The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 22
I think I have this one figured - but I wanted a few opinions while I reupload. 
Firstly I am trialling a install of 1.5 - just for kicks - I have a localhost copy working nicely but want to try it on my remote site.

Now uploaded the files - but got blanks .....reuploaded using FIREFTP(firefox extension ftp) halfway along I realized I was uploading everything in BINARY MODE (Doh)

the server is APACHE, MySQL 3.xx, PHP 4.xx (meets min specs)

Now interestingly the intallatiion screen worked fine, few wierd things like it didnt install sample data, and didnt or wouldnt bring up the database utf stuff, and couldnt autofind the ftp directory. 

Accessed index.php - worked ok but links all appeared as
http://my.domainname.com/cgi-bin/index.php?various optioons
obviously Joomla is not in the CGI-BIN directory and I am assuming that it was the upload technique that confused the server and lead to this problem. 

I am reuploading with ASCII mode for the those files that require it and binary for the ones that need that which should fix it

The error I receive was of course:
  No permission to access CGI-BIN etc...

Any Comments : am I on the money??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:20 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 22
Just a quick update - reuploading didnt correct the problem - might take this over to the dev  boards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
May I ask why you are uploading the files to the CGI-BIN directory?

Joomla! is generally installed in only a sub-directory of the public web directory, CGI-BIN is normally reserved for perl or similar scripts, and the directory permisisons on the CGI-BIN will certainly give you problems trying to run the site.

Your hosting account should have a directory named "www" or "public_html" or other such similar directory, you Joomla! files should go either there or in this case as you are testing I would suggest a sub-directory below the "ww" or "public_html"  then you can access your site by http://www.domain.com.au/

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 22
Thats just it I didnt upload Joomla to the CGI-BIN directory ...its not even a directory I have direct access to on my server....I have a CGI-local directory but I didnt upload joomla thier I uploaded it to the root.  I already have a website on that I have been using which just doesnt have that crispyness that comes with Joomla. That website usese Php and mysql extensively already with no probs. 
I uploaded Joomla to exactly the same directory after removing the other website. problem is even tho the main page is appearing ok the links all fail (due to the cg-bin) if you copy the link paste it in the task bar and then edit out the cgi-bin it works fine.  Keep in mind this was a test site using 1.5.  I am using veridas servers I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
The following configuration variables are prime candidates for the sort of problems you  are seeing;

Example Settings:

For Joomla! 1.0.xx

    $mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.domain.com.au';
    $mosConfig_absolute_path = '/home//public_html';


And For Joomla! 1.5

    var $live_site = 'http://www.domain.com.au';
    var $absolute_path = '/home//public_html';

Check that these are correct for your installaltion in the configuration.php file ...

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:35 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 22
I am going to add those variables to the config.php file in the primary install directory.  Interestingly those lines dont exist in the install at all....

The web installer worked fine - although it would not auto find the database user permissions or the collations.  It did setup the tables ok it seems. It also wouldnt autofind the ftp path. 

I know the installer is buggy so I wasnt really sweating on it...

if anyone wants to see the effect ...

http://www.ascotvetsurgery.com.au/joomla/

Havent added anything yet apart from a straight ftp upload to http://www.ascotvetsurger.com.au/joomla/

and then following the webinstall proceedure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:38 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 22
Ok did some code exploration.

$live_site is not defined in configuration.php in 1.5
neither is $mosconfigabsolutepath

they are defined using php and javascript in application.php - an include file the index.php
extract from application.php
Code:
   /**
    * Set the configuration
    *
    * @access public
    * @param string   The path to the configuration file
    * @param string   The type of the configuration file
    * @since 1.5
    */
   function setConfiguration($file, $type = 'config')
   {
      parent::setConfiguration($file, $type);

      $registry =& JFactory::getConfig();
      $registry->setValue('config.live_site', substr_replace($this->getSiteURL(), '', -1, 1));
      $registry->setValue('config.absolute_path', JPATH_SITE);

      // Create the JConfig object
      $config = new JConfig();

      if ( $config->legacy == 1 )
      {
         //Insert configuration values into global scope (for backwards compatibility)
         foreach (get_object_vars($config) as $k => $v) {
            $name = 'mosConfig_'.$k;
            $GLOBALS[$name] = $v;
         }

         $GLOBALS['mosConfig_live_site']      = substr_replace($this->getSiteURL(), '', -1, 1);
         $GLOBALS['mosConfig_absolute_path']   = JPATH_SITE;
      }
   }


Thus setting them in configuration has no effect.  AS we can see they would be redefined in this pieve of code - also they are only defined here as a global for compatibility.

Anyhow I am convinced that I am uploading incorrectly...I use to use dreamweavers ftp functions to upload.  but I used FireFTP and set the host as http://www.ascotvetsurgery.com.au with the target initial directory as /joomla/ it appears to go ok but I think something is screwy.

Lev


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGI-BIN
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:51 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
In 1.5 these variables are still defined in the configuration.php and not as you suggest in application.php

As per my previous post please check again in configuration.php
Quote:
Example Settings:

For Joomla! 1.0.xx

    $mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.domain.com.au';
    $mosConfig_absolute_path = '/home//public_html';


And For Joomla! 1.5

    var $live_site = 'http://www.domain.com.au';
    var $absolute_path = '/home//public_html';


_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group