The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:19 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:42 am
Posts: 14
I have the same problem.

I've tried everything and still no joy.

Marvelous :'(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:36 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:54 am
Posts: 70
Finally got a fix now that always works for me... I'm using Firefox 4. No other browser works unfortunately consistently.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:46 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:42 am
Posts: 14
brazmus wrote:
Finally got a fix now that always works for me... I'm using Firefox 4. No other browser works unfortunately consistently.


Thanks for the suggestion. I have ff 5 and it doesn't show the toolbars.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:12 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 13
Thank you clon74!

My editor icons, front & back end, were working one day and disappeared the next. After much frustration, your solution worked. I also used a different version (com_jce_15713_package.zip) when I reinstalled JCE (on J 1.5.23) so maybe that was the fix. Or maybe it was the combination of steps ... I don't know, but JCE is functional again!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:45 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:33 pm
Posts: 5
:( Lucky effess. Is not working here.

I have got the same problem. I´m happy that things are working well in Backend. But there is no toolbar in Frontend. Just upgraded the core from 1.6.3 to 1.6.6...

During opening of JCE in Frontend i see a little flash, seems the toolbar wanted to show and is hidden in the same moment. Problems with the parameters of JCE?

I left them to default - are there now requirements which didn´t matter in former times? To set editor width for example?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:51 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 8:15 pm
Posts: 1
I reinstalled com_jce and it started working. Thank god!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:12 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:55 pm
Posts: 8
As far as I can tell JCE isn't working for me either.
When I toggle editors it toggles between no editor (html) and MCE.
MCE has full functionality.
JCE is v2, installed and config functions available.
What should it look like?

Have tried all work arounds people mention. No change.

Any more ideas welcome.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:04 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:11 am
Posts: 7
SOLVED.

I have been racking my brains trying to figure this one out... What did I do????
I am using Joomla 1.7.3 and JCE 2.0.17.

A few days ago, I did something, and lost the editor buttons (on all editors) and the show/hide toggle as well.

I have just compared two of my sites and found that my front end user settings had a different time zone. When I reset my user time zone back to "default", the editor showed up again. Strange.

Now as I write this, I can't recreate the problem.

Good luck to the others who still struggle..

Cam


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:20 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:11 pm
Posts: 1
OK, this problem raised it's head for me yesterday :'( after I have installed a couple of optimisation plugins. Having eventually realised what had happened and remembering what I had changed I went in and disabled the plugins and hey presto all the icons and full edit functions returned. :D

The plugin that caused the problem was: JCH_Optimise

This plugin combines javascript and css files which I can only assume introduces a conflict between the various css files in use editor.css being the one that threw a spanner in the works for me.

I hope this helps others that may struggle to find a solution to this problem which appears to be being caused by a number of different things. 8)

The support guys at sourceforge are aware of the problem but as yet have no solved:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/jch-optimize/ticket/124


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:53 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:08 pm
Posts: 14
Hi Folks:

I have had this problem with two of my templates as well. WYSIWIG icons for TINYMCE not showing up.

I want to thank you as there did not seem to be an answer in other forums. For me, it was a browser problem. I have uninstalled and reinstalled plugins, template, moved servers and such. None worked.

I use Firefox 3.6. Switched over to Safari after looking at the SourceForge dev notes. In Safari, toolbar shows up. So try a different browser.
Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:08 pm
Posts: 14
Follow-up on this issue. As soon as I fired up Safari then was going to log out of my Firefox window, the TINYMCE toolbar in FF showed up again. So, is it the browser or the os or....?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:30 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:18 am
Posts: 1
i had the same problem (just activated artisteer today) jce was not showing up. even though the editor was enabled under global configuration, i had to go to my profile and enable the editor under the basic settings. then it came back! i don't know if this is your problem or not but you might check it out.

chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:24 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:18 pm
Posts: 1
Hello guys, the solution to this problem for me was to disable the "Editor-None" plugin

reenable it to check if it was this the problem and buttons vanished again.

Joomla 2.5 browsers firefox, chrome, IE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:04 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:33 pm
Posts: 5
Dear xenophon

Thank you very very much. After several month with very little editing possibilities from the frontend i´ve got solved the problem with your hint.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 18
Just updated from JCE 1.5.75 to JCE 2.0.21 on Joomla 1.5.25 and experienced the issue with no icon toolbar being visible. Tried a few things posted here with no success.

Checked on the JCE website forum and found the solution that worked for me.

Try deleting and re-creating the Profiles :
1. In the JCE Control Panel click on Editor Profiles
2. Select all the profiles.
3. Click the Delete button.
4. Click [Create/Restore] in the error message displayed.


Your mileage may vary ;D

_________________
Rick
If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:03 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:55 am
Posts: 2
Just signed-up for this forum so I could say thanks to Desertrider! I spent several hours tonight trying to find the answer to this issue. I also just upgraded to JCE 2.0.21 on Joomla 1.5.25. After the upgrade, only the [toggle editor] button was visible when attempting to edit articles...no JCE buttons or article content visible. I did exactly as suggested above and the issue is now resolved. Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:17 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 16
The solution from Desertrider doesn't work for me. However I use Firefox 11.0
When I switched to Internet Explorer 9, it did work! The button showed up!
I also tried Google Chrome and there the buttons don't show up. Strange...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 4:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 18
deroderuiter wrote:
The solution from Desertrider doesn't work for me. However I use Firefox 11.0
When I switched to Internet Explorer 9, it did work! The button showed up!
I also tried Google Chrome and there the buttons don't show up. Strange...

I'm also using FF 11.0 and the fix I applied before upgrading to FF 11 still works. All editor icons are visible. I have an older version of Chrome (11.0.696.65) and it works fine. I'll be upgrading Chrome and post back on the results.

Update: Just installed Chrome 17.0.963 and editor icons show up fine.

_________________
Rick
If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:14 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:44 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks xenophon, 'disable the "Editor-None" plugin ' worked for me with 2.5 after an hour of pi**ing about :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 7:53 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:09 am
Posts: 65
I've tried all the above but nothing worked for me >:(

I've checked the following:
1) In Global Configuration - Default WYSIWYG Editor - JCE editor
2) User Manager - Administrator - Parameters - User Editor - JCE editor
3) Uninstalled it 3 times and reinstalled
3) Tried the all this in explorer as well

Joomla 1.5.26
JCE Editior: 2.0.21
Firefox 12.0

Please help me :'(

_________________
By trade a gas engineer but by passion a graphic designer.
http://www.uklondonplumbers.co.uk
http://www.asianmakeupartist.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 10:08 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:55 am
Posts: 2
@abcplumb, the key for me was to do what desertrider said and that is to go into the JCE Editor control panel and delete and re-create the editor profiles. Here are the instructions again:

1. In the JCE Control Panel click on Editor Profiles
2. Select all the profiles.
3. Click the Delete button.
4. Click [Create/Restore] in the error message displayed.


Screenshot attached.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 3:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:09 am
Posts: 65
Hi icsllc

This worked thanks.
Really appreciate the detailed help.

_________________
By trade a gas engineer but by passion a graphic designer.
http://www.uklondonplumbers.co.uk
http://www.asianmakeupartist.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 8:04 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:47 am
Posts: 7
I have Joomla 1.5.23 and I use CPanel, I could change the editor in global configuration but, the toolbars weren't displaying. What I had to do was......

I had to change HTACCESS to 777 temporarily

Then I had to disable:
-editor no editor
-editor Tiny MCE

Now both FCKeditor and JCE editor work and I am finally able to upload PDF's


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:02 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:18 pm
Posts: 4
Desertrider wrote:
Just updated from JCE 1.5.75 to JCE 2.0.21 on Joomla 1.5.25 and experienced the issue with no icon toolbar being visible. Tried a few things posted here with no success.

Checked on the JCE website forum and found the solution that worked for me.

Try deleting and re-creating the Profiles :
1. In the JCE Control Panel click on Editor Profiles
2. Select all the profiles.
3. Click the Delete button.
4. Click [Create/Restore] in the error message displayed.


Your mileage may vary ;D

After hours of trying and many methods, Only after deleting and restoring profiles in JCE the issue is resolved and all the icons back
Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 11:35 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 5:23 pm
Posts: 65
Perfect, thanks very much for this solution!

BTW - can we get some +1 buttons for posts to avoid bumping topics?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:51 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 7:20 am
Posts: 2
Disabling the CodeMirror Editor worked for me. Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 26
Big thanks Desertrider! Deleting and restoring the profiles helped me when the editor vanished after a migration from J1.5 to J2.5.

_________________
Empire Web Designs
www.empire-webdesigns.com
See us on Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:30 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:48 am
Posts: 2
Location: Miami, FL
Running Joomla 2.5 and JCE

I disable the CodeMirror Editor and now I can see the toolbars

Thanks for all the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Spain
Desertrider wrote:
Just updated from JCE 1.5.75 to JCE 2.0.21 on Joomla 1.5.25 and experienced the issue with no icon toolbar being visible. Tried a few things posted here with no success.

Checked on the JCE website forum and found the solution that worked for me.

Try deleting and re-creating the Profiles :
1. In the JCE Control Panel click on Editor Profiles
2. Select all the profiles.
3. Click the Delete button.
4. Click [Create/Restore] in the error message displayed.


Your mileage may vary ;D


This worked for me as well.
Thanks very very much.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:16 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 4:53 am
Posts: 57
Location: Chandigarh
my JCE editor is not showing toolbar..any suggestion...pls reply


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group