The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10943
Location: Ireland
Here you can discuss about the release of Joomla! 2.5.0.

Please see announcement for details: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=690843

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:53 am
Posts: 831
Location: Switzerland
Congrats guys! well done, and on time!

@All: you should check that your extensions are compatible before rushing to upgrade.
CB team will check Community Builder compatibility and post news on joomlapolis.com and update post here with findings on the final 2.5.0 stable release.

EDIT: Saw Joomla 1.7.4 security release announcement too. Cool !

Are the vulnerabilities discussed also affecting Joomla 1.5.25 ?
If yes, is a Joomla 1.5.26 security release is needed too ?

(To avoid same discussion as for Joomla 1.7.0 security release to be redone, please see this post and replies to it and decisions made here:
viewtopic.php?p=2565650#p2565650
)

_________________
Beat 8)
www.joomlapolis.com <= Community Builder + CBSubs Joomla membership payment system - team
hosting.joomlapolis.com <= Joomla! Hosting, by the CB Team


Last edited by Beat on Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:13 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:15 am
Posts: 166
congrats guys... within moments after the release of 2.5 ..... it ws up n running on my website.. the update was lightning fast... will slowly shift all my clients on 2.5....

anywayz, i extend my heartiest wishes to the Joomla team... god bless you guys for keeping such a wonderful CMS up n running, going on forever ....
I am proud to be a part of such gigantic community....
god bless.....

_________________
http://z9it.com....Bringing the best of www, in a gist...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Beat wrote:
Congrats guys! well done, and on time!
Same congrats from me!
Quote:
However, me thinks that a Joomla 1.7.4 security release is needed too asap, as Joomla 1.7 is under maintainance still!
And if security issue affects Joomla 1.5 too, a Joomla 1.5.26 security release is needed too.
Me thinks the same!

Edit: That is fast! Cool!

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Last edited by leolam on Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:53 am
Posts: 831
Location: Switzerland
I edited my post above regarding Joomla 1.7.4 release, as I saw the announcement posted on homepage here:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/rel ... eased.html

But didn't see an announcement thread and a discussion thread for 1.7.4 yet. That's why i missed 1.7.4 at begin!! Sorry about that.

So: Well done for Joomla 1.7.4 maintenance release as well ! :-)

Question for 1.5.25 affected or not by this vulnerability ? stays.

The 4 security builtins say "1.7.3 and before", so is 1.5.25 included ?

_________________
Beat 8)
www.joomlapolis.com <= Community Builder + CBSubs Joomla membership payment system - team
hosting.joomlapolis.com <= Joomla! Hosting, by the CB Team


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:30 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:59 pm
Posts: 1485
Congratulations for the new Joomla 2.5!! There are a lot of improvements again.
I have only just updated one of my test sites from Joomla 1.7.3 to 2.5 with the integrated one button update function and noticed that the version information in the control panel is not displayed where it used to be. A small thing but I always used to check there whether an update was successful.
Attachment:
version information.JPG


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:41 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
tschumler wrote:
noticed that the version information in the control panel is not displayed where it used to be.
correct. The version is at present visible at "System Information" This will return most likely in Joomla 2.5.1 in some way (module?) and was removed due to a minor security issue related for the main release today

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:44 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/rel ... eased.html

on Joomla frontend gives blank page

Edit: Nicely restored! Back online

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Last edited by leolam on Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:52 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:59 pm
Posts: 1485
I checked the version information in System Information after I noticed that it's missing at the usual place. It did not bother me but I am so used to check there after updates that I noticed it immediately.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:10 pm
Posts: 10943
Location: Ireland
leolam wrote:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5403-joomla-250-released.html
on Joomla frontend gives blank page

Thanks for the report, the team is working on it. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

Edit: And it is back online!

Olaf

_________________
Olaf Offick - Global Moderator
http://learnskills.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
tschumler wrote:
I checked the version information in System Information after I noticed that it's missing at the usual place. It did not bother me but I am so used to check there after updates that I noticed it immediately.
It has been posted to the Bugsquad as inconvenient by several members of BS indeed

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:07 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:00 am
Posts: 324
Is there a link to what a security release means? Can the general joomla user start upgrading to 2.5 from today?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:25 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:59 pm
Posts: 1485
There were quite a lot of fixes and improvements. :) http://www.joomla.org/announcements/rel ... eased.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:42 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:59 pm
Posts: 1485
Just noticed that version, date and author informations are missing in Extension Manager for Smart Search Component, all Plugins and Module as well as for System Highlight.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:49 pm 
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 2301
Location: Akron PA
Thank you for all the hard work. I think the new release is going to be a good one.

Some of us are getting a 1060 error on the upgrade (I did not have it on the beta 2). That discussion is here - viewtopic.php?f=625&t=690870&p=2726770#p2726770

_________________
http://alsweb.aembz.us


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:25 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:59 pm
Posts: 1485
The Article Plugin, Image Plugin and Page Break always insert the link the image or the pagebreak at the beginning of the article and not where the cursor is located.
This is new in Joomla 2.5. In Joomla 1.7.3 it still worked or works as it should.
I tested in TinyMCE and JCE.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:22 am
Posts: 5291
Location: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Great work everyone!

_________________
Kenneth Crowder - Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Global Moderator - Joomla! ...because open source matters
Recipes for people with food allergies: http://intolerantoffspring.com
Author of "Joomla! 1.5: Developing Secure Sites": http://www.lynda.com/home/DisplayCourse.aspx?lpk2=73559


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:58 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
tschumler wrote:
Just noticed that version, date and author informations are missing in Extension Manager for Smart Search Component, all Plugins and Module as well as for System Highlight.
Confirm this and posted in BS

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
tschumler wrote:
The Article Plugin, Image Plugin and Page Break always insert the link the image or the pagebreak at the beginning of the article
I cannot replicate the issue. I inserted image and page break in Tiny and in JCE and get (correct)
Code:
<p>dasdasd</p>
<p>asasdasd</p>
<p>dasdsadsada</p>
<p><img src="images/joomla_black.gif" alt="" /></p>
<hr title="page-break" class="system-pagebreak" />


Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:29 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:03 pm
Posts: 16
After upgrade to 2.5, the Profile Editor now fails to show all the items selected as optional or required, in the User - Profile plug-in. It only shows basic stuff, such as Editor, Time-zone, Front-end Language etc.

Does anyone know anything about this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Re. Missing Version: See the module outlined in viewtopic.php?f=625&t=691155

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:20 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:18 pm
Posts: 10
I'm so angry!!!! after running Joomla's updater my admin's login page is accessible.
While running the installer, I've got kicked out of my site to the login page.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:15 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:09 am
Posts: 2
I've just had to back out of the upgrade after a few hours trying to figure out whether the auto upgrade worked okay (from 1.7.3). Looking at the posts on the forum I think it did, but that there are a lot of bugs.

I have the problem on Safari of not being able to use the checkboxes to select articles or to select columns in article manager. I finally got Chrome working okay on this but despite clearing cache its broken on Safari.

Worse though is fact that images are getting stripped out on save in article editor. I switched to JCE bit it happened there too.

I'm retreating to 1.7.3 until 2.5.x is stable. Lots of lost Zzzzss tonight :-(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:51 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:18 pm
Posts: 10
ahenriod wrote:
I'm so angry!!!! after running Joomla's updater my admin's login page is accessible.
While running the installer, I've got kicked out of my site to the login page.

A miracle!!!!! now it's running OK. Thanks to the unknown Elf !!!!
BUT I still have the same warning to install the same upgrade AND many COM_INSTALLER_MSG_DATABASE_ISSUES. I've been forced to execute the COM_INSTALLER_MSG_DATABASE_ command to fix many errors.
I'm not going to reinstall the update untill it is mature :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:57 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13933
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
ahenriod wrote:
I'm so angry!!!! . I'm not going to reinstall the update untill it is mature :)
What about calming down, not getting upset but doing a little, only a little research on the Upgrade forum and you will find exactly what to do in your case? viewtopic.php?f=625&t=691030

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:01 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:09 am
Posts: 2
Apologies for sleep deprived grump last night.

Okay the issue about not being able to use column filtering and check boxes in Article Manager went away in Safari - I had flushed the browser cache several times but anyhow finally whatever was hanging onto the old code finally gave up.

And now I have found a solution to all HTML tags getting stripped on Article save whether JCE / Tiny MCE used - in Global Configuration >> Text Filters I reset to Custom blacklist, saved, then reset again to default blacklist. This seems to have reset the blacklist properly and HTML tags are being saved now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:22 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 1:04 am
Posts: 17
Congrats on the new release.

I think the upgrade breaks tinymce. On two sites I upgraded to 2.5 from the previous latest version and when I went to an article and saved it, all formatting was lost and it put all the text together like a text page. I installed JCE editor on both sites and reformatted the article and it fixed it.
Just fyi.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:31 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 1
Great release, was up and running in two minutes.. Firefox 9.0.1 and Safai seems to mess with .css in controlpanel, Chrome and IE9 works perfect.

May main issue is that i can not delete users or deaktivate plugins because system does not register that i have checked the checkboxes, i always get "Please make a selection from the list"..

EDIT: All issues solved after several browser cache deletion and computer restart, Joomla 2.5 works 100% all over :)

Rune


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:45 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:25 pm
Posts: 3
Nice! My only issue is with default templates - I usually modify Beez_20 to suite my needs and updates always revert changes to the template index.php and css files.
I always back up and swap the templates folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:32 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:12 am
Posts: 43
Hey guys great job!

One question, I thought I had read somewhere that the Updater was going to be changed to not require PHP allow_url_fopen. I still end up manually updating. My WordPress sites do not require PHP allow_url_fopen to update.

The database update is great.

Just curious!

Wallace

_________________
W


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mbabker and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group