The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: URL and Alias problem
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:51 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:19 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Athens, Greece
Hello guys,

Although my SEO settings (global configuration) are all turned to YES, htaccess.txt renamed to .htaccess and all my article's alias are set, it doesn't seem to work at my url bar
My site is http://www.afoikanavitsa.gr
When I select the "ΑΡΧΙΚΗ ΣΕΛΙΔΑ" from the menu (which means Home Page) my URL= http://www.afoikanavitsa.gr/2011-12-06-18-02-09.html although it should be http://www.afoikanavitsa.gr/home
Does any of you have any idea why this is happening and how I can fix it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:56 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22632
Location: Chennai, India
In the Global Configuration, in the section SEO Settings, change the value of the option Unicode Alisases and see what happens. What is the setting you currently have?

After making the option change, remove the alias from the menu item and save it for the option to work.

Note: In your case, as the language you are using is non-Latin based, there could be an issue as the logic will not translate the menu item title. What you could do is to type the alias ("Home") yourself manually instead of leaving it for the system to fill the alias automatically.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:16 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:19 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Athens, Greece
Tnx a lot m8 you are great. When I changed the menu alias, was fixed! But it was not possible to add alias to my language(greek), when I saved it in greek it changed it to numbers.
Another thing, how I can get rid of the suffix .html from there?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22632
Location: Chennai, India
In the Global Configuration, in the section SEO Settings, change the value of the parameter Add suffix to URLs to No.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:19 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Athens, Greece
Any idea about Alias in greek, why isn't accepting non latin characters?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:25 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22632
Location: Chennai, India
Try the extension Unicode slugs SEF (http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/site-management/sef/10275).

Quote:
What about getting in Joomla!™ accented urls (for those using a latin alphabet) or with your own language glyphs (in Greek, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, Persian, etc.)?

Until now Joomla was only proposing ASCII urls when using its native SEF. Titles (articles, menu items, etc.) were replaced by a date in the alias when written in a non-latin alphabet.

Grace to this system plugin, we have no more transliteration, spaces as well as special forbidden characters are transformed to hyphens.
Wikipedia demonstrates this in Persian:http://ps.wikipedia.org/wiki/فارسي
is in fact:
http://ps.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D9%81%D8% ... 8%B3%D9%8A

Google has no problem searching or referencing such links.
The url to an article describing this plugin functionnalities is http://info-graf.fr/infografcvs/des-urls-de-toute-beauté.html
Caps as well as the accented letters are kept in the url.

Tip: Browsers behave differently when copying such urls. Firefox will copy the unicode format while Opera will get the original glyphs.

Caution:
1. This plugin loads a modified version of the class « Jfilteroutput » (libraries/joomla/filter/filteroutput.php). While this class has not been modified since 2007/03/15, it could be in the future and therefore necessitate an update of this plugin.
2.Some 3pd extensions may have modified this class for their own needs through JExtend. Therefore, there could be incompatibility as this plugin loads last.

PS: English and French language included.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:08 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:19 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Athens, Greece
I tried this but Im getting "404 - Component not found" when writting alias in greek.
Anyway I dont mind very much right now. :'(

You are very helpful m8 thank you very much.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22632
Location: Chennai, India
You are very welcome... Glad to be of help. However, you issue has not been addressed fully.

Suggest, posting your question about the extension Unicode Slug Plugin at http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=473&t=447689&start=0.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:19 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Athens, Greece
Oh sure I'm going to :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17238
Location: **Translation Matters**
mikelamar wrote:
I tried this but Im getting "404 - Component not found" when writting alias in greek.
Anyway I dont mind very much right now. :'(

You are very helpful m8 thank you very much.

The important to check is
Quote:
2.Some 3pd extensions may have modified this class for their own needs through JExtend. Therefore, there could be incompatibility as this plugin loads last.


This could lead to your 404.

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:12 am
Posts: 13
I clicked on your website's url; it is working fine. For the url issue you mentioned, I think it will be best to contact your web hosting provider to get a definite answer.

_________________
http://www.webhosting.uk.com/windows-hosting.php | http://www.webhosting.uk.com/reseller-hosting.php


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group