not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Need help installing Joomla! 2.5? For all Joomla! 2.5 installation issues please use this forum. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
krisgunn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:00 am

not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby krisgunn » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am

I have tried to do a new Joomla 1.7.3 Stable Full Package install on a Linux server , on which I had already created a new empty database.
My server's settings:
MySQL v. 5.0.92
PHP v. 5.2.17
My entered Basic Settings: db type: MySQLi
hostname : localhost
Username: my user name for that particular database
Password: password for the user that can access that db
dbname: the name of the new empty db
table prefix: a 4-character ( all lowercase letters) followed by an underscore

After filling in the basic settings , then pressing next, I get the following message:
An error occurred while trying to create the database dbrrtn.
The user may not have enough privileges to create a database. The required database may need to be created separately before you can install Joomla!.


How can I get past this step?

User avatar
ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18490
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: Toledo, OH
Contact:

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby ranwilli » Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:31 am

Unless your database name is "dbrrtn", you have probably filled the form out wrong.
Don't HACK the Joomla! core. Extend and Override.
http://harpervance.com -
Live Joomla! Help available at the site M-F, 9-12 am edt 2-5pm edt.
by appointment on evenings and weekends.

krisgunn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:00 am

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby krisgunn » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:52 pm

That is the name of the database. (That would be a very basic error though! :)

User avatar
ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18490
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: Toledo, OH
Contact:

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby ranwilli » Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:52 pm

Well, for some reason, Joomla can't alter the db, Have you checked the privileges you assigned to that user?
Don't HACK the Joomla! core. Extend and Override.
http://harpervance.com -
Live Joomla! Help available at the site M-F, 9-12 am edt 2-5pm edt.
by appointment on evenings and weekends.

krisgunn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:00 am

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby krisgunn » Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:59 pm

I have done that and that user has read write delete privileges on all tables.

User avatar
ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18490
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: Toledo, OH
Contact:

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby ranwilli » Sat Dec 03, 2011 10:03 pm

Well, there are a lot more privileges than that available.
Don't HACK the Joomla! core. Extend and Override.
http://harpervance.com -
Live Joomla! Help available at the site M-F, 9-12 am edt 2-5pm edt.
by appointment on evenings and weekends.

krisgunn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:00 am

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3

Postby krisgunn » Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:46 pm

Yes. I have given all privileges to that user for that database only.

krisgunn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:00 am

Re: not enough privileges to create a database-Joomla 1.7.3F

Postby krisgunn » Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:15 pm

Works! :D
I removed that non-working database user, and made a new one with all privileges and tried again and now all works. So I assume I must have neglected some privileges in the previous user. Thank you for your help.


Return to “Installation Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests