Bigo Captcha

Do you have an Open Source Product available for Joomla!? Let everyone know here.

Moderator: normdouglas

Forum rules
Global Rules
Additional Rules for this forum <------- Please read before posting
User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18006
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby infograf768 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:16 am

without GD, it will not work.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

MarikaE
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:25 am

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby MarikaE » Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:47 pm

Thanks for the answer.

But I have now tried to figure out this GD i have been reading about, and realize that that should be working on the server. I have installed a gallery earlier that is in need of GD, and that works with the thumbnails.

Any more ideas what to check up? Or have I misunderstood something about GD. Still can't figure the problem out my self.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: How to diagnose Captcha

Postby yvolk » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:09 am

There is very useful method to diagnose ANY Captcha extension:
- look up the exact URL of the Captcha image
- Open that URL in separate window of your your browser and/or download it to your computer and open with some text/binary viewer.

This way you may see, if there are any errors during download
and even see, what "image" was in fact sent to your browser.
In many cases of problems with Captcha I saw some additional script code or even error messages, that were added to the bytes of the generated image.

Next step would be to figure out, what OTHER extension/hack... injected that information into the server output (that supposed to be image only).

MarikaE wrote:Thanks for the answer.

But I have now tried to figure out this GD i have been reading about, and realize that that should be working on the server. I have installed a gallery earlier that is in need of GD, and that works with the thumbnails.

Any more ideas what to check up? Or have I misunderstood something about GD. Still can't figure the problem out my self.

Thanks in advance!
Text of all my messages is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License: http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html

User avatar
frankzusa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:00 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby frankzusa » Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:09 pm

Steve Hards wrote:@ Websith above:

Thanks for the modified install program and English instructions at your site

http://www.sol22.com/elibrary/1-web-development/113-bigo-captcha-extention-for-joomla-158.html

Worked like a charm!

This link is broken, here is the updated link:

http://www.sol22.com/articles/cms-artic ... a-158.html

April Fool day! Cheer! :D

User avatar
burnsy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:18 am
Location: calgary alberta canada

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby burnsy » Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:26 pm

I installed Bigo on my Joomla 1.5.9 and used 2 different patches (so generously provided by users on this Thread) to get the captcha to appear on my Registration page. It loks Okay, but I can't get past the verification. I've tried to submit the form 8 or 9 times but keep getting the error message; You have entered the wrong CAPTCHA sequence. Please try again

I'm pretty sure I'm entering the correct letters ... anything obvious I'm overlooking ?
(I've triple-checked that I'm entering information into the Form correctly ..)
Kickin' the darkness 'til it bleeds daylight . . .

apollowebdes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:00 am

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby apollowebdes » Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:26 pm

I installed Bigo on my Joomla 1.5.10 using the information I found on the sol22 site.
Installation was very easy and seemed to work very well.

I started to do some testing and found I was not receiving any error message if I mistyped or if I left the captcha blank. If anyone has an info that would be great. The captcha is working perfectly. I recieve registration and contact forms from correctly entered captcha and get nothing from wrong ones but still no message that it was correct, send, failed or not sent. Pls help, this will probably get annoying for customers.

I've noticed that quite often on this post the issue of retaining form content when captcha is entered incorrectly has come up and was just wondering again if anybody knows of a solution that I missed.

Lastly, I thought I had read all of this post but I can't seem to find the patched mentioned by burnsy last week. Is it possible these patches could fix the "no warning messages showing" issue I am having. If so any help to point me in the right direction would be great

Thanks again Bigo for a great plugin.

User avatar
twierstra
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:13 am

time limit

Postby twierstra » Fri May 01, 2009 4:20 pm

The following error is caused by the provider having safe_mode enabled:

[Fri May 1 17:04:23 2009] [error] PHP Warning: set_time_limit(): Cannot set time limit in safe mode in [...]/plugins/system/Captcha04/CaptchaImage.php on line 371
Line 371: Set_Time_Limit ( 0 );

The provider refuses to disable safe_mode, so the errors keep coming. Is it a problem when I ignore this statement by changing it into a comment line?

stellish
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:17 am

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby stellish » Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:21 am

Hi all,

I'm using Bigo Captcha on ALF Contact, but the Captcha image is not shown at all. I develop using Joomla 1.5.10 & PHP 5.2.6. Somebody mentioned about GD earlier, I've checked my PHP configuration, GD is enabled too & I'm still on my localhost. Anyone has a clue of what's wrong with my installation of Bigo Captcha..? Any help would be appreciated, thank you very much.. :)

User avatar
trespies
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha: Image doesn't load with ivcomment

Postby trespies » Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:08 pm

Hello.

Nothing. I've been (and I'm still) trying it a lot of hours, but I don't achieve that the Bigocaptcha image appears under the yvComments (in nowhere, actually), accesing as guest.

Instead it always appears the fatidic alt text ("The word for verification. Lowercase letters only with no spaces").

After to follow step by step the complete guide from yurivolkov.com, I've also reviewed all the posts of this topic, without can ressolve the problem.

I (believe that) fulfill all the requirements: Joomla 1.5.14 without Legacy mode, last versions MySQL-Php, Safe Mode off, GD libraries up, correct installation, etc.

After read a relatively recent post by Yuri Volkov, about how diagnose possible errors relateds to image, I've tried reload the image unsuccessfully, and, then, I've typped the url in other browser window...

It shows me the following message (I translate from original spanish): "The image http://mundojoomla.org/index.php?option ... laycaptcha can't be showed, because it contains errors".

The website is (logically, taking into account the previous message) http://mundojoomla.org

I would be immensely grateful if someone helps me, please.

Thanks, regards.
Nacho

User avatar
trespies
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha > More info

Postby trespies » Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:58 pm

Hello again.

Only one (yv?)comment: I've saved the file 'index.php' with the error message mentioned in previous post...

If I open it with an advanced html/php editor, type Dreamweaver, it only says to me: "GIF89ag". But, if I open it with a basic processor text, type Notepad o Notepad++, it begins to say me: "GIF89agNUL$NUL...", and follows with a long long long string of stranges characters that, unfortunately, go beyond my limited undestanding...

So, now I'm going to look for an hex-binary editor, for see what happen... But, actually, I consider more likely to learn Mandarin Chinese in two days, that find out what this file is going to tells me in the hex format...

Thanks, regards.

stuhall
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:21 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby stuhall » Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:40 pm

I seem to have the same problem as trespies

Captcha doesn't show up in yvcomment - I just get the alt text 'The word for verification.." etc
Plugin is enabled, safe mode is off, GD is installed, PHP Version 5.2.10, yvcomment is set to use captcha

When I try to view the image in a browser I am told that the image cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

I can get OSTWigits working, but I find their captcha to be really difficult to read.

Any ideas?

User avatar
Paddy Landau
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby Paddy Landau » Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:20 pm

stuhall wrote:Captcha doesn't show up in yvcomment...

Me too.

The code in the HTML for the image reads:

Code: Select all

<img id='captcha9173_1717' alt='The word for verification. Lowercase letters only with no spaces.' />

So the code doesn't even specify an image to use!

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby yvolk » Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:38 pm

Paddy Landau wrote:
stuhall wrote:Captcha doesn't show up in yvcomment...

Me too.

The code in the HTML for the image reads:

Code: Select all

<img id='captcha9173_1717' alt='The word for verification. Lowercase letters only with no spaces.' />

So the code doesn't even specify an image to use!

You have "Delay loading captcha image" option set: img source URL is set by jscript code, when "text of comment" field gets the focus.
Text of all my messages is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License: http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html

User avatar
Paddy Landau
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby Paddy Landau » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:13 am

yvolk wrote:You have "Delay loading captcha image" option set: img source URL is set by jscript code, when "text of comment" field gets the focus.

Ah, thanks for that explanation, Yuri.

It doesn't solve the problem, though, so I'll have to go for a different Captcha (unless someone knows the solution?).

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby yvolk » Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:30 am

Paddy Landau wrote:
yvolk wrote:You have "Delay loading captcha image" option set: img source URL is set by jscript code, when "text of comment" field gets the focus.

Ah, thanks for that explanation, Yuri.

It doesn't solve the problem, though, so I'll have to go for a different Captcha (unless someone knows the solution?).

What's about Captcha for yvComment, see the article for the alternative Captcha: "Using JCCreCaptcha with yvComment".
Last edited by yvolk on Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Text of all my messages is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License: http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html

User avatar
Paddy Landau
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby Paddy Landau » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:58 am

yvolk wrote:What's about Captcha for yvComment, see the article for the alternative Captcha: "Using JCCreCaptcha with yvComment".

Unfortunately, that site is not responding at the moment.

I tried OSTWidgets, and that seems to work perfectly adequately, thanks.

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby yvolk » Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:58 pm

Paddy Landau wrote:Unfortunately, that site is not responding at the moment.

I tried OSTWidgets, and that seems to work perfectly adequately, thanks.

I've edited the link above. Now it should work.

User avatar
Paddy Landau
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby Paddy Landau » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:06 pm

yvolk wrote:I've edited the link above. Now it should work.

Thank you.

pixiedavis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby pixiedavis » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:39 pm

Hi

Joomla 1.5.15
GD enabled

Using with Survey pro - no problems

Tried using com patch - work but get this at top of page - wether or not captcha enabled or not.

Any help please.

JParameter Object ( [_raw] => contact_icons=0 icon_address= icon_email= icon_telephone= icon_mobile= icon_fax= icon_misc= show_headings=1 show_position=1 show_email=0 show_telephone=1 show_mobile=1 show_fax=1 allow_vcard=0 banned_email= banned_subject= banned_text= validate_session=0 custom_reply=0 [_xml] => [_elements] => Array ( ) [_elementPath] => Array ( [0] => /customers/idmu.co.uk/idmu.co.uk/httpd.www/libraries/joomla/html/parameter/element ) [_defaultNameSpace] => _default [_registry] => Array ( [_default] => Array ( [data] => stdClass Object ( [contact_icons] => 0 [icon_address] => [icon_email] => [icon_telephone] => [icon_mobile] => [icon_fax] => [icon_misc] => [show_headings] => 1 [show_position] => 1 [show_email] => 0 [show_telephone] => 1 [show_mobile] => 0 [show_fax] => 1 [allow_vcard] => 0 [banned_email] => [banned_subject] => [banned_text] => [validate_session] => 0 [custom_reply] => 0 [show_contact_list] => 0 [show_category_crumb] => 0 [show_page_title] => 1 [menu_image] => -1 [secure] => 0 [page_title] => Legal Enquiries [page_description] => IDMU Ltd - Drug expert witness for crown court, home of the largest drug users survey in the UK. Solicitor finder for drug related offences and fully searchable drugs information. [show_name] => 1 [show_street_address] => 1 [show_suburb] => 1 [show_state] => 0 [show_postcode] => 1 [show_country] => 0 [show_webpage] => 0 [show_misc] => 0 [show_image] => 0 [use_captcha] => 0 [show_email_form] => 1 [show_email_copy] => 1 ) ) ) [_errors] => Array ( ) )

fabricebaro
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:45 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby fabricebaro » Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:05 pm

Just a reminder for those for who the Bigo Captcha doesn't work (shows a broken image) for ALF Contact or other:
1. Make sure you activated the Bigo Captcha in Extensions > Plugin Manager.
2. Check if the GD libraries for PHP are installed: in Joomla administrator, go to Help > System Info > PHP Information. Search for GD. If it's not installed (i.e. you don't find GD), type

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get php5-gd
on your linux server. Make sure your clear Joomla's cache (Tools > Clean cache) then check again in the PHP information page. It should work.

PS: I posted this because I can't seem to find the Bigo Captcha page in the JED. See also this page that says:
"Since Bigo Captcha seems to have gone awall on JED i have attached the last release here for the redFORM users to get."

lalili
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby lalili » Mon Apr 26, 2010 12:06 pm

Hi... im newbie.
Anybody can help me how to integrated the extension into Yj Modul booking form.
Thanks

driftingMODE
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 am

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby driftingMODE » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:03 am

Hi

I wonder is Bigodines still monitors this post?

I never had any problems installing and using Bigo Captcha (Greatest captcha software ever!!!), and recently I also changed the source code so that I can validate the captcha via AJAX without it being removed from the SESSION (I will post my solution if anyone is interested). If you just call the default 'checkCaptcha' function via AJAX it removes the captcha and then when your user submits it will probably fail (Not tested: I just looked at the code and saw it removes the 'bigo_uid').

Anyways. I want to ask for a feature that I cannot seem to get to work: Refresh Captcha (via AJAX call).

I tried changing the image src with mootools:

Code: Select all

image_captcha.set('src','index.php?option=com_user&task=displayCaptcha&code=' + Math.random());

The Math function is to ensure it gets updated from the server and not just comes from cache, but it just shows the ALT text without any errors. I can't find anything in the code that stops the request because of the Math function I added, so there must be some other reason that Bigo does not echo a new image.

thanks
drifter

dimitris02
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:03 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby dimitris02 » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:36 pm

Bigo Captcha image doesn't show when I choose the generic editor for yvComment. It works fine when the wysiwyg editor is enabled.

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby yvolk » Mon Dec 13, 2010 7:02 am

dimitris02 wrote:Bigo Captcha image doesn't show when I choose the generic editor for yvComment. It works fine when the wysiwyg editor is enabled.

The image has URL ;)
so you may compare the URLs in two cases and
you may open the URL of the "bad image" in a separate browser Tab to see maybe some error messages... or you may even download that "bad image" and look into it's code....
Text of all my messages is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License: http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html

dimitris02
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:03 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby dimitris02 » Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:08 pm

yvolk wrote:
dimitris02 wrote:Bigo Captcha image doesn't show when I choose the generic editor for yvComment. It works fine when the wysiwyg editor is enabled.

The image has URL ;)
so you may compare the URLs in two cases and
you may open the URL of the "bad image" in a separate browser Tab to see maybe some error messages... or you may even download that "bad image" and look into it's code....


There is no image at all. When generic editor is enabled the captcha validation is not there below the editor. It works fine with the wysiwyg editor. I can't see what's wrong.

pixiedavis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby pixiedavis » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:10 pm

Where is it now.

Not found in extensions directory.

Use it a lot, but lost my zip file

User avatar
sog2012
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:47 am

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby sog2012 » Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:13 am

Steve Hards wrote:@ Websith above:

Thanks for the modified install program and English instructions at your site

http://www.sol22.com/elibrary/1-web-development/113-bigo-captcha-extention-for-joomla-158.html

Worked like a charm!


That link is broken :'(

Is there any other link that will step me through setting up a captcha on my Joomla Contact page?
Best wishes and God bless.

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby yvolk » Sat Oct 01, 2011 8:07 am

sog2012 wrote:
Steve Hards wrote:@ Websith above:

Thanks for the modified install program and English instructions at your site

http:// ...

Worked like a charm!


That link is broken :'(

Is there any other link that will step me through setting up a captcha on my Joomla Contact page?


Hi, I'm attaching to this message the last version that I could find.

The file has name: "Bigo_Captcha_1_5_9.zip" and it has some instructions about how to install the Plugin (see install.html file inside the archive):

Please note: I had to remove 4 fonts from "plugin_bigocaptcha.zip\plg_bigocaptcha\plugins\system\Captcha04\fonts" directory to decrease the size of the package to 500kbytes (the forum restriction). See these four fonts in my next message (fonts.zip file)

Captcha by Bigo for JOOMLA 1.5.9 - 28th January 2009

I have tried all the other which I could not get to work properly. So I tried the Bigo version. I just about managed to get it to work even though I'm no php coder.

I tried all sorts of ways to get this to work both in my register page and my contact page. I trawled the Joomla forum for hours to find the information that people have tried to use to get it to work. I have put together this little package in English for you.

After hours and hours of trial and error I managed to get it to work in JOOMLA 1.5 **** This version is for JOOMLA 1.5.9 ****

***WARNING***

Before you start you should know that some Joomla core files are hacked, so backup your originals first! The way I do it is to rename the existing file:- for example default.php to default-original.php and then upload the hacked file. You can always delete the new one and rename your old one back to default.php if it doesn't work.

Install instructions

1. Unzip the package first!

2. Install the plugin as usual via your admin panel (plugin_bigcaptcha.zip) (Make sure you enable the plugin as all are installed disabled)

3. Replace all the files that you find in the files folder. (I have left the directory structure alone so you know where to find all the files and don't forget to backup your old ones just in case!)

*** DO NOT just copy the folders across! copy each individual file across ***

4. Login into admin and go to your each one of your contact records and at the bottom of the Contact Parameters section click 'Use Captcha': No, then click Apply and then click Yes and save it to be sure.

5. That should be it!

If you have the 'System - Cache' plugin turned on you must 'Clean Cache' first before you go look at your lovely shiny new simple captcha plugin in your registration form and your contact form.

The only drawback I have seen is that if a user gets the captcha word entry wrong they will have to input it all again. I don't how to php so I guess I will just have to wait until somebody with the right knowledge does it!

many thanks to bigo for this.

Hacked Files List

Contact Form
* administrator/components/com_contact/contact_items.xml (This has the extra parameter to enable Bigo)
* components/com_contact/controller.php (This has the call code for the captcha simply added to the bottom of the file)
* components/com_contact/views/contact/tmpl/default_form.php (This has the embedded captcha image in the form)
User Registration Form
* components/com_user/controller.php
* components/com_user/views/register/tmpl/default.php


Contact Image

It seems that the new 1.5.9 version will now show the contact image, the previous version 1.5.8 didn't work!

best regards
pete brooks
http://www.sol22.com
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Text of all my messages is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License: http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html

User avatar
yvolk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bigo Captcha

Postby yvolk » Sat Oct 01, 2011 8:12 am

yvolk wrote:Hi, I'm attaching to this message the last version that I could find.

The file has name: "Bigo_Captcha_1_5_9.zip" and it has some instructions about how to install the Plugin (see install.html file inside the archive):

Please note: I had to remove 4 fonts from "plugin_bigocaptcha.zip\plg_bigocaptcha\plugins\system\Captcha04\fonts" directory to decrease the size of the package to 500kbytes (the forum restriction). See these four fonts in my next message (fonts.zip file)

And in this message I'm attaching these four fonts from the original archive, see fonts.zip file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Text of all my messages is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License: http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html


Return to “Open Source Products for Joomla!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests