Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occured

Need help installing Joomla! 2.5? For all Joomla! 2.5 installation issues please use this forum. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
mitchellk
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:18 pm

Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occured

Postby mitchellk » Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:34 pm

Tried out J1.7 for the first time today, so far its NOT looking good.

Installation passed ALL server checks and installation went through to completion without a glitch.

After installation I can open front end but cannot for the love of money login to the administrator backend.

I keep getting "500 - An error has occurred - Return to Control Panel" .... such a helpful error message.

Searched all over Google and cannot find one solution to this exact error.

Can anyone help?

Things I have already checked:

- Permissions all seem to be correct folders (755) files (644)
- Tried logging in with 3 different browsers - same result
- Check for empty lines in configuration.php file (nada)


SOLVED:
changed folder permissions to 777 on the following folders
cache
logs
tmp
administrator/cache

User avatar
ZealousDev
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby ZealousDev » Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:54 pm

Try not to use 777 on certain things it could leave you open to injection attacks.

Due to there has been no posts, You have solved your issue.
Angrybirdswalkthrough.com
A Place for Angry Addicts

GXCori
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby GXCori » Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:35 pm

Well I have the issue and cannot get into the control panel, none of these things fixed it, but I I will check once more to be sure.

GXCori
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby GXCori » Fri Sep 09, 2011 7:03 pm

Ok I tried this fix and it does not work. Any one else have any suggestions?

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby rowdyred94 » Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:55 pm

Mitchellk's solution worked for me as well. Thank you.

Unfortunately I've had to resort to using 0777 on quite a few sites since I started developing Joomla sites in 2009. It's been a blow to my security confidence, especially since I've experienced pharma hacks in early 1.5.x versions.

I've had to set all directories listed in System Information to 0777 on most of the sites I've built, as a matter of fact. I imagine it has something to do with my host's server settings and file ownership. I've yet to find a solution.

sailor_ej
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:05 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby sailor_ej » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:07 am

I just changed just the following folder:

Administrator/Cache

to 0775
and it worked just fine

PVNDSpins
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:27 pm

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby PVNDSpins » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:38 pm

I tried doing this and mine is still giving me the 500 error. Any other suggestions?

I just changed just the following folder:



Administrator/Cache

to 0775
and it worked just fine
I just changed just the following folder:

Administrator/Cache

to 0775
and it worked just fine

Bruce Chang
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:28 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby Bruce Chang » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:37 am

Hi, I have the same problem. I have installed Joomla 1.7 with Godaddy My Application automatic installation function. But when I try to log in, the website shows up anther page tells "500 - An error has occurred - Return to Control Panel".
I tried each way above but none worked. Please help me.

mr_turners
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:44 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby mr_turners » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:57 pm

Had the same problem after i moved my site from local to webhost.

changed folder permissions to 777 on the following folders
cache, logs, tmp and administrator/cache.

now if a try to login as admin it says, username or password incorrect or user doesn't exist.
checked config.php if it was changed but it's not.

any ideas?

dariel
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby dariel » Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:03 pm

same with me

changed folder permissions to 777 on the following folders
cache, logs, tmp and administrator/cache.

- Tried logging in with 3 different browsers - same result
i'm still getting the same error
"500 - An error has occurred - Return to Control Panel".

please..please. help me

dariel
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby dariel » Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:50 pm

can someone answer another solution,,??

I really need to..really appreciate your reply
thanks

User avatar
RealIdea
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: misr
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby RealIdea » Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:42 am

is ther any solution yet ?
i have the same problem here on my joomla 1.7
after i upload my localhost folder and try to login in the administrator
it gives me error
500 - An error has occurred.

Return to Control Panel

mr_turners
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:44 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby mr_turners » Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:13 am

Error 500

changed folder permissions to 777 on the following folders
cache, logs, tmp and administrator/cache.

then if i try to login as admin it says, username or password incorrect or user doesn't exist. Fault in configuration.php??

I changed the pasword at install and after that i can login. But joomla indicates that all folders are unwriteble. My hosting provider activated suPHP and that solved the problem.

Joomla works now.

User avatar
RealIdea
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: misr
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby RealIdea » Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:23 am

when i change the premission to 777 i cannot login too
and i see this new error
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
i think i cant change my premission on the Bluehost new system

User avatar
minimalskins
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:57 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby minimalskins » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:14 pm

Had the same problem. And then, realized that I was using the wrong password.
Jonathan Mara
minimalskins.com

User avatar
RealIdea
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: misr
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby RealIdea » Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:39 am

i fix it
just add the right Log and Tmp server full url in configuration.php

TK_all
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:26 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby TK_all » Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:39 am

I had the same issue, set the file permissions to 644, directories to 755, and got error 500. Then checked the owner:group, which was root:root, changed that with

chown -R wwwrun:www joomla_1.7.0

and it works. No need to fiddle with permissions.

Hope this helps.

unleash_it
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1308
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:28 pm

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby unleash_it » Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:38 pm

hello friends - good evening

i also run into these issues - perhaps the combination of user and passwd is wrong here. How can i set the data right!?

or in other words - how can i reset the combination!?

look forward to hear from you
jj
regards un-leash,
a big fan for ++ 11 years now: With Joomla you can easily create and extend your website: see the site, that offers you ideas & modules - extensions.joomla.org - it lists over 4000 extensions

cmsjunkie
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:37 am
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby cmsjunkie » Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:42 am

Just want to shed some light.

This error occurs mostly because you enter the wrong username or password.
When you do that Joomla tries to log the event but the path to the log file in your config.php is not correct, hence the error. Once you corect the path you'll get the incorrect login message.

Whippy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:02 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby Whippy » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:59 am

I was also having this problem on my localhost version of a 1.7 site. The correct password worked but an incorrect passoword caused the 500 error even though all of the folders were set up correctly with the correct permissions.

Somehow the logs/error.php was not set up to allow write access locally and this was causing the problem. If you are still having problems, make sure that your apache process owner can write to this file.

ganesan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:02 pm

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby ganesan » Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:11 pm

First you have change your folder permission 777.

cache, logs, tmp and administrator/cache this folders..

and then

configration.php

find code:
$log_path = 'XXXXXXXXXXXXX';
$tmp_path = 'XXXXXXXXXXXXX';

change code
$log_path = './logs';
$tmp_path = './tmp';

your problem solved....

leoncio
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby leoncio » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:40 am

minimalskins, I had your same issue on my case

I've installed the joomla twice, because an error. then the joomla install created some bkp_tables on mysql.

I've realized that my initial user account was on the bkp tables, but not at the correct one

So I just exported that tables and inserted on the correct ones

I haven't the permission issues that all folks are complaining about it

Leo

FLASHexpert
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby FLASHexpert » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:25 pm

I started to get this error too. I removed two extensions, and now I can't log in to the admin panel. Black page in admin: http://www.vancouverweddingphotographer.org/administrator/

Any suggestions?

mariposa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:44 am

Re: Joomla 1.7 - Cant Login to Admin - 500 an error has occu

Postby mariposa » Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:43 pm

Never change your folder permissions for your core Joomla folders & files to 777 - it will make your files editable to the public, and your site will get hacked.

There is no file permission issue. Just make sure your configuration.php has the correct values.

Key things to note.... make sure your 'host' is correct; and your tmp location is './tmp' and your log folder location is './log'


Return to “Installation Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests