The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:37 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:10 am
Posts: 5
I've just upgraded from 2.5 - Joomla 3 on a test site using the one click install provided in the joomla admin.

All seemed to go well however I'm getting an error code on the page and neither the admin or front page are loading, all i get is a white screen:

Error: The character encoding of the HTML document was not declared. The document will render with garbled text in some browser configurations if the document contains characters from outside the US-ASCII range. The character encoding of the page must to be declared in the document or in the transfer protocol.

Source File: http://www.hopechurchnottingham.org/test/

I've searched on the net for this and found that the site needs to "Declare Character Encoding".

Just wondered if anyone else has experienced this and found a solution to this, and what they did to fix it?

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:10 am
Posts: 5
Further to last post I've tried installing a clean version of Joomla 3 and then replacing some files on the upgraded site. This has had no effect.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:13 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:27 am
Posts: 292
Location: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
i'm running FF and if you hit F12 you can see error info. It's mainly reporting that you have no CSS file associated with your file - i think.

This is similar to a problem i'm having creating and/or editing the categories in the Admin backend.

It also appears that there is nothing between your <head> and </head> indicators.

i don't know what to do. When i find out, i'll post. Have a great evening! :)

_________________
"The earth is one country and mankind its citizens." 
Bahá'u'lláh
"La tierra es un sólo país y la humanidad sus ciudadanos."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:10 am
Posts: 5
Thanks for the feedback Frazelle let me know if you find any answers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:27 am
Posts: 292
Location: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
Did you clean install work alright? This is the install without the "extra" files you said you replaced on the upgraded site.

If you clean install works and then stops working once you "replacing some files on the upgraded site", wouldn't you think it's probably due to the files you replaced?

Just sayin'. Leo suggested that i just replace all of my servers' files with fresh ones - all execpt the install folder. i'm presently doing this. We'll see if this fixes the problem.

Have a great morning! :)

_________________
"The earth is one country and mankind its citizens." 
Bahá'u'lláh
"La tierra es un sólo país y la humanidad sus ciudadanos."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group