The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:17 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 7:23 pm
Posts: 10
Hi ,
I am using Joomla 1.5 and would like to know if there is a way to embed Flash files in modules or articles.

Thank you very much
Nick Lazidis


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:31 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:28 am
Posts: 17
I had trouble using it, but you might try the extension called JUMI. It has an awesome rating and the developer of the extension offers a lot of help right here in this forum. You might try doing a search for "jumi flash" in the forum to find the posts where he helped me out. I ended up using a wrapper and it worked easily, but is not exactly how I wanted it to appear on my site, so I am planning on going back to JUMI to work on it more. I will watch this post so that maybe we can help each other out! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 3:25 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:40 pm
Posts: 276
Location: California
Hi,

About a week ago I posted an article with flash and had trouble getting it to work with IE. It looked perfect in all the other browsers. To get it in the article, I clicked on the html button and pasted the <object>flash code here </object> tag into the article. After saving the article and looking at in on the site, I was disappointed I couldn't see it.

I solved the IE problem by inserting the exact location of the .swf file (http://www.mysite.com/images/image.swf) into the <object> tag where the code was referencing the image source. Now the file looks just the way I want it to look.

Anna


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:11 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:50 am
Posts: 8
Hello good chaps,

I had a similar issue recently.

I switched from Joomla 1.0.14 RC1 to 1.5 and I when I went to post a new article, I could not find the embed flash button that was there in 1.0.14 RC1. I was very ticked off and I searched Google for a few minutes and did not find the answer as to how I could embed flash files. I was thinking that it might have been do-able through the insert image button, but it was not, and I kept telling myself all along that it was probably right under my nose.

Well, it was, but it wasn't. The film strip button turns out to be a insert/edit embeddable media button. I don't know what it was in 1.0.14 because I never used it, but that is how I am now embedding flash files.

I'm not sure if I am even on the same page as you guys, or if what you are talking about is completely unrelated.
However, if I helped in any way, I'll be a happy camper.

-Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:44 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:40 pm
Posts: 276
Location: California
Hey Chris,

Thanks for the information. I was like you and thought it was right under my nose somewhere but didn't go digging too far for it. I knew I could place the exact location of the .swf file into the html and that seemed to work for me. Next time I have to insert a flash file I will give the film strip a try.

Thanks,
Anna


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:40 am
Posts: 762
Hi - I am using 1.5.x with the JCE editor installed. I cannot find how to embed flash files in my content, cannot see any filmstrip icon....any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:32 pm
Posts: 225
Location: Alb, NM
The JoomlaFCK editor has an Insert/Edit Flash button; if youy want to try a different editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:29 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 131
I'm using the JCE editor with the Media plugin. I have a flash swf file that I'm trying to insert into an article. The insert works using the filmstrip icon, but when I view my site from the frontend, I don't see the video.

I had to convert the file to a flash file first because it was a 3GP file. What could be the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:36 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:28 am
Posts: 17
I just updated JCE editor and noticed the new plugin that looks promising. Will post as soon as I get a chance to work on it! This is hugely important to me, but I do have a ton of obligations right now. I hope that if anyone else tries this, they will post their results also!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:13 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 314
Location: LA
sdiggles wrote:
Did you figure it out? I tried getting it to work for a in an article and was unsuccesfull. The site is [url]http://www.rehab-programs.org and I want it right on the front page...not sure why it won't work? I used the direct path to the file and everything...


There are many here http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ia-display

_________________
Joomla Templates & VirtueMart Themes

http://www.vjtemplates.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:14 am 
I've been banned!

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:39 pm
Posts: 88
nickosl50 wrote:
Hi ,
I am using Joomla 1.5 and would like to know if there is a way to embed Flash files in modules or articles.

Thank you very much
Nick Lazidis



yes you can. you may use extensions called flashmod. search into extensions. very easy to use and pretty impressive.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:02 am
Posts: 8771
Location: Mars
Hi...

Other way for embed flash is use AllVideos extension
See also Flash Management extension

Hope this helps :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:20 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 131
I use AllVideos. It's a great extension to play Flash movies and very easy to set up and use. You can even play [youtube] movies on your site with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:31 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:19 am
Posts: 114
Location: Jeddah-Saudi Arabia
allvideos is a great one for this

_________________
PHP designer,
manager,RISEMYWEB
http://www.9or.cc | صور
http://www.risemyweb.com | موقعي


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:30 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 3
Thanks for the suggestion of using joomla works allVideos plugin.
Hi.. I have finally managed to embed a .swf file into a joomla article but how do I align it to the right?

In the article I simply put {swf}welcome{/swf} . Must be obvious!!
Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:25 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:02 am
Posts: 8771
Location: Mars
Hi...

Did you tried for using Align icon on TinyMCE ?
or on HTML editor, try put code like this :
Code:
<div style="text-align: right;">{swf}welcome{/swf}</div>


:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:55 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 7:46 am
Posts: 1
you can simply hard coded it to your index.php
Here's an example code I used;

<object width="436" height="268">
<param name="movie" value="magazinebanner.swf">
<embed src="/home/templates/bellatemplate/css/images/magazinebanner.swf" width="436" height="268">
</embed>
</object>

I created my own template, make sure the source path is correct since it tells your index.php where to locate your swf.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 1:43 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:33 am
Posts: 65
Hi
<object width="920" height="228">
<param name="movie" value="fla.swf">
<embed src="../images/fla.swf" width="920" height="226">
</embed>
</object>
try the above code to run the flash file in the modules and for articles try some available plugins.

_________________
-- Ganapathy
http://www.joomla-web-developer.net/ Outsource Web Development
http://www.joomla-website-development.com/ Outsource Website Design ,Outsource Web Designer.
Signature rules - 4 lines max


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 8:15 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:31 am
Posts: 10
I use HTMLmod extension. It allows for Javascript and php. I then use the code from Dreamweaver CS4 and embed the swf into a blank dreamweaver HTML page just so I get the code. I then paste that code into an HTMLmod Module and give a position of like "user2". I put the user2 position is below the "component" module. There is probably a better way, but its a way.


<object id="FlashID" classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="800" height="600">
<param name="movie" value="images/whatever.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="swfversion" value="7.0.70.0" />
<!-- This param tag prompts users with Flash Player 6.0 r65 and higher to download the latest version of Flash Player. Delete it if you don’t want users to see the prompt. -->
<param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf" />
<!-- Next object tag is for non-IE browsers. So hide it from IE using IECC. -->
<!--[if !IE]>-->
<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="images/cd_rom/rhodes_art.swf" width="800" height="600">
<!--<![endif]-->
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="swfversion" value="7.0.70.0" />
<param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf" />
<!-- The browser displays the following alternative content for users with Flash Player 6.0 and older. -->
<div>
<h4>Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.</h4>
<p><a href="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer"><img src="http://www.adobe.com/images/shared/download_buttons/get_flash_player.gif" alt="Get Adobe Flash player" width="112" height="33" /></a></p>
</div>
<!--[if !IE]>-->
</object>
<!--<![endif]-->
</object>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
swfobject.registerObject("FlashID");
//-->
</script>


I change the "FlashID" in the code to "FlashID2". If you have more than one swf you will need to identify each piece separately, just go up 3 and so on.

Put this in your head tag:
<script src="Scripts/swfobject_modified.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

You of course need those swfobject and express install files. You can get them from Google code.

All paths in this are from the root directory and not the templates directory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:01 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:56 pm
Posts: 1
This should do it

<p>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="500" height="130" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,24">
<param name="movie" value="test.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="menu" value="false" />
<param name="scale" value="noscale" />
</object>
</p>

Obviously change the file name and size to suit your file.

I had problems with Flash displaying in IE but not Google Chrome - this works in both!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:15 pm 
I've been banned!

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:08 pm
Posts: 6
hi there im messing about with a template called arausio_macula or something similar...
and the code above worked for me after inserting it in the 'user3' div...

Code:
<div id="user3">
<object width="80" height="20">
<param name="movie" value="Solutions.swf">
<embed src="/images/flash/Solutions.swf" width="80" height="20">
</embed>
<embed src="/images/flash/Clients.swf" width="80" height="20">
</embed>
</object>   


however, what im wondering is how to revert to the html modules in joomla if flash is not present
this line (commented out for now) seems to put my top menu buttons in so i guess i need to do some sort of if statement between these two ?

Code:
/* <jdoc:include type="modules" name="user3" /> */


after spending about 4 hours yesterday trying to put a flash button in with the administration pages i gave up and coded it in as per the examples here and it worked in about 5 seconds. im not sure whether this is the way one is supposed to do it in joomla though. any thoughts appreciated.

edit: answer here http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=428&t=604892


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:59 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:01 pm
Posts: 32
Hi to all and thanks for the great info on this thread.

i have used the "blank template" method in order to have a flash intro as a home page. The only difference is that i hard coded it to my index.php and not in a module or article.

The thing is that i want my flash intro to be full screen size depending on each ones resolution.
Is there a specific kind of code i need to add in for that.

I'm using one of the codes that was suggested above and the intro shows up and works fine but i want it full screen.

I'm using:

Code:
<object width="800" height="600">
<param name="movie" value="magazinebanner.swf">
<embed src="...../magazinebanner.swf" width="800" height="600">
</embed>
</object>


i have tried to change it to:width="100%" height="100%" but no luck.

Help please


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 5:56 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:32 pm
Posts: 3
I used joomla1.5 html module extension, these codes worked for me on my localhost. I think its the full url you need to put as src.

<object width="420" height="200">
<param name="movie" value="features.swf">
<embed src="http://localhost/joomla-x/images/features.swf" width="420" height="200">
</embed>
</object>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 6:05 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:32 pm
Posts: 3
I tested with joomla standard custom html module, these above codes worked for me as well. i tested on firefox.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:08 am
Posts: 346
Location: UK
This is so frustrating. I've tried so many ways to add the Flash code (html file created by another agency calling the flash file with in it) to an article/module and it "appears" to work in the backend, as in I can see the Flash file, but then when I go to the front end, it's not loading it!

_________________
Follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/RustyJoomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:41 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:46 pm
Posts: 3
I'm personally having issues not with getting the .swf file to show up, but with getting it to load external data in. (It is a widget for designing products; it works by importing data from some .xml and .txt files and then loading in images from urls given in those files.) I've tried using several different extensions like SWFObject and Flexi Custom Code. (Using Joomla 1.7.) The widget works fine on a normal web page, but not on Joomla, which is kind of irritating. If anyone has any clear guidelines for how to make this work, I'd be happy to receive them either here or in a PM. (Happy to give the site name, details etc. too.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:07 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:54 am
Posts: 3
Try This:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">
      <!--
      var MM_contentVersion = 6;
      var plugin = (navigator.mimeTypes && navigator.mimeTypes["application/x-shockwave-flash"]) ? navigator.mimeTypes["application/x-shockwave-flash"].enabledPlugin : 0;
      if ( plugin ) {
        var words = navigator.plugins["Shockwave Flash"].description.split(" ");
        for (var i = 0; i < words.length; ++i) {
          if (isNaN(parseInt(words[i])))
          continue;
          var MM_PluginVersion = words[i];
        }
        var MM_FlashCanPlay = MM_PluginVersion >= MM_contentVersion;
      } else if (navigator.userAgent && navigator.userAgent.indexOf("MSIE")>=0 && (navigator.appVersion.indexOf("Win") != -1)) {
        document.write('<SCR' + 'IPT LANGUAGE=VBScript\> \n'); //FS hide this from IE4.5 Mac by splitting the tag
        document.write('on error resume next \n');
        document.write('MM_FlashCanPlay = ( IsObject(CreateObject("ShockwaveFlash.ShockwaveFlash." & MM_contentVersion)))\n');
        document.write('</SCR' + 'IPT\> \n');
      }
      if ( MM_FlashCanPlay ) {
        AC_FL_RunContent('codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8.0.22.0','width','640','height','360','id','88','src','my_flash_movie.swf','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','/nail/video/nfc_home_video.swf');      } else {
        document.write('');
      }
    //-->
    </script>
    <noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8.0.22.0" width="640" height="360" id="88\"> <param name="movie" value="my_flash_movie.swf"/> <param name="quality" value="high" /><embed src="my_flash_movie.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="360" name="88"></embed></object></noscript>


Replace it with your movie. with actual width and and the path of the SWF file. Should Work Fine!
Amarnath Jaganathan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:31 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:46 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for that :). I got it working in the end without using that, just by setting all the paths to absolute ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:31 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 7
this is easy method

i found the solution
here is step to step guide

1) upload ur flash intro HTML file (index.html default) where index.php is there in ur server using ftp client
( keep divert of flash intro to http://www.yoursite.com/index.php/home)
if going with the description below

ADMINISTRATOR backend

1) go to global setting and click yes for friendly url ( this will make ur site look http://www.yoursite.com/index.php/home insted of http://www.yoursite.com/index.php?=-adfgjkldhgklsdf
2) rename HOME button with INTRO under Main Menu
3) Create New Button Name it HOME ( button type should be Article-->Front Page Blog as it was before for HOME Button)
4) Now Edit INTRO Button and make it visible to Special instead of public

Now you wont see the default button which diverts u back to intro which every time play's intro when clicked home


thx
Dhruv Shah


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group