Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:46 am

What files do I need to edit to change this?

Or could I do this through the admin panel?
Last edited by bigone5500 on Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrCodexCY
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Limassol, CY
Contact:

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Prostar

Postby MrCodexCY » Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:09 am

Can you provide a screenshot or more details? I have no idea what is Prostar.
Providing quality web design services since 2005!

Get direct Joomla! assistance, contact me on skype: mrcodexcy

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Prostar

Postby bigone5500 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:08 pm

Prostar is a template/style in joomla 3.

User avatar
MrCodexCY
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Limassol, CY
Contact:

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Prostar

Postby MrCodexCY » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:26 am

You can use firebug for Firefox/Chrome to inspect element and find on what css the image background is saved.

~Artemis
Providing quality web design services since 2005!

Get direct Joomla! assistance, contact me on skype: mrcodexcy

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7954
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Prostar

Postby sovainfo » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:14 am

You mean protostar, don't worry you are not the only one who got it wrong.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Prostar

Postby bigone5500 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:14 pm

HAHA... Thanks sova.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7954
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Prostar

Postby sovainfo » Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:22 pm

Go to Template manager and click on Protostar Default in the Styles. Go to tab Options and click the X at the right op Logo. The selected logo will disappear. Save and look at your frontend.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:21 pm

Thank you sova!

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:59 pm

I got around to doing this and it is not what I had wanted to do. I want to get rid of the red 'Maple' banner type image on the home page. It is really in the way. I'm not saying that it's a banner but it looks like one.

Turns out that the image is a header...or is at least located in the header folder under media manager.

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:12 pm

Nevermind...I renamed the maple.jpg file located in the /images/headers folder and it disappeared...

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7954
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby sovainfo » Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:56 pm

That is a shame. You are not using the option of the style as I told you? Clearing that or changing it to something you like is a great feature. It is probably number 1 feature requested for a template. Renaming or removing the file leaves you with an image not found!
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:28 am

I will probably use the feature in the future, but in the meantime I would prefer it to not be there.

Also, I did not get the image not found error.

sky-mond
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby sky-mond » Tue Jan 29, 2013 2:53 am

You can use firebug for Firefox/Chrome to inspect element and find on what css the image background is saved.
http://www.vanghungphu.com/

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7954
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby sovainfo » Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:59 pm

Have a look at http://docs.joomla.org/Diagnostic_tools for other platforms than FF.

Also the maple header is created by Image module where the background is set to maple. Just unpublish the module or pick a header you want.

Again, better to use the feature than to remove the file using Media manager.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:35 pm

OK I'll have. look into it. thanks.

bigone5500
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby bigone5500 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:58 am

I have to say...after using the Image module, a.k.a. - custom html, the uses are just too cool. I was skeptical about it but I now like it a lot.

Thanks for enlightening me on this Sova!

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7954
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Change 'Maple' header image on Protostar

Postby sovainfo » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:06 am

You are welcome. To be honest, same thing here.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests