The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:49 pm
Posts: 14
Hi. Using JCE editor. How can I set the width of the editor for the front end? At the moment when the editor is called up in the website part of it disappears behind the right column.

Thanks
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:36 am
Posts: 937
Location: India
Hii

Try plugin>> Editor - TinyMCE 2.0>>advanced parameters>>full screen to hide.

regards

_________________
Quality WebDevelopment at http://www.webworkwiz.com
Affordable hosting http://www.vsmhosting.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 4:35 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:49 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks for your reply. I'm using the JCE editor. I have tried to set the width with the JCE parameters but no joy. Is there a components file (or similar) that sets the width of the text editor when editing from the front end?

Thanks
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:22 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:49 pm
Posts: 14
Discovered the problem. The dropdown menus on the top row (font etc.) weren't wrapping so I took them out in the text editor plugin area. This solved the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:53 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 2809
Location: Victorian England 1885
I'm not loking to implement the above solution but looking for some help with getting rid of the right hand column altogether when using the JCE editor. This was possible with 1.0 but I am using the JCE editor for a Joomla 1.5 site.

The issue is that the right hand column obscures some of the buttons and the editor scroll bar.

Previously on 1.0 templates where a right hand column was present I would edit the index.php file in the templates folder and use the following code to remove the right hand column when in editor mode.

replace:

<?php if (mosCountModules('right') { ?>

with:

<?php if (mosCountModules('right' && (! isset($task) || $task !='edit') { ?>

and this has invariably worked for me.


For J1.5 I have done the following in the index.php:

replaced:

<?php if( $this->countModules ('right or advert3 or advert4' > 0 ) { ?>

with:

<?php if ( $this->countModules( 'right or advert3 or advert4' ) > 0 and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {

Hoping that the right hand column would disappear during the edit session.

However it does not. It appears to be correct but it does nothing. I assume the task variable is no longer available?

Has anyone got any pointers as how to remove the right hand column altogether when in editor mode in J1.5?

_________________
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:27 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 2809
Location: Victorian England 1885
that code does manage to hide the right hand column successfully, the template I as working on just had a problem...

_________________
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:58 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:51 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, this is my first post here, but I wanted to say thanks to beededea ! You helped me a lot... For those who didn't get the explanation and want to hide the right menu when you open the article editor. In index.php, just embed the div containing your menu with beededea's line as follows:

Code:
<?php if ( $this->countModules( 'right' ) > 0 and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {?>
   <div id="rightcolumn" style="float: left;">   <!-- this is your right menu -->
      <jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="xhtml" />
   </div>
<?php }?>


Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:08 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 1
I have been having this problem too, but I'm not sure I understand the fix.

I'm editing the index.php file in the folder containing my template.

This template (aloe-vera) contains this code for the right column:

</div>
<div class="sidebar2">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="artblock" />
</div>

I have changed this to:

<?php if ( $this->countModules( 'right' ) > 0 and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {?>

<div class="sidebar2">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="artblock" />
</div>

<?php }?>

But the problem remains. I'm a newbie, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:27 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:23 pm
Posts: 2
For anyone who is looking for how to shrink the width of the editor: you can drag the toolbar buttons to lower rows in Components > JCE Administration > Groups > default or front end > layout.

Move the icons around on the rows until they all fit within the desired width. I'm using version 1.5.7.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:30 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:10 pm
Posts: 9
Code:
<?php if ( $this->countModules( 'right' ) > 0 and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {?>
   <div id="rightcolumn" style="float: left;">   <!-- this is your right menu -->
      <jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="xhtml" />
   </div>
<?php }?>


I've inserted the above code in my index.php file to hide the right sidebar when the editor is open but it hides the right sidebar altogether not just when I'm editing a page. Am I missing something in the index.php file?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:02 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:36 am
Posts: 27
I am having the same issues with my main artcile pn the front page. it disapears behind the right column.

How can I fiy this? I have not been able to find the answer in the forums.
Site: fibromauterino.haifutech.com

thanks for any advice.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:12 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 2809
Location: Victorian England 1885
You just have to do what is says above

_________________
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:36 am
Posts: 27
The above doesn't work for me because I don't want to hide the right sidebar. i just want my article to fit between left/righ sidebar.

Any advice?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 2809
Location: Victorian England 1885
Why don't you want to hide the right side bar? it is certainly not required whilst editing, at best it is a distraction

_________________
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:12 pm
Posts: 2
hey guys

trying to embed the code from kloporte

Code:
<?php if ( $this->countModules( 'right' ) > 0 and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {?>
   <div id="rightcolumn" style="float: left;">   <!-- this is your right menu -->
      <jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="xhtml" />
   </div>
<?php }?>


to my index.php. as i don't know php a bit i tried the whole day to place to code or fragments of it at the right place but just couldn't get it going. sometimes the module on the right side was doubled, sometimes just half formatted... ;)

can someone please tell me how it should looklike?

thank's allot.

my index.php:

Code:
<?php
defined( '_JEXEC' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
JPlugin::loadLanguage( 'tpl_SG1' );
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" >
<head>
<jdoc:include type="head" />

<link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/system/css/system.css" type="text/css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/css/template.css" type="text/css" />

<!--[if lte IE 6]>
<link href="templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/css/ie6.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<![endif]-->


</head>
<body id="page_bg">
   <div id="container">
      <div id="title">
   <img src="../Medien/Bilder/Header/logo.png" title="Chick And Nuggets" alt="image_alternate_text" />

</div>
      
      <div id="menu">
         <div id="pillmenu">
            <jdoc:include type="modules" name="user3" />
         </div>
         <div id="search">
            <jdoc:include type="modules" name="user4" />   
         </div>
      </div>
   
      <div id="wrapper">   
         <?php if($this->countModules('left') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
         <div id="leftcolumn">
            <div class="column_top">
               <div class="column_bottom">
                  <jdoc:include type="modules" name="left" style="rounded" />
                  <?php $sg = 'banner'; include "templates.php"; ?>
               </div>
            </div>
         </div>
         <?php endif; ?>
         
         <div id="holder">
            <div id="holder1">
               <div id="newsflash">
                  <jdoc:include type="modules" style="rounded" name="top" />
               </div>
               <div id="popular">
                  <jdoc:include type="modules" style="rounded" name="user2" />
               </div>
               <?php if($this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>         
               <div id="maincolumn">
               <?php else: ?>
               <div id="maincolumn_full">
               <?php endif; ?>   
                  <div class="nopad">            
                     <jdoc:include type="message" />
                     <?php if($this->params->get('showComponent')) : ?>
                        <jdoc:include type="component" />
                     <?php endif; ?>
                  </div>      
               </div>
               <?php if($this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
               <div id="rightcolumn">
                  <div class="column_top">
                     <div class="column_bottom">
                        <jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="rounded" />                        
                     </div>
                  </div>
               </div>
               <?php endif; ?>
               <div class="clr"></div>
               <jdoc:include type="modules" name="debug" />      
            </div>
         </div>
         <div class="clr"></div>
      </div>
      <div id="footer">
         <?php $sg = ''; include "templates.php"; ?>
         <p style="text-align: center;">
            <a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer"></a>
            <a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer"></a>
         </p>
      </div>
   </div>
</body>
</html>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:47 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 288
I'm having this same issue and the posted suggestions fail to work. It seems strange that it's required to edit core code in order to fix an issue that many others must also be experiencing.

I have the same setup as doyon has posted for my template. I'm not getting any help from the JCE forums, and I really need this corrected as my front page isn't editable right now.

I like the idea of hiding the right column for editing, however I do have on quesiotn about that. If you hide the right column and a user edits the page will the width of the editor and the content they add then not fit once the right column comes back on? I'd test that but I can't get the right column to turn off when editing.

The reason the above code didn't work for me, is that it does hide the right side modules, but the space those modules occupied is still there and so the editor still disappears behind that space even though there is no modules still in that position.

I think it's due to how the code is done in the template:

Code:
<?php if ($showRight) : ?>
                                <?php if ( $this->countModules( 'right' ) > 0 and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {?>
                     <div id="right">
                        <div class="bottom equal">
                           <jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="user" />
                        </div>
                     </div>
                            <?php }?>
                           
                     <?php endif; if ($showLeft) : ?>
                     <div id="left">
                        <div class="bottom equal">
                           <jdoc:include type="modules" name="left" style="user" />
                        </div>
                     </div>
                     <?php endif; ?>


Last edited by Nemesiss on Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:34 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 288
Not that this is a fix for the JCE editor, but the way I corrected the issue was that I uninstalled the JCE editor and installed the JCK editor which handled the article width automatically. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:51 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:18 pm
Posts: 1
I found a solution. I had the same problem with the JCE editor and I was unable to adjust the width of the editor. In my case this was because the buttons in the editor toolbar were to wide. The had too much padding and they inherited this padding from the css which was meant for other text links, in my template.
All I had to do was to change my template css. Taking out padding of links.
I hope this can help others.
Best regards Sixthe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 6:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:40 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks sixthe, your solution was by far the easiest and it worked great. Cheers! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:16 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 18
Using JCE editor in Joomla 1.5. Template is Rocket Themes (rt_equinox). I have a situation where I'm creating a non-visible front end login for a couple of users at the Publisher access level. Only want them to be able to write new or edit existing articles.

I've got all the stuff I need to do to create the discrete login but the problem I'm having is that when I use the front end login at the Publisher level and then access an article to edit, the editor and buttons are partially hidden on the right hand side by the user2 module.

I've read the above posts on how to fix this by editing the template index.php file but in this case the rt_equinox index.php doesn't seem to have the same code as the ones I have read in this topic.

Here is the code from what I think is the relative part of the index.php that affects the right hand module (user2). If anyone has any suggestions on how to accomplish hiding this in edit mode I would appreciate a response. I can post entire index.php code if necessary.
Code:
            <!-- start secondary column area -->
            <?php if ($this->countModules('user2')) : ?>
            <div id="secondcol">
               <div class="col1">
                  <div class="col2">
                     <jdoc:include type="modules" name="user2" style="rounded" />
                  </div>
               </div>
            </div>
            <?php endif; ?>
            <!-- end secondary column area -->

_________________
Rick
If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:07 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 61
JCE 2.0.12

JCE Administration > Control Panel > Profiles > default > Features

Re-Arrange the Icons to fit ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 6:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 18
wises wrote:
JCE 2.0.12

JCE Administration > Control Panel > Profiles > default > Features

Re-Arrange the Icons to fit ;)

As stated in my post part of the problem is that not only are the icons not visible but the right side of the editor window itself is hidden by the user2 column. This means that the text is not visible. Will your suggestion also make the editor window fully visible?

_________________
Rick
If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:24 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 61
The editor width by default is 600px which in effect pushed the [save] button off under the [right] column in my case.

After Reducing the Width (or should I say Icons) dropping them down a line - inserted a new line
then drag-n-dropped over-flowing icons onto that line and making sure that they fit the width of the template.

it worked fine and the [save] button is visible.

JCE 2.0.12 can be downloaded from here


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks for the information and download link. Looks like this will be an easier solution then modifying the .php file for the Rocket Theme (Equinox).

_________________
Rick
If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:13 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 61
no worries , hope it helps you with your problem.

may also be worth posting your problem on the Rocket theme's forums as others may be in the same boat and just as frustrated.

it seems that sometimes template makers forget that most user's don't use the Tiny-MCE editor but rather JCE has become the somewhat Universal standard for Joomla IMO.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:10 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:23 pm
Posts: 19
To help anyone with the same problem i Joomla 2.5. I was able to make it work with this
Code:
if ( empty($_REQUEST[layout]) || $_REQUEST[layout] != 'edit')


The $_REQUEST[task] is changed to $_REQUEST[layout]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 11:53 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:37 pm
Posts: 25
Thank you very much for sharing the 2.5 width trick but I can't find in any file this line " $_REQUEST[task] " not even in the template index.php ...
Should I add this line somewhere in the index ? How ? Thanks a lot!
Giom

_________________
Joomla 2.5 ( server Linux )


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group