The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:53 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 3
Image

I turned off everything for the feeds, so only the links to the feed pages are displayed, but this box and the word 'Filter' remain. Anyone know how to hide that or remove it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:11 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
I don't have nything like that showing. Can you please show a fuller page view and also a screen shot of your menu settings? Is this the single newsfeed view?

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:57 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 3
You only see this box on Single Category pages, not on Feed or Category List pages. This is what remains after you uncheck all the boxes under List Layout:

Image

The same thing happens in the Single Category page for Weblinks also.

Here is the solution, if you want to remove it permanently. You have to edit /components/com_newsfeeds/views/category/tmpl/default_items.php. Remove the following lines:
Code:
<form action="<?php echo JFilterOutput::ampReplace(JFactory::getURI()->toString()); ?>" method="post" name="adminForm" id="adminForm">
   <fieldset class="filters">
   <legend class="hidelabeltxt"><?php echo JText::_('JGLOBAL_FILTER_LABEL'); ?></legend>
   <?php if ($this->params->get('show_pagination_limit')) : ?>
      <div class="display-limit">
         <?php echo JText::_('JGLOBAL_DISPLAY_NUM'); ?>&#160;
         <?php echo $this->pagination->getLimitBox(); ?>
      </div>
   <?php endif; ?>
   </fieldset>


This will you remove the Filter box entirely. You can do the same thing for Weblinks by removing the same lines from /components/com_weblinks/views/category/tmpl/default_items.php.

The problem occurs because unchecking the box for Display Select does not remove the box, only the dropdown menu inside the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
First, never edit lines like that, copy that to your template html folder and make thechanges there.
Second, I had n problem checking Hide fod Display Select and making the filter disappear although I did not get the word filter anywhere. You may need to check the options n the menu item which may be set to show instead of use global.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:41 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:43 am
Posts: 3
I tried that first. After I disabled the Filter in both the Global and the Newsfeed settings, it still didn't remove the box. Possibly it could be due to the Artisteer template I'm using, although try as I might, I couldn't find any settings in the program that could be related to that one box. I'll do as you recommend however. That way, the file doesn't get overwritten during upgrades.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:59 pm
Posts: 11
Same problem here. Joomla 2.5.4, Display Select set to hide both in the Newsfeed Manager Options and in the Menu Manager List Options, and the box is gone but the word "Filter" remains hanging out there. Any suggestions? Using a Rockettheme template.

I will try that override if I can't find it in these various settings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kdaniel171, sander_v_bergen, smsgrace, vincenzo60 and 65 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group