The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:41 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 9
May i ask if anyone has seen or knows how to make Joomla 1.5 "System Messages" open in Modal Windows?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10891
Location: Ireland
You could try something like this:

Code:
window.addEvent('domready', function(e) {
    SqueezeBox.initialize({});
    SqueezeBox.fromElement($('system-message'), {handler: 'adopt'});
});


Olaf

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:29 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 9
Olaf,

Thank you very much for your help!

Could you point us to which file we should edit to achieve this.. We are not sure which one it its

Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10891
Location: Ireland
Just add it to any JS file.
or add it as a script to the tempalte.

Olaf

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:42 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 77
can you please tell how we can achieve same thing in joomla 1.7

_________________
http://www.mallustube.tv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:47 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10891
Location: Ireland
try to add this to the head section of your template's index.php file:
Code:
<?php JHTML::_('behavior.modal'); ?>
<script>
window.addEvent('domready', function(e) {
if($('system-message')) {
    SqueezeBox.initialize({});
    SqueezeBox.fromElement($('system-message'), {handler: 'adopt'});
}
});
</script>


Olaf

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:33 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 77
nope :( it dint worked

i added that script above the <?php tag is that ok ? but it dint work.

_________________
http://www.mallustube.tv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:20 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10891
Location: Ireland
Which joomla version do you have, which mootools version? does your template change anything in respect to mootools? Do you have any other javascripts loaded. Did you add it to the correct location?

Olaf

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:29 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 77
joomla version - Joomla! 1.7.2 Stable

am using joomla xtc template,

am a beginer in joomla so not sure about how to find mootools version
but i checked my installation folder and found 3 mootool javascripts
which are

mootools-core-uncompressed.js
mootools-core.js
mootools-more-uncompressed.js

while checking these files i found version as 1.3.2 (not sure if ur asking for the same)


dont know how to find if other javascripts are loaded or not can you please help me ?

while checking the plugin area i found that JoomlaXTC Modal plugin is installed and activated.


the location which i added that script is above the <?php tag in index.php file in template folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Olaf, that is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you for taking the time to post.

I also found this tutorial on how to set it up step by step:

http://www.minitek.gr/tutorials/templates-tutorials/item/44-how-to-display-joomla-system-messages-in-a-modal-window.html

_________________
Lance Thompson
CEO, Blue Sky Web Worx
http://www.BlueSkyWebWorx.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:52 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 77
@lancert that tutorial solved your problem?

Actually i had tried that before posting here. But it dint work for me. Actually i don’t understand which file to edit and which position to add those scripts.

His tutorial is not for beginners i think :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:51 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10891
Location: Ireland
Do you have a URL so I can have a look at it?

Olaf

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Picdome, you need to edit the index.php file inside the the template folder you are using. Look inside:

templates/name_of_your_template/index.php

Edit that file with an HTML or text editor.



STEP ONE: Add the default Joomla system message code, if needed

If this is an existing template you are using, it will probably already have the system message code somewhere where it will display Joomla's system messages:

Code:
<jdoc:include type="message" />

If it's not already there, you usually want to add it right above this code:

Code:
<jdoc:include type="component" />




STEP TWO: Load Mootools which will create the animated pop-up modal message

Right after the opening <head> tag, add this code:

Code:
JHTML::_('behavior.mootools');
JHTML::_('behavior.modal');

NOTE: Is you get a Mootools conflict error, your site is probably already loading Mootools. Try removing the this section of code.



STEP THREE: Add the JavaScript Code to automatically "pop-up" the system message"

Right before the CLOSING </head> tag add this code:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
window.addEvent('domready', function(){
 if( $('system-message') ){
 SqueezeBox.initialize();
 SqueezeBox.open( $('system-message'), {
 handler: 'adopt',
 shadow: true,
 overlayOpacity: 0.5,
 size: {x: 600, y: 100},
 onOpen: function(){
 $('system-message').setStyle('visibility', 'visible');
 }
 });
 }
});
</script>

You can adjust the settings in the JavaScript code how you want.

_________________
Lance Thompson
CEO, Blue Sky Web Worx
http://www.BlueSkyWebWorx.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:09 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 77
lancert & ooffick Thanks for your help :)


at last it worked and now i found out the real problem actually my template is custom made one so in index.php contains some PHP script which call some other files. normal index.php structures is divided into different files. Whatever now i find out those files and edited it. It starts showing the modal windows thanks.

_________________
http://www.mallustube.tv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:26 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:23 am
Posts: 1
Hi picdome,

I'm also using a JoomlaXTC template, with the index.php file also calling other php files. What were the files that you edited to achieve the modal windows?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:04 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 77
i had send u a PM :) chk it it will solve ur problem i belv

_________________
http://www.mallustube.tv


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group