Adding translation tools to a site

A place to discuss Joomla! translation matters.

Moderator: infograf768

User avatar
Elpie
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:26 pm
Contact:

Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Elpie » Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:39 am

Hi all,
I am implementing a translation feature into a site. Index.php will include a form so that the visitor can click for an instant translation of the page. Has anyone actually done this?  I plan to use worldlingo as the machine translation tool.

I have this working with a static page, but need to code it so that each page's url is pulled into the form.  Does anyone know the variable for page urls?
For Mambo assistance: http://forum.mambo-foundation.org
Open Source Research & Best Practice: http://osprojects.info

User avatar
Elpie
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Elpie » Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:18 am

UPDATE:

I was sure there had to be a better way to call urls without having to do:

Code: Select all

<?php echo 'http://'.$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']. $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']; ?>


It seems there is not.

I have now added a module for machine translations to my localsite and it works very well. I will report back when the site goes live so anyone who is interested can see it in action.
For Mambo assistance: http://forum.mambo-foundation.org
Open Source Research & Best Practice: http://osprojects.info

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18044
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby infograf768 » Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:01 am

I am very interested personaly, Elpie.

If you need a tester, I volunteer.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby joomleb » Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:30 pm

Unfortunately right now I'm not a programmer, and cannot help you on it, but I'm really too interested to understand better what you mean  :)

User avatar
Elpie
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Elpie » Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:33 am

I have completed it and will soon have it up live on a site.  As soon as I have finished the site I will write out the step by step details of what I have done and include the code in case anyone else want to use it.

I will post the url here as soon as the site goes live so you can check it out for yourself.
For Mambo assistance: http://forum.mambo-foundation.org
Open Source Research & Best Practice: http://osprojects.info

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby joomleb » Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:44 am

Waiting your indications and suggestments ... Many Thanks

teamsand
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:15 am

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby teamsand » Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:25 pm

id like to check this out

User avatar
Elpie
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Elpie » Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:50 am

I have just a few tweaks to do on the site to have it all behaving properly with Internet Explorer and then it will be launched.
Hopefully, I will have it up in the next day or two.  I will come back here and let you know.
For Mambo assistance: http://forum.mambo-foundation.org
Open Source Research & Best Practice: http://osprojects.info

eddyyanto
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 908
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:42 am

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby eddyyanto » Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:57 am

I will have it up in the next day or two

Great, and maybe you can consider to make it as a module or a package.
Or just share your code ( if you oblige ) so that everyone here can contribute to what you've invented.

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby joomleb » Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:24 pm

I'm ready to test it  :P

eddyyanto
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 908
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:42 am

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby eddyyanto » Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:04 pm

can you show us your link ?  :D

User avatar
Comenius
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Comenius » Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:51 pm

I'd be interested as well!  :D
Learn English Online at Open English World: http://www.OpenEnglishWorld.com
Teach English as a Second Language at ESL Jobs World : http://www.ESLJobsWorld.com

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby joomleb » Thu Mar 02, 2006 3:43 pm

Hey Elpie,

... WHat's happen  ???

User avatar
Elpie
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Elpie » Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:42 pm

Sorry to keep everyone waiting. I have had some problems with the site I am putting this up on that have delayed me. I will get onto this within the next few days. Thanks for your patience.
For Mambo assistance: http://forum.mambo-foundation.org
Open Source Research & Best Practice: http://osprojects.info

ivo.apostolov
I've been banned!
Posts: 1868
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:33 pm

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby ivo.apostolov » Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:19 am

Just a simple question?

what languages will be supported?

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby joomleb » Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:44 am

ivo.apostolov wrote:Just a simple question?

what languages will be supported?


Yes, what are languages supported  ???

User avatar
Elpie
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby Elpie » Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:57 pm

Sorry I forgot to update this thread :(
The extension I intended to publish worked like a charm UNTIL the worldlingo site decided to block access to anyone that does not subscribe.
None of the other computer translation tools are very good and none of them offer the ability to have the translated site indexed by search engines, so I stopped work on it for now.
For Mambo assistance: http://forum.mambo-foundation.org
Open Source Research & Best Practice: http://osprojects.info

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18044
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby infograf768 » Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:05 pm

Thanks, Elpie, for the follow-up.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

teamsand
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:15 am

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby teamsand » Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:23 pm

ya thanks, im using the google translator in the meantime, it far from perfect and downright funny sometimes but it at the least allows some understanding .

User avatar
elkuku
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Atacames
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby elkuku » Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:45 pm

ok i'm using the Fish in the meantime...

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18044
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby infograf768 » Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:07 am

The fish is NOT a translating tool, but a multilingual tool, which is quite different.  ;)
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
elkuku
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Atacames
Contact:

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby elkuku » Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:51 am

the old fashioned way... I have not seen a translating tool that works aceptable, so i think we have to do it "by hand" with a multilingual tool until - yeah i thought that elpie would show us a new way...

EDIT: deleted outdated stuff...
Last edited by elkuku on Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: Adding translation tools to a site

Postby joomleb » Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:49 pm

Elpie wrote:Sorry I forgot to update this thread :(
The extension I intended to publish worked like a charm UNTIL the worldlingo site decided to block access to anyone that does not subscribe.
None of the other computer translation tools are very good and none of them offer the ability to have the translated site indexed by search engines, so I stopped work on it for now.


Are you sure ?
http://www1.worldlingo.com/SG57TOc3OQEL ... /translate

Thanks


Return to “Translations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests