cant progress past step 1: choose language

Need help installing Joomla! 2.5? For all Joomla! 2.5 installation issues please use this forum. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
baggiesmad
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:10 am

cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby baggiesmad » Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:43 am

I choose United Kingdom and click next but the window just refreshes. I've even tried selecting US but I still cant move onto step 2?

What could be causing this?

Meturk
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby Meturk » Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:13 pm

I have the same problem. I've checked and the server exceeds the recommended requirements.

PHP: 5.2.13
MySQL: 5.0.91-community
Apache: 2.2.15

When I hover the mouse over the next button the link is "javascript:void(0)";

User avatar
baggiesmad
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:10 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby baggiesmad » Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:10 am

Does the server need to have Apache: 2.2.15?

We currently have 2.0.63 running on our shared hosting. Can Joomla 1.6 still run on this?

Meturk
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby Meturk » Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:32 pm

I can't view the rest of the joomla site for some reason the pages are timing out but the link to joomla 1.6 requirements is below.

http://docs.joomla.org/Joomla_1.6_techn ... quirements

mikechester
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby mikechester » Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:05 am

I had the same problem on a test PC that was not connected to the internet by design. Using Wamp under WinXP. Had it connected to internet and completely updated to latest software versions and the problem was solved.

bjabbe
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:48 pm

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby bjabbe » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:21 pm

I'm having this problem too. Trying to install on a Mac Mini Server with Snow Leopard. Can't get past step 1 and there is no indication of what might be going wrong. I try to intall 1.5 and i get up to step 4 (database) and i can't get past that step! So frustration. Need to get my website back up.

help!!

----

ok... figured out how to turn on debugger... getting this error:

TypeError: Result of expression 'document.formvalidator' [null] is not an object.

kaswardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:09 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby kaswardy » Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:41 pm

i have the same problem.

User avatar
baggiesmad
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:10 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby baggiesmad » Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:57 pm

I still cant get past step 1 of installation. I have uploaded the files several times but still no change.

step 1 just refreshes the screen???

can anyone help?

User avatar
baggiesmad
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:10 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby baggiesmad » Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:57 pm

Nearly 2 months on and I still cant get 1.6.1 to install.

I cant progress passed step 1 ???

can anyone help

kaswardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:09 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby kaswardy » Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:32 pm

vannquish wrote:Nearly 2 months on and I still cant get 1.6.1 to install.
I cant progress passed step 1 ???
can anyone help

i have been asking the same questions for the last two months.... but no one has answered yet.. or at least haven't had a solution

xp3rienc
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby xp3rienc » Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:04 pm

Hi all,

Just had the same experience today, I was trying to install a Joomla 1.6.1 packages, and could not get past step 1, same with the 1.6.0 package, but not with the 1.5.22 package.

I found out by manually putting index.php?=preinstallation in the link I come to the next page, but I didn't get past the database step.

All this was on my local webserver ( Mac OSX Server 10.6 )

I installed the same package ( 1.6.1 ) on a remote webserver running on linux, there was no problem there... Hmm, so I guess it is not the joomla package it self, but the webserver setup.

What system are you guys running ?

UPDATE:

Found the solution:

1. Go into you Server Admin
2. Click Web
3. Click Sites
4. Choose your site
5. Folder pane => Web Services
6. Disable wiki, blog and calendar

:)

kaswardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:09 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby kaswardy » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:29 pm

xp3rienc wrote:Hi all,

UPDATE:

Found the solution:

1. Go into you Server Admin
2. Click Web
3. Click Sites
4. Choose your site
5. Folder pane => Web Services
6. Disable wiki, blog and calendar

:)


where is this server admin that you talk about? Do you mean the control panel (like cpanel) for your websites?

pchen01
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby pchen01 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:46 pm

I ran into the same problem today and fixed it by running the installation using FireFox browser instead of IE. The installation was done successfully.

kaswardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:09 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby kaswardy » Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:10 pm

pchen01 wrote:I ran into the same problem today and fixed it by running the installation using FireFox browser instead of IE. The installation was done successfully.

I have tried each and every browser... doesn't work at my end unfortunately

User avatar
baggiesmad
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:10 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby baggiesmad » Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:36 am

kaswardy wrote:
pchen01 wrote:I ran into the same problem today and fixed it by running the installation using FireFox browser instead of IE. The installation was done successfully.

I have tried each and every browser... doesn't work at my end unfortunately


I've tried Opera, Chrome, IE 9, Firefox 4 (beta) & Safari and still cant install it

DC9
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:32 pm

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby DC9 » Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:31 pm

I couldn't get past Step 1 either. I changed my browser from IE to Google Chrome.
It fixed the problem.

marcl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:18 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby marcl » Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:20 am

I can't seem to find a defenitive answer to this topic. I just encountered the error trying to instal 2.5.

How did you guys reasolve your the issue?

Aash666
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:31 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby Aash666 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:53 am

same here !

i had done it before it worked perfectly but it does not now...2.5.1
it passed step 1 for my friends when i asked them too...
not for me.

i think its some computer or internet settings issue .

mitchell65
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1562
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:28 pm
Location: Cornwall

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby mitchell65 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:16 pm

Try another browser!

marcl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:18 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby marcl » Thu Mar 29, 2012 2:22 pm

I'm on windows 7, tried IE 9, FF11 and Chrome17, didn't work. Went to work the next day, WinXP, IE8 and it worked?

Came back home, tried to log into the admin page, no go. I 've been reading all the blog on both instalation and no admin back end access..still haven't found an answer that works. About ready to give up on this!

marcl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:18 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby marcl » Thu Mar 29, 2012 2:54 pm

fyi... just went through a 1.5 installation, no issues with installation, no issues with admin panel.

marcl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:18 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby marcl » Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:13 pm

lol..ok last comment from me for now..

Used jUpgrade to upgrade from 1.5 to 2.5, i disn't have any issues with the upgrade/install and the admin back end works.

marcl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:18 am

Re: cant progress past step 1: choose language

Postby marcl » Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:53 am

Randomly tried a clean 2.5 install today....nothing changed on my pc or host...but install worked and so does the admin panel...go figure.


Return to “Installation Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests