The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Please use the official Bug Tracker to report a bug: http://issues.joomla.org



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:26 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:14 pm
Posts: 2
in menu manager>menu items > ordering the buttins do not move lines up or down but conform changes


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:34 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm
Posts: 1061
Location: Burlington, NC
I'm not having this issue in the current version of the code. I can't remember if the bug report submitted already to the tracker has been closed out or not, but it had been reported previously.

_________________
http://www.babdev.com
Unsolicited PMs will be ignored
Follow me @mbabker


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 12:16 pm
Posts: 2
After clicking the "Rebuild" button (near the top right of the screen), I was able to move menu items up or down. I also noticed that the field in jos_menu is appropriately named "ordering," so you can do a manual override in a pinch. I'm not sure if the same thing could have been accomplished with the "save order" button.

_________________
KEYPOPPY Christian Resources
Earn up to $500 just for recommending your church!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:06 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Before reordering you need to sort by order. After reordering you need to click the save order button.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:54 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 1:03 am
Posts: 14
I am running J1.6.3. Ordering is not working at the menu item root level. When a new menu item is created at the root level it defaults to the last position in the root. The up button will not move it to a higher position. I tried entering an order position and clicking the save order button but it did not move.
I tried clicking the rebuild button and it moved from the last position to position 1 but the down button will not move it down the order and entering the desired order number and clicking save order also does not move the item. Any suggestions?

P.S.

I have no difficulty moving menu items up or down within any other level other than the root.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:15 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:07 pm
Posts: 1
I had the exact same problem this morning.

I created all the menu items in order to start with. Then today, adding a new menu item and changing the ordering had no effect.

Sorting by order, making a change, and saving--did not work. The order would be the same and look correct in the menu manager, but be completely wrong on the live site.

When I went to the jos_menu table, every value under 'ordering' was set to 0.

After updating manually, the menu reflected the right order in both the menu manager and live.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:45 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 1:25 am
Posts: 17
My issue is that after a week or so of being the correct order the menu randomly reverts back to the exact same incorrect order. It does this after many log-ins and no specific changes on my part of the front or back-end. (It keeps moving my Home menu item, to the second to last position on the Main Menu.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:18 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 9:46 am
Posts: 6
Location: Poland
Hi,

Have the same problem with menu items. Once I ordered them and saved, i've pushed rebuild button by accident and the order of manu items has changed. I couldn't move down in the menu manager menu item that become first on the list after rebuild. The only way to move it down was to attach it temporary as a sub menu item to any other menu item and then reorder other items. Later, when all the items was on its predicted place a have made mentioned sub menu to main one again and placed it on 5th place.
Everything was good but after few days I've noticed that my menu item order is the same like after rebuild button action.

Thank you in advance for any help :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:53 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:11 am
Posts: 317
Location: Seattle WA
Does the same on 1.6.4. My problems only started after hitting that Rebuild button. The Home item randomly shifts and it seems the only buttons to move it that work are sending the stuff above it down.

_________________
JED Team Manager
This is an object-oriented system. If we change anything, the users object.
Unsolicited forum PM's get binned. Please use the forum or Help Desk.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 7:26 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:36 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: QubeSys Technologies Pvt. Ltd ,INDIA
I dont see the MOVE option in the Menu Manager.

Where did it vanish ?

_________________
Web Design, eCommerce and Software Development
Joomla Premium Extensions,Templates and Support Packages


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:03 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
You always need to sort before moving stuff around and then you need to save your new ordering. Make sure you click that little disk icon.

You should only use rebuild if you think you have a serious problem; it will indeed change the ordering (though not the location of anything in your menus or the ids).

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 6:49 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:59 am
Posts: 3
I have seen this in 1.7 version too and i have found that if you try and push a menu item up the tree structure it doesn't work. BUT if you push the menu's in the downward direction it does. It is an odd bug i believe, but you can move them, just have to think about how you are going to get them all where you want them by only moving them down. Make sure you save when you are done then clean out your cache.

I hope this helps someone get themselves out of situation. Hopefully this is fixed soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Posts: 1180
Location: Amsterdam
This definitely a bug. And I can't move them down either. It's really annoying :(.

Edit: Even if I change the ordering in the database, the wrong order is displayed in the frontend.
Edit 2: For me it appeared to be a Jupgrade bug: viewtopic.php?p=2572561

_________________
http://www.tastymouse.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:06 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:59 pm
Posts: 230
I have the same problem with v1.7.2 but the rebuild solves it and doesn't change the order of the menu. I also don't have to save the order if I use the 'move up/down' buttons.

_________________
[url]KisMac.com[/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:20 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 6:42 pm
Posts: 2
This is weird but in Modules manager I clicked 'ordering' and all the numbers were = '1'. I left 'Main' to = 1 but changed the menu item under that to = '2' etc. Once the numbers were sequential (in my case 1 through 6) the up/down arrows became functional. I saved and it all worked. Joomla 1.7.3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 5:26 pm
Posts: 7
Same issue in Joomla 2.5.1.

Used jUpgrade to upgrade from 1.5 to 2.5. In the Main Menu, the home link would always appear at the bottom of the list. Entering a number, or using arrows and clicking save, nor doing rebuild worked.

Looking in the database jos_menu, the root item was missing data it appears.

I created a new homepage link set it as the default and deleted the old one and this resolved the issue.

I believe the issue for me at least to be an issue with the latest version of jUpgrade extension.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group