The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:57 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 1
Hallo everybody,
I use phpnuke now, and want to use joomla 1.5, how can I migrate my site, I have more than 900 articles in my site now, and I do not want to lose them, and it takes too much time if I publish them from the begining.
???
Thanks alot
Hadad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
I'd want to know about it too!

I've only found some script like Ez-Phpnuke or Ez-Nuke, but I haven't tried them yet and I don't know if they're compatible with Joomla 1.5:
http://www.dapinna.com/download/joomla/index.php
http://forum.joomla.it/index.php?topic=16924.msg114367

I hope someone could help us :(

I'd just want to import from phpnuke (6.9) my news, my users (shared with phpbb2), the comments to the news and, if it's possible, the download (from download to Remository)...

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:40 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:35 am
Posts: 3
Location: Charleston SC
Did you ever find anything? I am just now finding joomla (guess I have been living under a rock) and want to convert my phpnuke cms to joomla. I am most interested in user migration. Any help is appreciated. :geek:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
Hi dude, sorry for being so late...it's an hard period...

Are you in a hurry?
Because i'm gonna write an howto about migrating from nuke to joomla, as soon as i can, but i'm gonna write it in italian....for the italian community....but when i'll write it i could write some short memos in english to you too, about the script and the components i used and how i used them....

Do you need help RIGHT NOW or could you wait some more days?

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:41 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:39 am
Posts: 1
I'd love to see some notes about migrating PHPNuke to Joomla, if you are able to do some basic notes in English, that would be great!

cheers,
David.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
I've got some notes in italian and i'm going to write an howto (in italian) as soon as i can, but now i try to translate something on the go.

Basicly, you have to do 2 steps:
nuke ----> joomla 1.0
joomla 1.0 -----> joomla 1.5

HOW TO MIGRATE FROM NUKE TO J 1.0
1) Export you old nuke db from your nuke site.
2) Install joomla 1.0
3) Import nuke database INTO joomla 1.0 database
4)
You need from 1 to 4 components, depending of what you have to migrate. You can find them here: http://www.dapinna.com/component/docman ... oomla.html
EzNuke is the migrator and it's absolutely needed...the others 3 are the forum (joomlaboard), the download manager (remository) and the private messages manager (myPMS)....you have to install them only if you wish to migrate some forum posts (i don't know of which kind of forum....phpbb or what...i haven't tried it), the downloads or the private messages (as was obvious)
5) Now you have to go in Component > ezPhpNuke to Mambo Convertor
6) Choose what you want to migrate. Maybe you'll have to do some test before you find the right combination of things...

HOW TO MIGRATE FROM J 1.0 TO J 1.5 USING mtwMigrator (a component for joomla 1.5)
0) You need phpmyadmin and the database created by the last 6 steps....
1) Install joomla 1.5
2) Install mtwMigrator on J 1.5
3) Go to Component > mtwMigrator
4) Go to Global Configuration to set what database you wanna import, the mysql server....here you may have to do some tests too, before you do it right....
5) Click "Start Migration"


That's all.

I've had some problems but nothing too hard to fix.

I found most of these infos on that italian thread: http://forum.joomla.it/index.php/topic, ... 13516.html

I hope i've helped you....sorry for the poor english but i'm really in a hurry....let me know if it worked for you....if you need more support just write me another time and i'll answer you as soon as possible.

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:02 pm
Posts: 13
I transfered from PhpNuke 2100 content and 46000 users.
It's so easy, first download converter http://rapidshare.com/files/171902996/c ... e.zip.html and install the component Joomla 1.0. Follow instructions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:29 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:40 pm
Posts: 3
Please help me with migrating a database of a 8 year old phpnuke site to joomla 1.5. Thanks. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:08 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
What version of phpnuke?
By the way' i've already written what have i done to migrate from phpnuke 6.9 to joomla 1.5....

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:10 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:40 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for your quick response. It was version 4.4 but a developer upgraded it to the latest version of puke. As you know, our database is 8 years old WITH a massive amount of data. Please see supercomputingonline.com . Can you help me?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:55 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:40 pm
Posts: 3
:) ARE YOU THERE? PLEASE HELP. THANKS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:16 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
I'm sorry but i really don't know how to help you :)
I've written all the things i know...

If the db it's upgraded to the last version of phpnuke you can try what i wrote....or what Bulent wrote....i think it should work.
I'm not sure, of course :)

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:57 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:02 pm
Posts: 13
Rapidshare link is not active, new link is
http://www.nasihatler.com/dosyalar/com_ezphpnuke.zip download file and try it. If you can not transfer write back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:42 pm
Posts: 15
Hi,
Is it possible to migrate phpnuke + coppermine to joomgallery ?

edit;

I tried the method to migrate to Joomla 1.5.10.
But when i migrate from nuke to joomla 1.0.5, it only adds the users but i cannot see them in my userlist.
Image

I have PHP Nuke version Ravennuke 7.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:42 pm
Posts: 15
Fixed..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:59 pm
Posts: 15
I've recently inherited manageent of a site using an early version of php nuke and want to move significant content over to Joomla 1.5

Following the contents of post of sberla54 above I've installed xampp on a windows PC,then tried to install joomla 1.0.14 RC1
I get to MySQL database configuration, enter what I deem to be valid entries for the various user names and passwords etc.

When I submit them it says http://localhost
password and username are incorrect

This is a fresh install of xampp, after previously trialling joomla 1.5 without a problem.
(All files and directories from the 1.5 installation have been deleted)


I looked at the Joomla INSTALL.php and there are comments as follows

Quote:
2. CREATE THE Joomla! DATABASE

Joomla! will currently only work with MySQL. In the following examples,
"db_user" is an example MySQL user which has the CREATE and GRANT
privileges. You will need to use the appropriate user name for your
system.

First, you must create a new database for your Joomla! site e.g.

$ mysqladmin -u db_user -p create Joomla

MySQL will prompt for the 'db_user' database password and then create
the initial database files. Next you must login and set the access
database rights e.g.


So I open a shell from xampp control panel change to the directory with mysqladmin

and enter the line as shown, it prompts for a password, I enter one and then I get the following error

mysqladmin: connect to server at '.' failed

could someone please point out where I'm going wrong?


Is there an easier route to migrate from phpnuke -> Joomla 1.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:02 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:43 pm
Posts: 4
Hello all!

After I haven't succesfully found any useful help for migration of phpnuke to joomla1.5, I've created my own migration script to do so. I've written it all pretty well on my blog http://nangets.[URL banned].com , under http://nangets.[URL banned].com/2010/02/mig ... la-15.html

This is a useful script to migrate straight from phpnuke to joomla 1.5 without going through joomla 1.0 or any other native products, or the need to install any other component for that matter...

Hope I helped!
NaNg.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:30 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
Thank you NaNg for your script!
It could be useful in future! :)

I'm sorry i couldn't help you but i've migrated from PhpNuke more than 1 year ago and i really don't remember exactly what i did and how...all i knew were on the mini how-to in this topic :)

I'm happy that it had been useful for you, anyway...

See ya!

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:01 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 171
NaNg, your links didn't work. Can you post them again? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:54 am 
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Online

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:27 am
Posts: 619
Half a year ago I migrated from PHP-Nuke 7.6 to Joomla 1.5.23:
I used the extension for Joomla NukeMigrate that is fast and converts users and news:
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ions/13278
Links I converted with another script: Nuke2JoomlaFB.zip, where I changed the script so only Weblinks were converted-
To convert the forum to phpBB3 I used this converter:
http://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/conve ... convertor/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:20 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:43 pm
Posts: 4
aaanativearts wrote:
NaNg, your links didn't work. Can you post them again? Thanks.


Yes, they are in my new blog found in here:
http://www.nangets.net/?p=22

I'm also gonna work on migrating Joomla! 1.5 to the new 2.* whatever will come out, and due to all the customizations I've made I'll probably do it in DB migrate as-well. Keep track ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:02 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Italy
When your tool for migrate from 1.5 to 2 will be ready, please post here, so i'll be updated about it :)
Thanks!

_________________
/*non ho scelto io di venire al mondo, ma da quel momento in poi le altre decisioni le prendo da me*/
- http://sberla54.altervista.org - My links and contacts -
- http://www.punk4free.org - My punk hardcore magazine -


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group