basically commons installs. The lady you talked to does not know what she is talking about, and GoDaddy support will not help you with this matter from my experience. What has worked for me in the past is to take the files installed from another site and copy them to my Joomla! site in the proper directories. This can work for somethings, but database tables need to be created and modified and sometimes it is just not worth it. Sorry I cannot help you further.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 4:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:49 pm
Posts: 19
I should have posted this earlier: I switched it to a Linux-based godaddy server and all works fine.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:54 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:53 am
Posts: 11
gr8rg8r wrote:
I should have posted this earlier: I switched it to a Linux-based godaddy server and all works fine.

Thank you.


What about Windows based server? I have windows GoDaddy server, till now its working fine, but stuck on another problem.

_________________
The map is not the territory. - Alfred Korzybski clonazepam side effects


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:37 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 4:39 am
Posts: 21
I wanted to throw my two cents in on this after wasting in entire weekend trying to get an extension to install on our joomla site using a windows hosting. Joomla installed just fine as well as a gantry component from Rocket Theme. I also installed two templates from Rocket Theme. However, slow, the site looked alright. I then installed another component for managing our media and teachings and the component installation kept giving me an internal error 500.
I ended up installing Joomla on another Linux hosting that we had for another site and I had the site up and running with the extension and a theme in minutes. The best part is that the site is A LOT faster than our main site where I initially tried.
I'm going to agree with the original poster that Joomla on a windows server running ASP.net and PHP just doesn't work and wouldn't waste time.
SO this isn't completly a waste of information for someone reading it. If you are running into the error 500, then it's most likely due to a timeout error on the site when trying to install the extension.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:36 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:38 am
Posts: 3
Hi, I have about 6 or 7 Joomla! websites hosted on a Linux hosting plan with Godaddy. Yesterday I switched for a Windows Hosting plan because I ll start building ASP.net websites... And now, all my Joomla! websites does'nt work anymore.. Only the Default page works, but when I click on any buttons, it shows a 404 error page...on all my sites...

-I tried to build new articles and menus(same error)
-Websites are build with Joomla 1.6 and 2.0 version.
-I switched the web.config.txt to web.config in the root directory of each sites.
-I activated the language support to php 5.3 in Godaddy control panel.

I have to idea at this point what to do...
Anyone have a suggesion?

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group