The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:59 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:55 am
Posts: 2
My site works fine with the "use SEO" disabled. When I enable it, the site also works fine as a guest, but the login does not appear to work. Whenever you try to log in the front page is just redisplayed


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:06 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 19815
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
What Joomla version?

What browser do you use?
Could you empty the browser's cache & temporary internet files on your PC?
Could you test it with another browser (e.g. FireFox)?

Is Joomla's Cache ON or OFF?
Is the mos_config_livesite in your configuration.php identical as the address used in the URL? (both with or without the www. prefix)

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:34 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:55 am
Posts: 2
Thanks for your quick reply pe7er

pe7er wrote:
What Joomla version?

Joomla! 1.0.12 Stable [ Sunfire ] 25 December 2006 01:00 UTC


pe7er wrote:
What browser do you use?

I have tried with Firefox 2.0.0.1 and IE 6.0

pe7er wrote:
Could you empty the browser's cache & temporary internet files on your PC?


pe7er wrote:
Could you test it with another browser (e.g. FireFox)?

Tried with firefox and explorer

pe7er wrote:
Is Joomla's Cache ON or OFF?

Off


pe7er wrote:
Is the mos_config_livesite in your configuration.php identical as the address used in the URL? (both with or without the www. prefix)

It is the same as the address I am using, http://bhu.org.uk/cms (the site is still pretty much as the default configuration)

I am pretty sure this has something to do with the forwarding of the login form data with SEO. HttpLiveHeaders gives the following:
========================
http://bhu.org.uk/cms/

POST /cms/ HTTP/1.1
Host: bhu.org.uk
Content-Length: 180
...
username=user&passwd=password&Submit=Login&option=login&op2=login&lang=english&return=http%3A%2F%2Fbhu.org.uk%2Fcms%2F&message=0&force_session=1&j347f709c86b498b821f50cefa96f35db=1

HTTP/1.x 302 Moved Temporarily
Date: Mon, 08 Jan 2007 09:23:35 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.27 (Unix) mod_jk/1.2.15 mod_accounting/0.5 PHP-CGI/0.1b
Location: http://bhu.org.uk/cms/index.php
========================
http://bhu.org.uk/cms/index.php

GET /cms/index.php HTTP/1.1
Host: bhu.org.uk
...
(no content)

HTTP/1.x 200 OK
=========================
As far as I can see the browser is acting correctly, W3C says:

If the 302 status code is received in response to a request using the POST method, the user agent must not automatically redirect the request unless it can be confirmed by the user, since this might change the conditions under which the request was issued.
(from http://www.w3.org/Protocols/HTTP/1.0/dr ... ml#Code302)

I would guess that the login form should not use a modified URL for the "action", i.e. SEF URLs should not apply to the login form action, which should always show http://bhu.org.uk/index.php even when SEO is enabled.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:31 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 19815
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
I created a test account ("test" you can delete that one), and can confirm the behaviour that you reported (with FireFox 2, it does accept cookies). It seems that the browser accept cookies, but that the cookies expire immediately.

Another possibility (but then your login should also not work with SEO OFF):
Is the Server Timezone in Global Configuration correct?
Could you increase "Site Session Lifetime:" ? (Default is 900, could you test it with 9900 seconds ?)

Besides these possibilities I have currently no idea how to solve it....  :(

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:53 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 39
I am having the same problem what does

Is the mos_config_livesite in your configuration.php identical as the address used in the URL? (both with or without the www. prefix)

have to do with it. We are using opensef to dynamically set the livesite


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:32 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 108
I have found that by clicking "remember me" in explorer it is possible to make a login stick.
This is true right up to the current vers. 1.0.15 - logging in to the front end via Explorer results in the following in my experience:

The login is recorded in the administrator, and the user is considered logged in.

Logging in through the front-end results in the user being treated as a guest. (regardless of their access level)

Clicking "remember me" causes the user to be treated as logged in.

Logging in via the admin works fine.

I found that setting the "Site Session Lifetime" to 9900 as suggested did seem to resolve the problem. This may not be the ideal solution however.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:31 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 2
I have a really similar / but different problem with front end log in whilst using core SEF functions switched on.

With SEF switched OFF you can login as admin in front-end fine and choose to edit anything you need to.

But . . .

With SEF switched ON when you login as admin in front-end with anything over 'registered' level the screen goes blank white. But, you can login OK with SEF with registered level (so $user->get('aid') is not true?)

It's not getting past line

$data = $document->render( $this->getCfg('caching'), $params); in

function render () found in /includes/application.php called from the core index.php file

I have been searching for hours for something related to $user->get('aid') authorization in application.php and some other core functions since there is literally a blank white page but with no success??

Also, its not only on login, I switched of SEF logged in, got past login, switched on SEF again, and BINGO - blank white page again.

The SEF functions are superb! but I need to enable administrator level people to login from the front end.
I am running Joomla 1.5 on a Linux / Apache server with mod_rewrite switched on.
Any help or suggestions with 1.5 anyone can suggest would be appreciated - seen this before?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:50 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 1
I also encountered the issue with frontend user logins using IE (IE7 in my case, logging into a Joomla 1.0.15 site).

I think I found what was causing this. It appears to be a problem with IE Privacy settings not allowing cookies to be accepted. With the IE Privacy set to "medium", it appeared to be blocking the cookies from my site. So I had to click on the "Sites" button from with the IE Privacy settings menu (under Tools->Internet Options) and add my site as an "allowed' site. Then my frontend user logins began to work, even without changing the default joomla user timeout as suggested by another forum member.

Note: I also added my joomla-based site as an "allowed" site under the IE Privay Pop-Up Blocking settings, and also as a "Trusted Site" under the IE Security settings. I'm not sure if these changes were required, but they were active when I found and changed the cookie privacy settings.

Not bad for a newbie!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:13 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 2
Thanks JamDude but no joy, I tried it, and still cant log in from front end at admin level with core SEF on?
I'm going to try a clean installation with nothing added and see if I can then.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:29 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:44 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all,

anymore news on this bug?
I also use the default SEO and I on top of that I use an "intro" index.html page wich links to the Joomla index.php page. When I log in I end up on this index.html page and when I click that page to go to the actual Joomla frontpage I'm still not logged in (even when setting the session time to 9900).

I tried some other SEF extensions, but they all give me other problems.

thank you!


Bart


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:54 am
Posts: 43
Sorry to open up such an old thread again, but has anyone had any success with getting around this problem with the current Joomla version? I also can't log in to the front-end with SEF URLs enabled using a custom .htaccess file. I have documented my situation under the following thread:

viewtopic.php?f=428&t=443403

Though no one seems to have any advice. I'd be appreciative to anyone who could point me in the right direction. Thanks.

Taylor

_________________
http://www.alternative-electronics.com - Industrial Music and Gear


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:44 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:36 pm
Posts: 21
Sorry again to rekindle and old flame but and this is unbelievable that no one has a solution for this till this day. I have scowered the and even reposted on some old threads in these very forums with no answers. Please help. Please!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 9:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:33 pm
Posts: 43
I have tried everything short of throwing my computer out the window.
The the white screen reload back to empty login will not go away for IE.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group