The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:34 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:40 am
Posts: 11
Hi, I just installed 1.6.3 I was trying to copy over all the content from my other site, and when I was modifying an article all of a sudden I get the error. Now I can't load the front side of joomla at all. I tried doing research, but their is nothing about this error coming up after saving an article. I had just cleared the cache prior to the error.

500 - PHP regular expression limit reached (pcre.backtrack_limit)

Can anyone help I really need this site up and running soon....I'm on a time limit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
wingmantheory wrote:
Hi, I just installed 1.6.3 I was trying to copy over all the content from my other site,....

What version was your other site ?

Perhaps delete everything on your new site and use http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ackup/1606 to move the old site ? (be aware that your new Host may have server specific code in the .htaccess)

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:40 am
Posts: 11
I'm just copying the text not the files...It was a html site before.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
So you are pasting into Articles ?

If you copy from MSword or from a website then 'Paste as plain text' is the option to use. If you open an Article up for edit then 'Toggle' the Editor then you may see extra formatting code ?

Also Google found http://www.cbulock.com/2009/12/php_and_ ... limit.html

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group