The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:10 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
By the way as those of us who are "elitist" know from reading the Bug Tracker this issue was first raised on the tracker on 28th September, confirmed on the same day and fixed in the master on the 29th September ready for the Joomla 3.0.1 release.

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla/tracker/?action=TrackerItemEdit&tracker_item_id=29385


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:59 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:08 pm
Posts: 31
I appreciate getting rid of the bugs but the promo for it is a little deceiving for something that appears to be in its alpha stage of testing. Keep up the good work, but make it obvious when a product is not ready.

I tried an install today - set the file and directory permissions correctly and still it gave the 500 error, and this is October 27th.

Brian


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:13 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25413
Location: @Webdongle
bstewart662 wrote:
I appreciate getting rid of the bugs but the promo for it is a little deceiving for something that appears to be in its alpha stage of testing. ...
How is the promo misleading ?

It is not Alpha ... it is STS(STandard Support) and it is made very clear what the version is for.

fyi
Having 2 STS versions between the LTS( Long Term Support) allows for smooth transition between each LTS versions.

If you are having problems with 500 errors please run the viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 and post the results in a separate thread. If it is indeed a bug then it will help to know. And if it is user(or server configuration) error then we can tell you what you are doing incorrectly. And help you remedy the situation.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:18 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 8:19 pm
Posts: 70
For my particular situation, I enabled "RewriteBase /" in my .htaccess file by removing the "#" in front of it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 7
Hi..

Here's how I fixed it in 10 mins and got going on the installation screens on a Hostgator account.

Uploaded Joomla 3.0 ZIP package using the Cpanel File Manager
Extracted files
Contacted Hostgator Support and had them run the following commands mentioned by pxforti


Thank you,
Regards,
Srikanth,
Rxonlinedrugstore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25413
Location: @Webdongle
srikanthseo wrote:
...
Uploaded Joomla 3.0 ZIP package using the Cpanel File Manager
Extracted files
...
there have been many bug fixes since 3.0 ... 3.0.3 is the latest.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:34 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Saudi Arabia
hi

when i tried to install Jommla 3.0.2 from cpaenl so, i got this error : The PHP Version is less than the required 5.3.1.

any help please.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 20036
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Welcome to Joomla forum!
jnasser wrote:
i got this error : The PHP Version is less than the required 5.3.1.

Ask your hosting provider to update PHP to 5.3.1 or higher.
See requirements: http://www.joomla.org/technical-requirements.html

Or you could use Joomla 2.5.8 instead...
That version can work on a lower PHP version (5.2.4 or higher).

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:12 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:38 am
Posts: 5
mtrimble wrote:
...

5. ... Added the following to the .htaccess file:

# Use PHP 5.3
AddType application/x-httpd-php53 .php


...


Trying to install my first Joomla 3.0 and I was not getting past page 1. No response when I clicked on Next. All details were correct.

I set this in the .htaccess page and I am now on page 2 :)


Using Wamp 2.2 on windows 7.

THANK YOU!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 5:52 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:33 pm
Posts: 43
Don't Bother With A Manual Install!

Do it with QuickInstall in your CPanel...

The current version is now at 3.0.3

If you need to remove the bad install files on the server use the "File Manager" in Cpanel to delete them. FTP takes wayyyy tooo loong.

;D

Enjoy!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:33 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 4494
Only use the quickinstalls when you throw it away afterwards. They never tell you what they do. They probably restrict you in upgrading. And because they hide details you can't restore your site yourself.

The manual installation is a piece of cake, just extract the files and place them in your webspace. The first time you visit your website starts the installation.

_________________
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:53 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:33 pm
Posts: 43
sovainfo,

The manual install is not a breeze.. trust me. I tried it.. I'm talking 3.0 on a hatching account at Host Gator. You have to use the current version of PHP .htaccess mod. The install just hangs when it tries to create the DB and all the settings. That's why this thread is here in the first place.

It's not worth the headache man..

You mention not being able to restore from Akeeba because of Quickinstall ? That's the first time I've heard of that. I will keep that in mind. I consider the auto upgrades a benefit. Host Gator makes it very clear when they execute the updates via email. I just dump the DB in PHPMyAdmin and download the site files before they do it. Simple... easy...

Anyway.... I enjoyed this thread.... Keep your session lifetimes short and your normal lifetime long!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:17 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25413
Location: @Webdongle
sovainfo wrote:
Only use the quickinstalls when you throw it away afterwards. They never tell you what they do. They probably restrict you in upgrading. And because they hide details you can't restore your site yourself. ...
Agreed

And they often force install with sample data ... with no option in the process to install without sample data. And often they install with older versions.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 5:18 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:21 pm
Posts: 41
well... I was told joomla was worth looking at again as it had been streamlined and made easier.

Tried installing 3.1
Internal Server Error for me, all file permission issues I suspect, but the bumf on the J3 said 30 second install...

maybe coming back to joomla is a bad idea, it was always too complex.....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group