The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:01 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:12 pm
Posts: 3
I can't install Joomla 3.1.5 I can't get past the initial administration details screen (Step1) it just hangs.

I have succesfully a created an sql database, username and associated password ready for getting to step 2

I have sucessfully installed XAMPP 1.8.2 on my windows 8 machine I have tried running XAMPP both as an administrator and also as a user in both instances according to the control panel both apache and mysql are operating succesfully on open ports. After much research I found a patch that would alledgedly alow me to move from the Step 1 process to Step 2.

viewtopic.php?t=768918

open libraries/joomla/filter/input.php
Find
$source = preg_replace('/&#(\d+);/me', "utf8_encode(chr(\\1))", $source); // decimal notation
$source = preg_replace('/&#x([a-f0-9]+);/mei', "utf8_encode(chr(0x\\1))", $source); // hex notation
Replace with
$source = preg_replace_callback('/&#x(\d+);/mi', function($m){return utf8_encode(chr('0x'.$m[1]));}, $source); // decimal notation
$source = preg_replace_callback('/&#x([a-f0-9]+);/mi', function($m){return utf8_encode(chr('0x'.$m[1]));}, $source); // hex notation

This DID NOT work as it just returned my to the Step 1 screen with the details I had previously entered removed.

Has anyone got Joomla 3.1.5 operating on XAMPP on a Windows 8 machine and if so can they help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 8:53 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I have always had some issue with XAMPP, and others, in the past which is why I have been using the Uniform Server (US) for the last few years. Never an issue :)

Just to prove it, I downloaded and installed the latest US (it's a self-extracting archive and doesn't "install" anything on your system; no registry "dust"), downloaded the latest J! 3.1.5 and successfully set it up ... in under 10 minutes on my Win 8 system :) No problems whatsoever.

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:54 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
I've just installed Xampp 1.8.3 on a new pc with W8.

Just tried to install 3.1.5 and it's not getting past the first page.
Simply sitting there in progress.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:36 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:50 am
Posts: 9
same here, it is joomla bugs again, I am not surprised

"my guru always said dont drink and code"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:26 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
I'm not so sure. Getting the same problem with 2.5 .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:50 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
...it is joomla bugs again, ...


No, it is not.

It works just fine with the Uniform Server. Why not give it a try if you really want to get a local J! site running on Win 8 without a hassle.

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:48 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
Posted in error. Post removed.


Last edited by Potus001 on Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:59 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Potus001 wrote:
Problem solved.


Care to share for the benefit of others? ;)

_________________
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Website: http://www.llanmon.org.uk (Joomla 3.2.3)
Twitter: @JAVeseyWD40, member of @WDplus40 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:19 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
Sorry.It was for a different problem but I posted it too late.
I'll delete post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:37 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:50 am
Posts: 9
such a shame that joomla is so stupidly coded. I tried uniserver, it is just bullocks, I cant even start apache

Joomla is a disgrace, i mean how can a person make a site on local server? besides uniserver that does not work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:45 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
@ballgone - in over 5 years, I have never had an issue installing Joomla! or any of the local servers, especially US. US is the easiest to get going. You are obviously doing something incorrectly.

If Apache won't start, what error, if any are you getting? Do you have another server running that is using Port 80? If you have Skype installed and it's running, there is the answer to that one. Either turn it off (exit the program) or go to:

Tools > Options > Advanced > Connection > uncheck Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections > Save

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:00 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
I have now attempted to install 3.1.5 on both XAMPP 1.8.2 and Uniserver and I'm getting the same problem.

Will try 2.5 on Uniserver.

The problem with uniserver was the index.php in the www area.

Try renaming or deleting xampp/htdocs/index.php as that could be the problem.

I don't have xampp as I replaced it with uniserver.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:17 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Really no need to rename the index.php in the root (www) as one should be installing in a folder within the root; makes things a lot tidier, easy to manage and eventually gather up for when it is moved to a live site. Also a whole lot less cluttered when you want to add another site, be it Joomla!, WordPress, eFront, Prestashop, Drupal, etc. As you may or may not know, one can have as many local sites as your hard [drive] has room for :)

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:45 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
I'm not clear what you are saying as I've installed my site within the www folder

i.e uniserver/www/mysite

My new site, if I have one, would be in uniserver/www/mysite2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:47 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:31 pm
Posts: 1
I have Windoze 7 Premium Home on a laptop, XAMPP 1.8.3 (MySQL 5.6), and a pre-installation joomla database created.

I absolutely cannot get Joomla 3.1.5 to install. Just loops across the progress bar ad-infinitum.

Being new to Joomla, I cannot say with certainty it is a Joomla problem but I have reviewed all the information that I have found and see no solution. Does anyone know if this is a Joomla problem for sure?

And, I am not going to change away from XAMPP.

Thanks in advance, Gil Blais


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:09 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
GilBlais wrote:
I have Windoze 7 Premium Home on a laptop, XAMPP 1.8.3 (MySQL 5.6), and a pre-installation joomla database created.

I absolutely cannot get Joomla 3.1.5 to install. Just loops across the progress bar ad-infinitum.

Being new to Joomla, I cannot say with certainty it is a Joomla problem but I have reviewed all the information that I have found and see no solution. Does anyone know if this is a Joomla problem for sure?

And, I am not going to change away from XAMPP.

Thanks in advance, Gil Blais


Have you tried renaming index.php in HTDOCS?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 10:00 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
The problem with uniserver was the index.php in the www area.


Quote:
I'm not clear what you are saying as I've installed my site within the www folder

i.e uniserver/www/mysite

My new site, if I have one, would be in uniserver/www/mysite2


So what then is the issue with index.php in the "www area"? I have never, ever had issues in the literally 100s of US installs over the years, including ones in a production setting.

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 10:04 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
@GilBlais - have you checked the XAMPP forums? This is an issue with the version you are using as the latest versions of both J!'s install and run just fine under The Uniform Server on my Win 7 and Win 8 machines as do they with the latest MAMP on my Macs.

Could be the version of PHP they are using in this version; have had that happen when testing WAMPServer a while back; downgraded the PHP and away it went. Just a thought :)

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 7:14 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
All I know it that if I rename index.php then it works.

Joomla install put an index.php in your site root folder so I'm not why one is needed in www root.
You may need to modify index.php for each site, if needed, but I've never had to.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3225
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
so I'm not why one is needed in www root.


On the UniServer control panel, click the 'View www' link ... that's why :)

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:49 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 468
Have given up with 3.1.5 as I even had a problem with it on my live server.

Changed to 3.1.3 and all was fine.
If and when I have time I'll try 3.1.3 on my local server, probably using xampp.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:53 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:45 am
Posts: 3
I faced a problem when I install Joomla 3.0 on Xampp. After first step configuration, I put in email, password and site name and then I click next. It was processing so long. It don't have any issue with joomla 1.5. Kindly help, urgent


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group