The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:20 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:11 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Jeddah

Hi to all joomla experts,

I faced this problem while I trying to migrate data from other arabic database.

in the main web site window it shoes correctly

Image

But inside the Admin control panel, it apperas like the following pictures:

Image

And

Image


Anyone could help me plz !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:37 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17396
Location: **Translation Matters**
Looks like it's converted to html entities.


Joomla version?
Arabic language pack encoding?
Database collation?

EDIT : you are not using an RTL template either,
I suggest you post for help in the Arabic forum,

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:11 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Jeddah
Hi infograf768 ,

Joomla version?
1.0.11

Arabic language pack encoding?
UTF-8

Database collation?
UTF-8

I think it's generic problem related to encoding not to template, however I will wait u and the other here :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:33 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17396
Location: **Translation Matters**
Sure you have done all what is recommended here —including the change in database.php ?
http://help.joomla.org/content/view/1641/62/
If yes, have you checked your original db dump? does it show html entities?
Last, have you looked with phpmyadmin how the content looks like in the tables concerned?

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 1313
Location: Cairo , Egypt
Hi there ,

We don't offer UTF-8 encoded language files at the Arabic Project currently , as J! 1.0.x series not fully Unicode supporting .
I totally agree with Mr. J.M. recommendations .

Good luck!

_________________
"Joomla! is science made clear."
Mohammed Sh. Abbas  -- Joomla! Fan !!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 9:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:11 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Jeddah


Dear All,

I did it, but the result is same.

First, I remove the comment mark as :

Image

And the result is :

Image


My queastion is :

why all other Arabic characters apperas correctly (in section, category, user) and in the content manager does not ?


Thanks again ..



Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:32 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 1313
Location: Cairo , Egypt
What's you MySQL version ? How does the last screen look after changing the encoding to windows-1256 ?
Did you add those Articles before installing Arabic language ?

P.S : Why don't you just use the default encoding for Arabic ? what's the Unicode importance to your site at this moment ?

Regards,

_________________
"Joomla! is science made clear."
Mohammed Sh. Abbas  -- Joomla! Fan !!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:50 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:11 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Jeddah
What's you MySQL version ?
MySQL 4.1


How does the last screen look after changing the encoding to windows-1256 ?
the same


Did you add those Articles before installing Arabic language ?
I add this article from MySQL 4.1 editor, not from Joomla


Why don't you just use the default encoding for Arabic ?
I tried to use Windows-1256 also, and the same problem appeared


Mohammed, is it butter to wait Joomla 1.5 to jet my mind out of all these problem?
 
Regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 6:25 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 1313
Location: Cairo , Egypt
basheerb wrote:
Did you add those Articles before installing Arabic language ?
I add this article from MySQL 4.1 editor, not from Joomla


I'm afraid here lies the problem . It's not Joomla issue after all . You'd better add your content from Joomla .

basheerb wrote:

Mohammed, is it butter to wait Joomla 1.5 to jet my mind out of all these problem?
 
Regards,


It's left to your consideration :)

All I can recommend you is to :
- do a clean install of the latest version of Joomla!
- use Arabic language file found here : http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/
- don't use sql editors unless you know what you're going through .
- Joomla! 1.0.x series is fine and surely there is a migration method to transfer your 1.0.x website into 1.5 safely and easily :)

Regards,

_________________
"Joomla! is science made clear."
Mohammed Sh. Abbas  -- Joomla! Fan !!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:28 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
Hi basheerb,
if you migrated data from an other site,
check this data wasn't already  NCR (NCR= numerical characters)  encoded.
If not you must do the conversion NCR --> utf8,
which might not be completly obvious.
I already converted an arabic site in Joomla 1.00x to support utf-8,
and I've written  a php script to convert the NCR characters properly
from the SQL dump. Unfortuanately I didn't keep a copy of that script.
You might try a freeware called Babelpad, for the NCR --> utf8.

Also check the encoding specified by your langage file is utf8.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:04 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:25 pm
Posts: 7
Sounds similar problem what happening to me,,

I think its related with Database encoding not Joomla script or Arabizer files...

in my situation Arabic Language is Correct in my Joomla Articls but get

?????????

only when add entry to SOBI2 in Arabic Language. Even I did install Arabice Pack for SOBI2, in the same time I'm using JoomFish to sellect between languages..

any ideas for my problem ?


***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
Joomla 1.5.15
SOBI2
JoomFish
***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:18 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
@mdmmdm
Please open a new thread, your problem is not related since you are using Joomla 1.5x ,
and this thread is too old (2006 last post)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 4:57 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:24 pm
Posts: 1
Did you add those Articles before installing Arabic language ?
I add this article from MySQL 4.1 editor, not from Joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group