The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:43 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 5
Hi everyone!

i'm with an issue on two of my websites, on both there's a white flash showing up for a split second when my webpage and menus are loaded, mostly with IE9 (maybe the same happens with other versions of ie, but not with Chrome or Firefox).

One of the templates was created with artisteer 3.1, and the other is a Pure Joomla! template.

PS: Website was created with Joomla 1.5.22

Has anyone had the same problem? I don't know if it is the Flash of Unstyled Content (FOUC) issue, or a problem with javascript or JQuery. I've searched for similar problems on the web and tried a few suggested solutions, but they didn't worked out!

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Posts: 1043
Location: Millersburg, OH
Would it be possible for you to post a link to your site so that I can test this in IE9?

_________________
Ryan
Numinous Productions
Custom Joomla Templates, Joomla Troubleshooting and Personalized Tutorials
http://www.numinousmedia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:13 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 5
Hi numinousmedia!

Thanks for your reply!

The problem is happening in two websites: www.filipesport.com, and www.btterra.pt!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Posts: 1043
Location: Millersburg, OH
Thanks for posting your websites Cesarezzi.

Here's what I'm finding. When I visit your websites in IE9, they are forcing my IE9 to default into Quirks mode. This generally means there's code being loaded that is not exactly syntax correct (or a document that has been incorrectly declared in the header).

Also, my IE console is reporting an error with Mootools.js. Here's the error I'm getting in my IE9 Developer Console:

SEC7115: :visited and :link styles can only differ by color. Some styles were not applied to :visited.
www.filipesport.com
SCRIPT5022: DOM Exception: INVALID_CHARACTER_ERR (5)
mootools.js, line 1 character 21432
SCRIPT5022: DOM Exception: INVALID_CHARACTER_ERR (5)
mootools.js, line 1 character 21432

I would suspect that either your top menu or your image slider (or both) are using some form of Mootools. Sometimes mootools.js does not play well with IE. You could try turning off some of your Mootools dependent items, and seeing if this makes a difference in that white loading screen. This would at least help you narrow down which extension is causing the issue.

Make sure to Shift+Refresh when you reload your page (to clear your browser's cache and get an accurate view of what's going on) after you turn different extensions off and on.

In any case, call me lazy, but the white blink in my IE did not last long enough for me to really notice it all that much. I'm not sure how big a deal this really is, but I hope this helps you down the "road of recovery".

_________________
Ryan
Numinous Productions
Custom Joomla Templates, Joomla Troubleshooting and Personalized Tutorials
http://www.numinousmedia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks a lot for your support numinousmedia!

You're right, i'm using showplus module on filipesport, wich uses mootools, and i've noticed that it doesn't play well with ie. I have tested with showplus disabled (and mootools upgrade plugin), but the white flash persists.
I've uninstalled that module (showplus) in btterra and installed iNowSlider, a jquery based slideshow, to see if that was the cause, but it still flashes white, maybe not as strong as before.

I think i'm going to do the same in filipesport, to see if there are any changes.

Thanks again for your feedback,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:09 pm
Posts: 6
I have now 3 sites on 2.5 - and everyone is "flashing white" when going from page to page. In earlier releases at least the "frame" (background, menues etc) did not flash/reload. Anyone else noticed and could explain if this is something I can change/adjust?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Posts: 1043
Location: Millersburg, OH
Would you mind posting one of your site urls?

_________________
Ryan
Numinous Productions
Custom Joomla Templates, Joomla Troubleshooting and Personalized Tutorials
http://www.numinousmedia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:09 pm
Posts: 6
One is www.sibes.se

I have also have one which I'm working on (offline).
But they way I experience is documented here:
http://screencast.com/t/0cLllPwfVo

Is it only me?
I cannot remember to see anything like this in earlier versions.

Two things I can add:
- I can sometimes see differences between IE and Ff (especielly when looking at www.sibes.se - you too?)
- One of the sites are upgraded using SPUpgrade, but then again www.sibes.se is not??

Any help is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 7:20 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:29 pm
Posts: 634
I also am having this problem with Artisteer templates, Joomla 2.5.4, and Gcalendar. Now some sites flash slightly without GCalendar, but that combo really does it.

The GCalendar developer made an adjustment in his system plugin to only load his jquery on the calendar page. That seems to work in most browsers but Chrome is just not playing nice. Of course Opera is the worst, all Artisteer site flash in that.

Older versions of IE also do it.

A solution would be awesome.
http://treasuresofoz.org
http://owlt.org/

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:00 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:45 pm
Posts: 1
Add a background-color value to your template's html tag

<html ... style="background-color:#000000;" ... >

Change #000000 to a value appropriate for your site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:44 pm
Posts: 2
Did anyone figure this out yet?
I was able to change background color in style.css in our template but still getting the flash.
Where is the template's html tag?
Sorry I'm a newbie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 10:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Posts: 5549
Location: the Bat Cave
The template's html tag is in the template's html file.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kingdomlast and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group