Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error 500

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum. Note: Users creating new sites can use either version 2.5 or 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby humvee » Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:10 am

By the way as those of us who are "elitist" know from reading the Bug Tracker this issue was first raised on the tracker on 28th September, confirmed on the same day and fixed in the master on the 29th September ready for the Joomla 3.0.1 release.

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla/tracker/?action=TrackerItemEdit&tracker_item_id=29385

bstewart662
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:08 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby bstewart662 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:59 pm

I appreciate getting rid of the bugs but the promo for it is a little deceiving for something that appears to be in its alpha stage of testing. Keep up the good work, but make it obvious when a product is not ready.

I tried an install today - set the file and directory permissions correctly and still it gave the 500 error, and this is October 27th.

Brian

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 31270
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby Webdongle » Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:13 pm

bstewart662 wrote:I appreciate getting rid of the bugs but the promo for it is a little deceiving for something that appears to be in its alpha stage of testing. ...
How is the promo misleading ?

It is not Alpha ... it is STS(STandard Support) and it is made very clear what the version is for.

fyi
Having 2 STS versions between the LTS( Long Term Support) allows for smooth transition between each LTS versions.

If you are having problems with 500 errors please run the viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 and post the results in a separate thread. If it is indeed a bug then it will help to know. And if it is user(or server configuration) error then we can tell you what you are doing incorrectly. And help you remedy the situation.

kryps
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 8:19 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby kryps » Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:18 pm

For my particular situation, I enabled "RewriteBase /" in my .htaccess file by removing the "#" in front of it.

srikanthseo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:07 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby srikanthseo » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:50 pm

Hi..

Here's how I fixed it in 10 mins and got going on the installation screens on a Hostgator account.

Uploaded Joomla 3.0 ZIP package using the Cpanel File Manager
Extracted files
Contacted Hostgator Support and had them run the following commands mentioned by pxforti


Thank you,
Regards,
Srikanth,
Rxonlinedrugstore.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 31270
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby Webdongle » Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:15 pm

srikanthseo wrote:...
Uploaded Joomla 3.0 ZIP package using the Cpanel File Manager
Extracted files
...
there have been many bug fixes since 3.0 ... 3.0.3 is the latest.

jnasser
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:34 pm
Location: Saudi Arabia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me The PHP Version is less t

Postby jnasser » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:38 pm

hi

when i tried to install Jommla 3.0.2 from cpaenl so, i got this error : The PHP Version is less than the required 5.3.1.

any help please.

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21420
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me The PHP Version is less t

Postby pe7er » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:55 pm

Welcome to Joomla forum!
jnasser wrote:i got this error : The PHP Version is less than the required 5.3.1.

Ask your hosting provider to update PHP to 5.3.1 or higher.
See requirements: http://www.joomla.org/technical-requirements.html

Or you could use Joomla 2.5.8 instead...
That version can work on a lower PHP version (5.2.4 or higher).
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Developer of db8 Site Dev http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 8-site-dev

siriusblue
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:38 am

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby siriusblue » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:12 pm

mtrimble wrote:...

5. ... Added the following to the .htaccess file:

# Use PHP 5.3
AddType application/x-httpd-php53 .php


...


Trying to install my first Joomla 3.0 and I was not getting past page 1. No response when I clicked on Next. All details were correct.

I set this in the .htaccess page and I am now on page 2 :)


Using Wamp 2.2 on windows 7.

THANK YOU!

surge42
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby surge42 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 5:52 pm

Don't Bother With A Manual Install!

Do it with QuickInstall in your CPanel...

The current version is now at 3.0.3

If you need to remove the bad install files on the server use the "File Manager" in Cpanel to delete them. FTP takes wayyyy tooo loong.

;D

Enjoy!

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8261
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby sovainfo » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:33 pm

Only use the quickinstalls when you throw it away afterwards. They never tell you what they do. They probably restrict you in upgrading. And because they hide details you can't restore your site yourself.

The manual installation is a piece of cake, just extract the files and place them in your webspace. The first time you visit your website starts the installation.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

surge42
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby surge42 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:53 pm

sovainfo,

The manual install is not a breeze.. trust me. I tried it.. I'm talking 3.0 on a hatching account at Host Gator. You have to use the current version of PHP .htaccess mod. The install just hangs when it tries to create the DB and all the settings. That's why this thread is here in the first place.

It's not worth the headache man..

You mention not being able to restore from Akeeba because of Quickinstall ? That's the first time I've heard of that. I will keep that in mind. I consider the auto upgrades a benefit. Host Gator makes it very clear when they execute the updates via email. I just dump the DB in PHPMyAdmin and download the site files before they do it. Simple... easy...

Anyway.... I enjoyed this thread.... Keep your session lifetimes short and your normal lifetime long!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 31270
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby Webdongle » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:17 pm

sovainfo wrote:Only use the quickinstalls when you throw it away afterwards. They never tell you what they do. They probably restrict you in upgrading. And because they hide details you can't restore your site yourself. ...
Agreed

And they often force install with sample data ... with no option in the process to install without sample data. And often they install with older versions.

ictus
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:21 pm

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby ictus » Sat Apr 27, 2013 5:18 pm

well... I was told joomla was worth looking at again as it had been streamlined and made easier.

Tried installing 3.1
Internal Server Error for me, all file permission issues I suspect, but the bumf on the J3 said 30 second install...

maybe coming back to joomla is a bad idea, it was always too complex.....

dchambers76
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:42 am

Re: Installing Joomla 3.0 gives me an Internal Server Error

Postby dchambers76 » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:45 am

@mtrimble
Thanks you so much
# Use PHP 5.3
AddType application/x-httpd-php53 .php

worked a treat that is what I was missing.

Cheers
Dave


Return to “Installation Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TomRivers and 3 guests