The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Global Rules
Posting guidelines for this board <-- please read before posting.

Joomla Idea Pool <-- Add your suggestions for future versions of Joomla and vote on current suggestions.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 1:34 pm
Posts: 3
Jquery should be default in Joomla.

Just look at the trends: http://www.google.com/trends?q=jquery,+mootools


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:46 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 2:13 pm
Posts: 7962
Location: The Netherlands
I think developers have a strong hand in this too. I started implementing JQuery also in my components as it is more powerfull then Mootools. Maybe this should become a core functionality.

_________________
Robert Dam - Joomla Forum Moderator
Dutch Boards | Joomla Coding Boards | English Support Boards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 12:18 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:42 pm
Posts: 1152
Quote:
as it is more powerfull then Mootools
Don`t agree on that and also you can not compete these two, because they overlap in the functionality but do not the same things. There is a nice article from Aaron Newton you may want to read if not already done. http://jqueryvsmootools.com/
Quote:
I think developers have a strong hand in this too. Maybe this should become a core functionality.
I think the devs don`t do this. http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-d ... da180f48a5
there is a post from Andrew Eddie starting with
Quote:
Let me say something. Joomla is not going to change it's core
javascript framework. However, we do make every effort to use it in
such a way as to play nice with the other frameworks/libraries in so
much as they do it in return.
but maybe at some time in the future we see Joomla shipped with jquery


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:49 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 35
Maybe there could be some plugin bundled with Joomla! which would just load some of the most used Javascript libraries on the front-end.

"Jquery", "Mootools", ... (Prototype ?).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:35 pm
Posts: 21
In the past I created a plugin which loaded jquery and disabled mootools in the frontend so I didn't have to include jquery in every single component I wrote. But I would definitely prefer a built in feature to load jquery (in the nonconflict mode of course).
It would be a huge disapointment if this feature wouldn't be available in at least the j3.0 version.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group