The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:43 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:40 pm
Posts: 466
Location: las vegas USA
İ go to site>>>template manager>>>site templates and try to EDİT HTML source.
when  I hit SAVE button I get this error message

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /administrator/index2.php on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Apache/1.3.37 Server at http://www.xxxxx.com Port 80


I use joomla 1011 . fresh installed.. SEF is closed. mambot patch is done.
Joomla! RG_EMULATION setting is `ON` instead of `OFF` in file globals.php ( I use joomlaboard forum)

Am I doing something wrong or this is from joomla 1011 bug??

_________________
joomla 1.6 Türk destek sitesi http://www.joomlaturk.net/


Last edited by Anonymous on Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:15 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:50 am
Posts: 12
I am having the same problem now. Earlier today everything was fine. I only updated the eWriting component. Now I get the same error message as mamboturk.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:21 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:47 pm
Posts: 21
This problem is not letting me continue doing changes on my template, same as you guys. Has anyone found the solution?

Everything was working fine and suddenly this thing happened. Any solution is really appreciated.

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /administrator/index2.php on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Apache/1.3.37 Server at xxxx.org Port 80



Ivan J


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:06 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:50 am
Posts: 12
I am afraid no one came up with a solution other than restoring a backup of the site. So that is what I did.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:14 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Posts: 3742
Location: NRW - Germany
You have safe mode turned ON, which is preventing editing the file. turn it off or chown the file to your apache user.

_________________
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:51 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:11 pm
Posts: 2
I had the same problem with Joomla 1.0.11.  Everything worked great, even editing the configuration file, but I simply couldn't save or cancel out of editing the templates without generating a Forbidden error message.

It turned out that my hosting provider uses mod_security to protect the web server.  One of the rules looks for the string "mosConfig_absolute_path" and to return a Forbidden error.  This was added as a result of a rash of server incursions due to Joomla's old security problems a couple months ago.

That string shows up in the template's index.php, of course.  So, I edited the template and replaced the php code that inserts the absolute path with a hard-coded path.  It now works beautifully.

For example, I found the following near the bottom of the madeyourweb sample template:



I changed it to



and now I can edit at will.

Hope this helps somebody else.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:22 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:08 pm
Posts: 1
I've just been dealing with this same problem on a clean install of 1.0.12.

The problem was not PHP Safe Mode. mod_security was the right clue, but changing the template index.php wasn't the solution for me. I was having problems with the rhuk_solarflare_ii template, not madeyourweb, and replacing $mosConfig_absolute_path did not help.

However I was able to disable mod_security from my host's (Server Logistics) site control panel by adding:

SecFilterEngine Off

to the configuration file.

Also see the following:

http://modsecurity.org/documentation/mo ... tml#N10152

Whether disabling mod_security is a good idea in general is a separate question, but it has solved my immediate problem.


Mark.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 1:34 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:11 pm
Posts: 2
I have not looked at this in a while, but I recall being able to set a SecFilter setting in my .htaccess that displayed the error message someplace that I could view (like /tmp/mysecoutput), then I did whatever generated the error, then read the output to determine the string that caused the issue.

You might try this in your htaccess:

SecFilterDebugLog /tmp/whatsmyloginid.myoutput  #just make sure the file name isn't already being used

Then, run the program or script to cause the failure, then examine the debug log output (found in /tmp/whatsmyloginid.myoutput).  If that doesn't work, then perhaps you can ask your hosting provider to tell you where the default SecFilterDebugLog is pointing and to let you know what is being recorded (if you can't view it yourself).

The general idea is that mod_security is catching something in the script that is probably harmless, and all you need to know is the string it doesn't like so you can make the necessary change in order to keep the security turned on.  Good luck!

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:31 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:25 am
Posts: 64
Location: VA, USA
the problem for me was that the template I was trying to upload had a TGZ extension, so I extracted it and then zipped it up , uploaded via template installer and it worked.

hope this helps.

_________________
Joomla! n00b - Thanks for your patience while I learn! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:00 pm 
User avatar
I've been banned!

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:37 am
Posts: 134
Location: Čečava
I have same problem. I tray to install MyFriend component for CB. After editing component configuration I can't acces to /administrator. Site works fine, only links who started with /administrator not work... Someone?? (Joomla 1.0.15) :( ???

_________________
Tuga gleda unatrag, briga gleda okolo, a samo vjera, gleda gore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:21 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:18 am
Posts: 1
Me too Having the same issue. I have tried all the solutions mentioned here, but no luck :(

Please help!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 10
I've been searching these posts all day looking for a solution and found it on a google search. This worked for me:

Add the following lines to the .htaccess file in public_html.

Add lines to to end of file..

<IfModule mod_security.c>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>

I'm no techie, but I've stopped getting that annoying error.

Jean


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:19 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:45 pm
Posts: 11
Folks, Having an issue with Chronoforms. Set up the form, emails etc. and try to save and then get:

"You don't have permission to access /mysite/administrator/index2.php on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."

The thing is that the demo form you can install works but when you dare to try to change the look and feel you get the heave-ho and the above permission error message. My host says permissions are fine, no word from Chronoform so I am relying on the good folk of the Joomla forum to help.
its a good looking form tool, now if it just worked!!!

is it a Joomla issue or something else? I have seen comments above ref "SAFE MODE and hta.access. Not exactly the greatest geek folks so if you can keep it simple.

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:56 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 87
Location: San Jose, California
I have the same problem. None of my images can be accessed. The only things that are displayed are the description of the images. Whenever I tried to open an image, I get the error message "you don't have permission...". I have the .htaccess file with the SEF global setting turned on. I also tried to modify the .htaccess file by adding the lines suggested by jeanw, but neither one worked.
The weird thing about this is that my site has been running fine with all the images properly displayed. I am not sure what happened, but the images just cannot be displayed anymore.

Update: seems like there are many people experiencing this same error message but the situations are somewhat different. I am opening a new thread so as not to distract the current thread. thx.

_________________
http://www.drugzoo.com
Helping Consumers Reduce Drug Costs
http://Zlancer.com
Connecting Buyers and Freelancers to get projects completed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:09 pm
Posts: 9
is there any other way to make this setting off? i submitted support ticket and waiting answer. if they say they cant change this setting, what can i do?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:23 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 1
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /joomla on server.
--------------------------------------------------
Please help me........
i have install mamp server on my mac and change port form 8888 to 80 and
mysql 8889 to 80. but still can not access to install my joomla to mamp
server.

please help me......


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:43 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 8
For me the folder permissions on the public_html folder were causing the issue. They were 744, I changed to 755 and it fixed it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:26 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:17 am
Posts: 1
Another common cause as well as permissions is the ownership of the file. You should chown on your webhost the owner to your webhosting accout, or 'nobody'. Then attempt to chmod with the correct permissions.

_________________
http://kissingtalk.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:32 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:05 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Ploiesti, Romania
That message is a temporary thing. I used sh404sef and a configuration thing caused this problem for me. From sh404sef Configuration >> Security >> and then you can deactivate anti-flood from there, or growing those requests numbers.

_________________
http://www.firmawebdesign.net
http://www.onlinebijuterii.ro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:08 am
Posts: 2
Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /images/resized/images/stories/cd_410_200.jpg on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Apache Server at demo.popsci.in Port 80


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:37 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:33 am
Posts: 4
Location: Italy
if you use the Security htaccess or similar to increase the security , add this on the folder /Public_Folder/administrator :
add one file:
.htaccess
edit it and add
RewriteEngine Off
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from YourIP
Allow from 127.0.0.1
Allow from Your IP
( More line if you need )

Save.

in this way , you don't lost security level of your site and you don't receive the error.

;=) ciao


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 10:35 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:25 am
Posts: 55
i got this message one time but it disappeared , i still dont know how that happen

_________________
A Joomla games website http://www.unity-games.org
http://www.unity-3d.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:26 pm
Posts: 1
Try to disable or edit SE Linux settings as it worked for me. (If you are installing it on linux)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:24 pm
Posts: 17
mianjee wrote:
Try to disable or edit SE Linux settings as it worked for me. (If you are installing it on linux)

do you mean disable SE setting in joomla admin?
because in linux setting we donat have se setting ,i cant find it

_________________
joomla is my life!
http://smyrnafarsi.com
http://sabtha.ir


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group