Feed display caching problem

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Randal258
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 7:19 am

Feed display caching problem

Post by Randal258 » Tue May 17, 2011 7:27 am

We are using the default feed display module in Joomla 1.6.3 to display 2 news feed from google.
When we however turn on the caching under global options these feeds will only display on the first page (menu item) that gets generated, any other pages/menus will have these module positions show as empty.

We tried memcache and file cache and neither works. Disabling the module cache itself has no effect either.

To issue is visible on http://www.socialcrm.nl and then on the bottom of the page are 3 module positions (QR code / feed / feed) the feeds will show up on the frontpage but not on other pages/menu items.

Does anyone have any idea on how to resolve this?

maureliusb4
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:14 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by maureliusb4 » Tue May 17, 2011 7:59 pm

I am also experiencing a caching problem with Joomla 1.6.3.

Whenever I turn on the caching under the global options to either conservative caching or progessive caching, some of my column widths on content pages stick. What I mean by this is if the left column displays on one content page and not the next, a blank space appears where the left column was on the previous page.

The only way to get things to display properly after clearing all server and browser cache is to leave caching disabled under the global configuration settings. I would appreciate any help with this issue as well.

Thanks,
Matt

Randal258
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by Randal258 » Tue May 24, 2011 12:35 pm

The problem seems to persist, and i believe i've exhausted all caching options.
Whether it's file or memcache, progressive or conservative caching the feed display module will be empty at some point. The only solution to get the feed to display again is clearing out the cache manually.

Any insight or help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
jazzvox
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:31 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by jazzvox » Sat May 28, 2011 2:41 pm

Read http://joomla-extensions.kubik-rubik.de ... omla-cache - this seems to work:

Code: Select all

// Clean Cache
$cache = JFactory::getCache();
$cache->clean();		
$cache->remove($cache->makeId(), 'page');
I've used it on http://starthilfeberlin.de/ in mod_feed.php, right before:

Code: Select all

$feed = modFeedHelper::getFeed($params);
But I suggest this can be solved in a better way...
Web, Business, Berlin, World, Politik..
Jetzt lesen unter www.strassen-030.de

Randal258
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 7:19 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by Randal258 » Mon May 30, 2011 9:00 am

jazzvox thank you very much for the idea, however this does not seem to do anything for me.
I am however looking further into doing something to the cache so that it will not cache or interfere with the RSS Feeds i am displaying on our site.

User avatar
jazzvox
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:31 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by jazzvox » Tue May 31, 2011 8:26 am

Randal258 wrote:jazzvox thank you very much for the idea, however this does not seem to do anything for me.
I am however looking further into doing something to the cache so that it will not cache or interfere with the RSS Feeds i am displaying on our site.
This will do it:
// FIX! Clean Cache
$cache = JFactory::getCache('feed_parser');
$cache->clean();
Upload your own default.php > /templates/yours/html/mod_feed/
to overwrite the core template as usual, and put this right after:

Code: Select all

if ($feed != false)
{
....
Took me some effort to find out WHERE the data is stored.

The fortune is that this way all other cache files will not be touched ;-)
Web, Business, Berlin, World, Politik..
Jetzt lesen unter www.strassen-030.de

PaulPreston
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:53 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by PaulPreston » Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:30 pm

I found a solution for this issue which works for me...
You can fix it by changing line 501 in libraries/joomla/cache/cache.php from

Code: Select all

if ($loptions['nohead'] != 1) {

to

Code: Select all

 if ($loptions['nohead'] != 1 && method_exists($document, 'getHeadData')) {


Source URL:
http://www.sermonspeaker.net/forum/Serm ... feeds.html
--
Paul Preston - Senior IT Consultant
http://www.proxar.co.uk

TownWebsites
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:00 am
Contact:

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by TownWebsites » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:36 pm

Wondered if anyone has tracked this down? I'd like to have real working cache for the feed!

Thanks.

Charlie
Randal258 wrote:
Does anyone have any idea on how to resolve this?

TownWebsites
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:00 am
Contact:

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by TownWebsites » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:06 pm

OK, so this looks like a good track, but I find different code at line #501,
instead of :

Code: Select all

if ($loptions['nohead'] != 1) {
What I see is:

Code: Select all

 if (isset($options['nohead'])) { 
.

Probably the right place still, but is this relevant to V1.7.3?

Thanks!

Charlie

PaulPreston wrote:I found a solution for this issue which works for me...
You can fix it by changing line 501 in libraries/joomla/cache/cache.php from

Code: Select all

if ($loptions['nohead'] != 1) {

to

Code: Select all

 if ($loptions['nohead'] != 1 && method_exists($document, 'getHeadData')) {


Source URL:
http://www.sermonspeaker.net/forum/Serm ... feeds.html

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by rowdyred94 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:17 am

The line of code mentioned above is down at about 529 for Joomla 1.7.3.

Alas, it still doesn't solve my disappearing module feeds.

nate206
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:45 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by nate206 » Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:40 pm

I am using joomla 1.7.3 and the same thing happens to me with an admin feed display module. I linked in the security news feed and when cache is enabled the feed displays initially until I move away from the control panel. Once I navigate back the text from the feed no longer shows. Sometimes the text from the feed comes back when I log in later but the same thing happens once I navigate away from the cpanel to do something then come back. If cache is disabled then it works. I tried disabled caching of the feed display module (in advanced options on the module) and that didn't work. I discovered once I delete the feed_parser directory and all its files the feed text displayed (in the /httpdocs/administrator/cache directory).

I used the code:
// FIX! Clean Cache
$cache = JFactory::getCache('feed_parser');
$cache->clean();

I put this in the file: /httpdocs/administrator/modules/mod_feed/mod_feed.php
above this line:
//check if cache diretory is writable as cache files will be created for the feed

I assume this code just deletes the feed_parser cache like I did manually in ftp.
Not sure if this is a bug or something I did on my end, but the text seems to show.

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by rowdyred94 » Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:45 pm

Thanks, Nate! I'll give it a try.

Update: This seems to have fixed my podcast manager feed, but the feed display modules still go blank on refresh.

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by rowdyred94 » Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:20 pm

Bump. Still a problem after the 2.5 update. I found a related thread that suggested removing odd characters (&, -, and / in my case) from the meta data, but no dice.

eiaccb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by eiaccb » Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:19 pm

Alright, I think I know what happens. I don't know why it happens or how to fix it, but maybe this description of the problem will help.

What happens is that two different cached blobs are involved. When trying to get the information, a check is made for it at cache/feed_parser/xxxxxx.php and the result is extracted from that file if it exists. If it does not exist, then a connection is made to the feed and the result is stored in a different place, namely at cache/mod_feed/yyyyyy.php so that it is not found next time. This would be just an inconvenience were it not because the first file (the one at cache/feed_parser) is created too, but without the right content. I my case, it holds:

Code: Select all

<?php die("Access Denied"); ?>#x#a:2:{s:6:"output";s:0:"";s:6:"result";b:1;}
I.e. result just contains a boolean true value instead of what it should contain.

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by rowdyred94 » Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:45 am

Thanks for that. My feed_parser file contains the same, though I don't have the mod_feed directory at all.

I'm still frustrated by this problem. I'd have thought that after 7 minor version updates the problem would have been resolved. I tried today on 2.5.3, and the problem still occurs.

sdsi
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:05 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by sdsi » Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:10 pm

Hi,

Any sugest to SOLVE this problem?

I am using the default feed display module in Joomla 2.5.3 to display news RSS feed from other site.

It works ok without cache system. When I turn ON Joomla cache system - module shows nothing.

Please - help! :'(

Spitz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by Spitz » Sun Apr 01, 2012 6:37 am

Same problem here :( with J 2.5.3

fgrasso
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:04 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by fgrasso » Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:24 pm

Same problem om y web site where i use two external rss... :(

realdtc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:23 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by realdtc » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:36 am

Same problem on my website with joomla 2.5.4.
Are there any news about fixing the rss-feed-cache-problem ?

fgrasso
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:04 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by fgrasso » Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:07 am

Now seems working.

I completely disable the Joomla system cache (in configuration.php and plugins), installed components Jotcache.

All seems working on all browsers.

realdtc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:23 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by realdtc » Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:26 pm

We dont talk about the system-cache-plugin. It's the global system cache, which doesnt work with the rss-feed-module...

adineh
I've been banned!
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:05 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by adineh » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:02 pm

fgrasso yes i do it and it solve my problem

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by rowdyred94 » Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:35 pm

Version 2.5.6 and this is still broken. Very disappointing as I have many sites that use RSS modules (or would... I've had to disable them all). I'd hate to have to implement fgrasso's solution on all of them.

Developers, any feedback on this at all?

Spitz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by Spitz » Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:59 am

for me too
is only our problem? anyone that can help?

dragossani
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:41 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by dragossani » Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:05 pm

Same here. Rss-feed-module is useless when cache is on. Without caching it's slow. J! 2.5.6 and still no solution.

Pamaceclo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:13 am

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by Pamaceclo » Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:10 am

Same for me with the built-in RSS news feed extension (not module) for J! 2.5.6
When clearing the cache, it works, but blank pages are generated afterwards, when coming back on those news feed pages. I'm checking if this has been reported as a bug, and if not, report it.
Very annoying.

User avatar
vashanka
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:19 pm
Location: Reno, Nevada
Contact:

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by vashanka » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:40 pm

For those of you having problems with caching of RSS feeds, please try enabling both of the following:

1. Global Configuration > System > Cache Settings > On
2. Extensions > Plug-in Manager > System - Cache > Status: Enabled

Doing so works on my site with RSS feeds on the home page.

For those of you with systems administration access, I use APC for server-side caching. You shouldn't see this option in Joomla's caching settings unless APC is installed.

rowdyred94
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by rowdyred94 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:59 am

I'm almost certain that the system cache plugin was always enabled, but I just tried it again (2.5.7) and my feeds disappeared on reload. I'm using JotCache per an earlier suggestion with good results.

chachu201
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:44 pm
Location: Santiago, Chile

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by chachu201 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:33 am

I am still having this issue across multiple sites with 2.5.7. It would be really great if this issue could be resolved as soon as possible - the fixes here seem to work but it would be even better if the system plugins would work.

Spitz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Feed display caching problem

Post by Spitz » Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:40 am

tried again today and still nothing...if can help I post what I'm using
I'm using a gavick template,
with gavick cache (taht works along with system cache)
and trying to see a RSS showed by ultimate feed display


Locked

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 2.5”