Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a referen

Need help installing Joomla!? For all Joomla! installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
hnasje
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:04 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby hnasje » Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:26 pm

Thanks for this great fix, I would never found this solution myself

denfordian
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:41 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby denfordian » Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:53 am

@kjellhahlen - Thank you for sharing this fix :)

My hosting provider emailed me about an hour before updating the server to PHP 5.3 which didn't really give me much time to research any implications to Joomla.
Many thanks again.

prjoshi
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby prjoshi » Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:41 am

Thanks! you saved my time....great work

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1211
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby TomT » Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:12 am

5 pages of happy people, :), just wanted to add my THANKS.

m3ali_103
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:11 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby m3ali_103 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:15 pm

A very simple solution to this problem (without any extra code):
In Function.php file line 92
replace this: $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), $arguments);
with $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), &$arguments);
In line 100 of the same file
replace this: $result = call_user_func_array($target, $arguments);
with : $result = call_user_func_array($target, &$arguments);

the solution is very simple put '&' before $arguments.

omaclay
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 1:47 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby omaclay » Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:15 am

Saved my life. You rock.

sokobanjas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:31 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby sokobanjas » Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:39 pm

It worked ! My sites apartmani sokobanja and sokobanja apartments are alive !!! Thanks a lot!!!

User avatar
koraf
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Molina de Segura
Contact:

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby koraf » Sat Dec 10, 2011 3:24 pm

Thousands and thousands of thanks kjellhahlen. The fix has solved the issue in several joomla 1.0.15 sites that some of my customers don't want to migrate to updated joomla versions due the migration costs of all components and templates.

Kind regards!

neil-dnnsigns
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:34 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby neil-dnnsigns » Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:18 am

;D thanks worked perfectly.

Neil

Oliver2000
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:20 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Oliver2000 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:33 pm

Absolute great help! Perfect fix in the minute.... thank you.


mantra123
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:39 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby mantra123 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:01 am

Thanks managed to fix the problem with the fix code

ronpeled
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:14 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby ronpeled » Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:46 am

kjellhahlen, thanks man! this totally saved my day and fixed the issue. I avoided trying to roll back mysql packages or trying to upgrade to latest version of Joomla.

Will be migrating into latest versioin which I believe is 1.7 or move to wordpress altogether. Thanks!
www.Activo.com - Activo: Providing Magento development services for medium size Magento retailers.
extensions.Activo.com - Activo Extensions: Providing a growing collection of quality magento extensions.

Atog
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:47 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Atog » Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:04 am

You safed my day with this patch!!! Thank you so much!

snakedude
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:08 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby snakedude » Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:02 pm

Guys this solution appears to be exactly what I need to get my website back up & running correctly, however I'm a complete novice so have no idea how to apply the fix, would it be possible to get some step by step instructions to sort it at all?

Thanks in advance,

Mike.

AgusDiaz
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:58 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby AgusDiaz » Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:39 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Thanks so much! Muchísimas gracias!

ItalloSan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:33 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby ItalloSan » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:39 am

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Brilliant - Cheers :D

gooalex
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:20 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby gooalex » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:38 am

Thank you very much helped

etna
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:03 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby etna » Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:25 pm

Kjell Hählen

Thank you, as I can see you saved a lot of people including me.

:) KaliMera OliMera

Sto0of
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:51 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Sto0of » Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:00 am

Kjell Hählen you're the man! Thanks a lot for that fix! :p

obscene
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:59 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby obscene » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:24 pm

this is an excellent solution which helped me when having to migrate one of my clients who hasn't been able to upgrade yet. thank you!

sgz
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby sgz » Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:45 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Thank you very much!!! I've got a site that's as good as dead, but must remain online, and your fix saved it after a fifth movement to another host :)

kjellhahlen - saving Joomla 1.0.x sites since 2010 :))

ShahG
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby ShahG » Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:24 am

Great job...

jengels
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:08 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby jengels » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:45 pm

Works like a charm ... WOOHOO

gabrielhch
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:50 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby gabrielhch » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:36 pm

Thanks for this solution!!! Good job

Mubi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Mubi » Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:14 pm

I use joomla 1.015 site i have litle same problem with PHP versie. When my hosting provider have upgrade PHP and Database to new version i get this message "Error establishing a database connection" and change my all text from frontpage. Backround/Admin side all text is working without any problem.. I have use same files (fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip) but didnt get any

New version
Database : 5.5.9
PHP Version: 5.2.17

old version
Database : 5.1.41
PHP Version: 5.2.17

stara
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby stara » Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:22 pm

stianhaugli wrote:I had a PM today from a user that couldnt figure this out, so
For your convenience:

I've attached patched files for joomla 1.0.15.
fix_joomla_1015_php_530.zip

Copy them to /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php and /includes/vcard.class.php
The _old files are the originla 1.0.15 source files. Dont copy them....

Your thanks should go to kjellhahlen for providing this sollution earlier in this thread.


Thanks for your solution.
I had 5-6 Joomla 1.0.xx sites on server and yor patch solved all
PHP version 5.3.10
Thanks again :)

vsabah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:03 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby vsabah » Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:24 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Excellent! ;)

krusty
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby krusty » Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:30 am

Thanks for the fix :) the .zip file did it for me!

an52
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:26 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby an52 » Sat May 19, 2012 4:04 am

Kjell, I realised I had a problem on a forgotten site perhaps 1-2 years after it first happened. Your files fixed the problem. Many thanks for sharing.


Return to “Installation - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests