The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Croatia
Hi everybody,

I believe this is a basic question, but I would like to find out what are the template positions that the template PROTOSTAR has/uses? Its the first time I am using the default joomla template and its hard for me to figure out where something is positioned?

I did a search regarding Protostar template postions, but couldnt find anything so far...
thanks in advance

_________________
http://www.johnnie.hr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:36 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:48 pm
Posts: 949
Location: Sacramento
Go to the template manager, make sure under options that 'preview' is selected, then you can preview templates with thier positions. This is for 2.5, but I'd guess something similar is still there for 3.0. However, as mentioned many times already, if this is for a production website you should be using 2.5 and not 3.0 as that is more of a developers release.

_________________
Joomla! Web Hosting, Design, and Consulting.
Portfolio: http://www.calweb.com/joomla
Please do not PM me for help, use the forums first.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:46 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22105
Location: Chennai, India
You can preview the module positions of any template by the following procedure:

(a) Go to the Template Manager
(b) Click on the button labeled Options
(c) In the screen Template Manager Options, in the tab Templates, for the option "Preview Module Positions", choose the value Enabled
(d) Click on the button labeled "Save & Close"

After the above procedure, the template module positions can be seen by the following ways:
(i) In the Template Manager, in the tab Templates, in the row of the desired template, in the column Templates, click on the link Preview
(ii) When you are viewing the site, in the address bar of the browser, at the end of the URL, type &tp=1 or ?tp=1 as the case may be and press <ENTER>. For example, if the site's URL is http://localhost/joomla_30_1/, use the URL http://localhost/joomla_30_1/?tp=1 to see the module positions.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:47 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:07 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Vicenza - Italy
Forgive my bad English.
But why do not you put the default the option "Preview Module Positions" enable?
The moderators of the joomla's forum of the world would thank! Ah ah ah ah

_________________
http://www.tonicopi.it/
http://www.joomlacsszengarden.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:26 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Croatia
imanickam wrote:
You can preview the module positions of any template by the following procedure:

(a) Go to the Template Manager
(b) Click on the button labeled Options
(c) In the screen Template Manager Options, in the tab Templates, for the option "Preview Module Positions", choose the value Enabled
(d) Click on the button labeled "Save & Close"

After the above procedure, the template module positions can be seen by the following ways:
(i) In the Template Manager, in the tab Templates, in the row of the desired template, in the column Templates, click on the link Preview
(ii) When you are viewing the site, in the address bar of the browser, at the end of the URL, type &tp=1 or ?tp=1 as the case may be and press <ENTER>. For example, if the site's URL is http://localhost/joomla_30_1/, use the URL http://localhost/joomla_30_1/?tp=1 to see the module positions.


thank you very much! it helped

_________________
http://www.johnnie.hr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:00 am
Posts: 11
Location: Valencia ( Spain ) UE
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
http://www.jabatec.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:22 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Croatia
thank you very much!

_________________
http://www.johnnie.hr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:55 am
Posts: 14
Thanks jabama
Great PDF
Pity the forum does not have a like or Thanks button


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 42
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier


Javier, how did you generate the template graphic? Was that a simple CAD system, or perhaps an automated tool somewhere that takes CSS in and generates a graphic out? Or perhaps even a spreadsheet tool? Its very useful.

thanks, zip.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:33 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:12 am
Posts: 2
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier


Thank you jabama!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:42 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Posts: 5
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier


Thank you Javier.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:41 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 8
Yay! Thank you Javier


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:16 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:44 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:16 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 1:52 pm
Posts: 35
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier

Can you help me to add 3 more module position (top1, top2, top3) like on image?

Best regards


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
http://www.gstarcad-hrvatska.com
http://www.oglasni-monitor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:36 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:55 pm
Posts: 2
thank you for the preview information on templates and the pdf.
Linda


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:39 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:26 am
Posts: 1
Merci !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 10:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:03 pm
Posts: 67
Location: Tilburg, The Netherlands
Love the pdf guide, thanks!

_________________
GJ-R Webdevelopment & E-Commerce Expert # Webshops - http://www.gj-r.nl/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 7:17 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 11:09 am
Posts: 3
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier


Thanks!, that helps


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:58 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:56 pm
Posts: 1
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier


Jabama, tks

Obrigado,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:38 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:08 am
Posts: 76
it works fine but in protostar it only shows the positions for the modules I already have on the site... How should I know what I am allowed to add and where


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:14 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 42
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Go look at the Twitter Bootstrap page. Twitter / Bootstrap tools is what makes the Protostar template special. In particular look at Bootstrap's scaffolding.

http://twitter.github.io/bootstrap/scaffolding.html

Look down the page, look at all the pretty graphics. Take your web browser, grab the edge of it with your mouse, narrow it up, then widen it, then narrow it up again while looking at each of the pretty pictures.

You should be glimpsing at what is possible here.. then use your imagination to add whatever you want, to where ever you want. Its a blank sheet of paper., except we're using html, javascript and Cascading StyleSheets (CSS) to write with. Will that get you started?

Zip.

Oh.. and subtle hint. Did you see where I mention html, javascript and CSS stuff above? You will definitely need a reasonable understanding of those technologies to make changes here. If you also want to change colors of things, you also want to learn about the .less files, and in particular variables.less, and how to generate .css sheets using a "less" compiler. Basically you encode all of your desired colors in one file, variables.less, then the compiler generates ALL the details for you. It would be very ugly if you had to do it one line at a time, using pure CSS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:20 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:59 am
Posts: 1
jabama wrote:
Hello World,
a small pdf guide for Protostar template that I use

regards
Javier



Thank you, jabama. Your PDF is very much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:44 pm 
I've been banned!

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:15 pm
Posts: 20
i'm using a joomla template Protostar and it doesn't have the right position, only the left one and nothing more.

i would like to add a right and a button positions on that template. how can i do it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:57 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 42
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
setx wrote:
i'm using a joomla template Protostar and it doesn't have the right position, only the left one and nothing more.

i would like to add a right and a button positions on that template. how can i do it?


No way. If you have installed a virgin copy of Joomla (WITH SAMPLE CONTENT) and then activated the protostar template in the admin panel, it will absolutely show an entire web page.

If you didn't install the sample content, or tried to modify the protostar index.php that would explain your mixed results. If not something is wrong. Where are you hosting the web page at? Is this on the computer in front of you (localhost?) or on a server somewhere?

You should do the full sample data installation first BEFORE trying to modify and create your own custom template. Play around with it. Look closely at the protostar PDF file listed above in this thread. Look at the web page, look at the pdf file graphical summary. Look at the pdf printout of index.php. All that stuff should make sense to you.

I'll give you a hint. Its much easier to install the sample data, check things out, play in the administrator backend understand what is going on, then erase the entire project directory, delete the database and start again pure. You can do that much quicker than the person who initially tries to install the management system without data and tries to learn from scratch.

Ever seen a really nicely built wooden boat? The way to build a 35' wooden boat is to build the 12' rowboat first, then build the 35' sailboat. The guy who does that will always finish both boats well before the person who starts on the 35' first. Thats sorta how this stuff works. Its not intuitive. You need to build your skill set and confidence one small piece at a time.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 1:17 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22105
Location: Chennai, India
Be informed that in the template Protostart there are no Right and Left positions, per se.

The corresponding module positions are position-7 and position-8 representing/for Right and Left respectively.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:06 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:25 am
Posts: 55
imanickam wrote:
After the above procedure, the template module positions can be seen by the following ways:
(i) In the Template Manager, in the tab Templates, in the row of the desired template, in the column Templates, click on the link Preview

hi imanickam
i don't see link Preview in column Templates !
please help me
imanickam wrote:
(ii) When you are viewing the site, in the address bar of the browser, at the end of the URL, type &tp=1 or ?tp=1 as the case may be and press <ENTER>.

also &tp=1 not working and just ?tp=1 works!
thank you that helps

_________________
Joomla! is an award-winning open source CMS for building powerful websites.
http://www.ecctv.ir . http://cantral.ir/panasonic-phone


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:27 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22105
Location: Chennai, India
imanickam wrote:
(a) Go to the Template Manager
(b) Click on the button labeled Options
(c) In the screen Template Manager Options, in the tab Templates, for the option "Preview Module Positions", choose the value Enabled
(d) Click on the button labeled "Save & Close"
Have you done the above procedure?

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:04 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:25 am
Posts: 55
imanickam wrote:
Have you done the above procedure?

yes!
oh, sorry
In this address I was looking for a link Preview! ;)
Attachment:
Template Manager Styles.png

But here are link Preview: :D
Attachment:
Template Manager Templates.png


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Joomla! is an award-winning open source CMS for building powerful websites.
http://www.ecctv.ir . http://cantral.ir/panasonic-phone


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 4:13 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 4:03 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the pdf file. It helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:55 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:15 am
Posts: 36
Code:
http://www.cloudaccess.net/joomla-3-0/113-protostar-responsive-template/597-protostar-options-joomla-3-0.html
Attachment:
modulemap3[1].jpg

Joomla 3.x comes with the Protostar template set to be the default template. This template has a minimum of positions within its framework. You can of course modify the template positions within the index.php file of the Protostar directory, if you understand the Bootstrap framework. You can also do quite a bit of modification to the look and feel of the site using stylesheets. Keep in mind the way the framework functions to keep your site truely responsive.

Note: This module map is to be upgraded to reflect the Protostar Template that comes with the Joomla 3.2 version. The framework with the later version has HTML5 classifications and other alterations.
Attachment:
protostar3.0-module-map[1].jpg

positions:
Modules can be created and assigned to the other positions within the Module Manager.

The content for the page, as created with Articles, will automatically placed in the content position.

If there is nothing in position-7 or position-8 for and/or that page, the content is automatically assigned a class of .span-9 or .span-12 and will expand to fill that empty space.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group