error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
Jadu
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:15 pm

error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Jadu » Thu Jul 14, 2011 1:03 pm

Hi,,
Every time i install and use a extension I am getting this error

""Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in......."" >:(


:( For a example when i enable "simpleImageGallery" extension i am getting this error,,

""Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in C:\xampp\htdocs\Joomla\plugins\content\jw_simpleImageGallery\jw_simpleImageGallery.php on line 31" :(


Can anyone tell me why this is happening and how can i get rid of this..


Thank You!

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24567
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby imanickam » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:20 pm

- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:27 am

In the php.ini file
locate
error_reporting =
And change the value to
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
display_errors = On
And change the value to
display_errors = Off
Stop then restart xampp for the new settings to take effect
(N.B. there are comments about error_reporting = as well as the command line.)

The pic shows how to find the file php.ini, yours will be different but it should help you
Screenshot-571.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

pensake
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby pensake » Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:49 pm

I have the same errors showing up on the webpage. I turned off the error messages in the php.ini file, even restarted my computer to ensure services were stopped and restarted again, but to no avail.

I am running windows xp pro. using xampp.

Still receiving the errors at the header of the page:

Strict Standards: Static function JDatabase::test() should not be abstract in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\database\database.php on line 350

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 394

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 394

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 394

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 394

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 394

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 394

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

Strict Standards: Accessing static property JCache::$_handler as non static in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla17\libraries\joomla\cache\cache.php on line 396

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:22 pm

pensake wrote:I have the same errors showing up on the webpage. I turned off the error messages in the php.ini file, even restarted my computer to ensure services were stopped and restarted again, but to no avail.....

Did you check phpinfo() to make sure you edited the correct php.in file ?

Did you
locate
error_reporting =
And change the value to
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
???
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

pensake
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby pensake » Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:48 pm

Sorry I am a total noob.

In the phpinfo() it says Configuration file (php.ini) path C:\windows and the loaded configuration file says C:\xampp\php\php.ini

There is no php.ini in my windows directory. I made sure and searched my entire hdd.


Thanks for quick response btw.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:52 pm

pensake wrote:...

There is no php.ini in my windows directory. I made sure and searched my entire hdd.
...

No because it's in your
C:\xampp\php\php.ini



pensake wrote:...

There is no php.ini in my windows directory. I made sure and searched my entire hdd.
...

Then what file did you edit ? One on another computer ?
pensake wrote:... I turned off the error messages in the php.ini file,...
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

pensake
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby pensake » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:02 am

C:\xampp\php\php.ini is the one I edited.

display_errors
; Default Value: off
; Development Value: On
; Production Value: Off

; display_startup_errors
; Default Value: Off
; Development Value: On
; Production Value: Off

; error_reporting
; Default Value: E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
; Development Value: E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE
; Production Value: E_ALL & ~E_DEPRECATED & ~E_NOTICE

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:16 am

Ah common easy mistake to make
locate
error_reporting =
And change the value to
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
display_errors = On
And change the value to
display_errors = Off

not
locate
;error_reporting =
And change the value to
;error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
;display_errors = On
And change the value to
;display_errors = Off


Look very closely and remember that files are often documented with comments. In this particular file the comments are preceded by
;
The
;
Tells the computer the lines beginning with
;
are comments and not instructions.
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

pensake
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby pensake » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:30 am

Every line of that file is preceded with ;

Do I just remove the comment on those particular parts?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:44 am

pensake wrote:Every line of that file is preceded with ;
...

Correction, you think Every line of that file is preceded with ;
Look more carefully and use the search
Screenshot-643.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

pensake
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby pensake » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:53 am

That was it. Thanks so much. I am blind as a bat lol

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:01 am

It helps when you know what you are looking for (and when you've spent hours looking for typo's to find an extra pace between characters :-[ )
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

pensake
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby pensake » Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:33 am

indeed lol

ukfliers
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:48 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby ukfliers » Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:41 pm

Thanks to both of you - as I read incorrectly also and after your further explanation - worked and loaded my 1.6 template and bingo - there it was

ukfliers
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:48 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby ukfliers » Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:42 pm

One thing still remaining - Cannot get it to install Joomla 1.7 in Firefox 5

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30990
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Webdongle » Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:28 pm

ukfliers wrote:... Cannot get it to install Joomla 1.7 in Firefox 5

Perhaps post step by step and explain the problem in viewforum.php?f=579 ?
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

1Johnboy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby 1Johnboy » Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:50 pm

Thanks

kissofw
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:14 am

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby kissofw » Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:42 am

ha ha ha…… thanks to everyone. I have solve it by this way,It's very fine!!!

shahzadrose
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:55 pm

really helpfull

Postby shahzadrose » Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:59 pm

wow guyz thx alot was having this problem when installed joomla 1.7 it was really really help full .thx ^__^

faezx3
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:51 am

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby faezx3 » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:47 am

thank very much..it work flawlessly..thank buddy

Ian Davies
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby Ian Davies » Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:44 pm

Just saying thanks, was a very quick fix with this thread cheers guys. :laugh:

dEhiN
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:04 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby dEhiN » Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:29 am

Webdongle wrote:In the php.ini file
locate
error_reporting =
And change the value to
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
locate
display_errors = On
And change the value to
display_errors = Off
Stop then restart xampp for the new settings to take effect
(N.B. there are comments about error_reporting = as well as the command line.)


Thanks SO much Webdongle for the post. I'm just installing Joomla 1.7 on my local machine using XAMPP, and I was getting these same errors and issues! You're definitely a life-saver.

jefgees
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.7

Postby jefgees » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:15 pm

Hoi peole, i tried all of the above tips and nothing does work.
I also read that using XAMMP version 1.7.3 will help to resolve the problem.
any other tips please.

dEhiN
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:04 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.7

Postby dEhiN » Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:31 pm

jefgees wrote:Hoi peole, i tried all of the above tips and nothing does work.
I also read that using XAMMP version 1.7.3 will help to resolve the problem.
any other tips please.


I'm using the latest XAMPP version (I think 1.7.3), and the above worked. Remember to edit the actual code line and not the comments line(s). Also, what OS are you installing on? If it's Win Vista/7, remember to not install XAMPP into the "C:\Program Files" folder, due to permission issues.

jefgees
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby jefgees » Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:36 pm

The latest version of XAMMP is 1.7.4 ( http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html ).
The OS i have is Win XP Pro.
But after following all the tips ... it still does not work.
Sorry ....

dEhiN
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:04 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby dEhiN » Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:01 pm

jefgees wrote:The latest version of XAMMP is 1.7.4 ( http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html ).
The OS i have is Win XP Pro.
But after following all the tips ... it still does not work.
Sorry ....


Maybe try installing XAMPP 1.7.4 as a fresh install. Since you are using XP, installing to the Program Files folder should be fine. But if you've tried that and you're having problems, try installing to C:\. Also try a clean installation of Joomla 1.6. But make the changes to your php.ini file first. Then run the Joomla installation. When you go through, check and see if your settings match the recommended settings. Post back here if your settings match the recommended ones and you are still having trouble.

jefgees
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby jefgees » Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:39 pm

Thanks for the info. I already did several reïnstalls from scratch. And to the directory of C:
But still got the same effect as described above.
Will experiment later this evening.
keep in touch.

jefgees
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.7

Postby jefgees » Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:04 pm

Tried for the 7th time. Started from scratch again.
Last version XAMMP and last version of JOOMLA.
And believe it or not IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do not know what i did different or the same .....
but I do not care. Finally it works ....... with the tips earlier in this post;
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED
and
display_errors = Off
Thank you dEhiN for motivating me to give it another (next to the last) try.
Thanks.

tom0000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: error "Strict Standards:..............." in 1.6

Postby tom0000 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:55 pm

Hi Guys, I need a hand to get the below sorted:

Strict Standards: Static function JDatabase::test() should not be abstract in C:\myWebsite\XAMPP\htdocs\Joomla17\libraries\joomla\database\database.php on line 350
Infinite loop detected in JError

This is what I ve got once php.ini has been amended as per your earlier tips


thanks, Tom


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: modernmagic and 5 guests