The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Austin, TX
Bug 12097 seemed like it was quickly closed, so I answered the question asked of me here
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=12097
I'm not sure if it will be re-opened, so I'm posting here.
related to thread:
viewtopic.php?f=428&t=267521

The following code is added to :
templates/beez/html/section/blog.php

<?php //this is what I add
$myblurb_modules = &JModuleHelper::getModules('promopoll');
foreach ($myblurb_modules as $myblurb) {
$_options = array( 'style' => 'xhtml' );
echo JModuleHelper::renderModule( $myblurb, $_options );
}
?>


This loads my poll in the section blog area.

=====
Joomla 1.5.4
Apache 2
Mysql 5

Problem:
When submitting a second vote for a poll, the error Invalid Token shows.

To Duplicate:
Create a poll.
Publish a poll module for that poll.
Load that module position into an override Section Blog template
Vote once
Open up a second browser and vote a second time in that browser (or have
someone else in the room vote in the poll)

On the second vote, you should get "Invalid Token"

The problem goes away if:
* If I move the the poll to a position on the navigation bar (see
http://www.impactnews.com)
* or, If I load the position inside of an article
* or, If I disable caching on the site (others have been able to disable
caching on just the module, but that doesn't work for me)


or, of course, if I comment out:
components/com_poll/controller.php
line 50: JRequest::checkToken() or jexit( 'Invalid Token' );

_________________
--
Rich Vázquez, CISA, CISSP
ImpactNews.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:16 pm
Posts: 13
what did you suggest to do with line 50?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Austin, TX
Removing it opens your polls up to vulnerability unfortunately. The error does go away, but someone might target your users.

I don't know what to do for an actual solution since it seems to be more internal to the token process.

_________________
--
Rich Vázquez, CISA, CISSP
ImpactNews.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:59 am
Posts: 43
Location: Australia
I think I may have an actual solution... just turn off caching and clear both expired and current poll cache and that should solve it... no need to create a security issue… :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:14 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:45 pm
Posts: 112
What was your solution for this? Seems like Joomla's System cache is sitll very buggy. Perhaps Jotcache or some other third party extension may help?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:00 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:59 am
Posts: 43
Location: Australia
THis topic was for joomla 1.0 and is long gone since then. As a result any solution provided back then is far out of date.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group