The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 2:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:40 pm
Posts: 6
Ok, here is what I tried and thought would work but has not. I built a joomla site on a free hosting server which (surprise!! lol) is not very reliable, so I want to move it to another host without having to completely rebuild the entire site. So I exported the mysql database, created a new one on the new server, and imported that database into it. Then I downloaded the entire site and uploaded it to the new folder on the new server. Nothing, then it dawned on me that the mysql server host name would need to be changed, so I went into the config.php file and changed it to the correct one, and the site is still not working. I'm not sure what to do from here. Thanks any help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 2:52 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:13 am
Posts: 146
You should change below fields from config.php
public $host = '';
public $user = '';
public $password = '';
public $db = 's';

you have mentioned of changing only host name, do change them all with new settings

_________________
http://www.expothemes.com :pop -- Themes For Windows 7 & Windows 8


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:18 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13792
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Quazar-X is mostly right but forgetting 2 lines of code which need changed as well:
Quote:
public $log_path = '/home/your_username/public_html/logs';
public $tmp_path = '/home/your-username/public_html/tmp';
This is the way the pathname works on a host that uses cPanel

Host in cPanel is "localhost"
in cpanel you need your_username within the entries
public $user = 'your-username_your-user;
public $password = '';
public $db = 'your-username_your-databasename';

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:07 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:13 am
Posts: 146
Good work leolam.
He should be able to change it from Global configuration.

_________________
http://www.expothemes.com :pop -- Themes For Windows 7 & Windows 8


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group