public $live_site = ''; - issues

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
imgjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:22 pm

public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby imgjohn » Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:13 pm

I have a site that I am subhosting:
my site reads: http://www.mysite.com/adc/

In the configuration file I enter in:
public $live_site = 'http://www.abcdefgh.com/';

BUT when I go to the site it shows:
http://www.abcdefgh.com/abc/

What is going on here?

I even tried just leaving: public $live_site = '';

But it doesnt work.

imgjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:22 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby imgjohn » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:38 pm

anything? this is kind of urgent.

janaf
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby janaf » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:55 pm

If you want replies, you need to provide more info.
What kind of server, how is your site configured? Versions / type of web server etc.
I suggest you use the FPA: viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860
I have a site that I am subhosting:
my site reads: http://www.mysite.com/adc/

What does this mean? On your server? On your space on a shared server?
Is that the correct domain name and path that you want or the wrong one?
You want replies? Search the forum. Most questions have been anserd many times. If not; what have you done, what do you want to do, what have you tried? Be clear and explicit!
----
ToolGeeks, handicrafts and tools community: http://www.toolgeeks.net

imgjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:22 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby imgjohn » Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:12 pm

Godaddy server.

My main website: http://www.mysite.com

Then I created another site that is subhosted on my server.

I have a site that I am subhosting:
my site reads: http://www.mysite.com/adc/

So instead of: http://www.abcdefgh.com/
It shows: http://www.abcdefgh.com/abc/

janaf
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby janaf » Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:35 pm

Sorry, I do not understand, so I can not help.
You want replies? Search the forum. Most questions have been anserd many times. If not; what have you done, what do you want to do, what have you tried? Be clear and explicit!
----
ToolGeeks, handicrafts and tools community: http://www.toolgeeks.net

imgjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:22 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby imgjohn » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:39 pm

does anyone else understand my issue? :'(

glk70
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby glk70 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:10 am

Do you have activate rewrite page via .htaccess

if so the reason is simple
your .htaccess controls the rewriting of the urls for your site.
even if you have installed ANOTHER site in a subdirectory the .htaccess in the root site controls all url rewritings.

so you should modify your .htaccess to handle http//..../adc with different reqriting rules.

imgjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:22 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby imgjohn » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:58 pm

In Joomla 1.5 I never had this issue and only in Joomla 1.7 I have.

glk70
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby glk70 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:02 am

imgjohn wrote:In Joomla 1.5 I never had this issue and only in Joomla 1.7 I have.

this is not a point
have you checked your .htaccess ?

imgjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:22 pm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby imgjohn » Thu Jan 19, 2012 3:19 pm

what would I check on it?

frighten
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: public $live_site = ''; - issues

Postby frighten » Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:50 pm

But if your site is accessed from http://www.mysite.com/adc/ , shouldn't the live path in the config also be something like that? ( http://www.mysite.com/adc/ )?

And also, might just be a typo, but you are showing us two diffrent paths:
http://www.mysite.com/adc/ with d
http://www.mysite.com/abc/ with b

A better way to do a "subhosting" is actually to create a subdomain. ( www.abc.yoursite.com )


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests